Honda Fit/Jazz Part 2

HondaJG

Wah, you can become detective! Piece back all the small bits of info.

Slightly less :D

like that $76k also quite worthy la (5 pcs mugen*).. giving the fact that your take back is $4.8k at scrap value also worthy :s13:

got picture on your purchase 5 pcs mugen bodykit to share?

*must rub in the 5pcs mugen. damn jealous about the mugen bodykits. :s13::s13:

Edit: added less. ROFL

HondaJG

I went on 26 Dec.
Kah Motors Ubi SE say 26 Dec and Motorshow same package.
So now wait for Motorshow see he lying not heh heh.....

sure different package la... different SE from same car maker will offer different package lo..
BUT the real concern is whether any newer Honda models or newer model facelifts for booking during SG Motorshow 2019? :s13::s13:

HondaJG

As lithium battery will degrade overtime, so if don’t chg, still can drive as normal petrol too

If same price, then new hybrid still better, say goodbye to local yaya AD

AD prefer petrol car as easy to service. PI prefer Hybrid car as easy to sell. so how? which side will you take? AD or PI? :s13::s13:

Orphan

like that $74k also quite worthy la (5 pcs mugen*).. giving the fact that your take back is $4.8k at scrap value also worthy :s13:

got picture on your purchase 5 pcs mugen bodykit to share?

*must rub in the 5pcs mugen. damn jealous about the mugen bodykits. :s13::s13:

Sorry sorry, ish slightly more. I calculate wrong hahaha. It's btwn 75 - 76k.

Photobucket now costs money, trying to find my old account.

Basically, bodykit looks exactly like this:
http://autoworld.com.my/news/2017/06/07/an-insight-into-the-new-honda-jazz-hybrid/

Orphan

Can hybrid car last over 15yrs, is resale value higher than petrol car

Short answer:
Yes, can last over 15 years.
Resale value at the moment same, coz it's mainly based on OMV and CoE value.

Long Answer for lifespan:
Can a petrol car last over 15 years? (Answer is of course can, but might need to maintain/change worn parts like transmission, battery etc)

If so, it will be exactly the same for hybrid cars. Only difference are the 2 main extra component: the hybrid battery and electric motor. So far, don't really hear of issues with the electric motor, so I guess motor lifespan same as gas engine. (and since it splits the load, less wear on gas engine).

More of a concern is the hybrid battery. The first generation hybrid batteries were reported to be failing after about 5 years. Means they suffer from wear and tear and have to be replaced also. Of course, Honda claim the new 3rd generation battery can lasts 15 years, but we won't know for sure until 15 years from now. So I will believe only when I see it.

For a more detailed writeup, according to this site: https://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/2016/07/original-hybrid-batteries-still-charged-15-years-later/

Hybrid battery failure rate amongst different manufacturers was up to 30% during a car's lifespan for the 2009/2010 Hybrid cars.
On the other hand, does that mean over 60% of the batteries are still working 15 years later?

Long Answer for resale value:
I compared the used Fit and Vezel sections at SGcarmart, roughly the same. Mainly still based on OMV and CoE value.

I don't think people will want to pay a premium beyond the actual car value, regardless of Hybrid or petrol. If the Jazz 1.5 RS was 10k cheaper than my Fit 1.5 Hybrid, I would have bought the Jazz 1.5 RS, and use that extra 10k savings to pump as much gas as my car can use over 10 years.

But a lot of things can happen in 15 years. Even now, we have ppl who are wary of Hybrid vehicles and will not consider them. Meanwhile, got another group of private hire drivers who prefer Hybrid.

Then we can have possible situations where during the next 15 years later, petrol price increase 10x. Then petrol car resale value will go down.

Or platinum/lithium price increase 100x, ppl cannot afford new Hybrid cars or pay to replace dead batteries, and will look for petrol cars.

Orphan

there are various factors la.. knows someone from the PI? higher trade in value for his old car? addon more accessories than Orphan? Orphan got VIP discount card? :s13: :s13:

@Orphan what is the final purchase price :s11::s11:

No lah, no VIP discount. I find on SGCarmart one.
Things did go incredibly smoothly though, until I scared "wah, too good to be true leh". Was quite wary of going to PI since the case when 2 PIs run road. Even though my PI say got CASE Accredited, I actually still go to CASE Webpage to verify first just to be sure :D

If they run road, means I will still get back my money.

Orphan

wow! got econ and sport mode? sounds like Toyota pattern :s13:
your FIT Hybrid is which model one? Sport Hybrid i-DCD sibo?

Ish the kosong model only.
I don't think got PI import the Sport Hybrid yet.

I just read an article while searching for tips on squeezing even more FC. Looks like you are right, the Fit 1.5 Hybrid is actually what they call the Sport Hybrid i-DCD model.

I thought mine is non-sport i-DCD, coz PIs here did not advertise it as a Sport model. Turns out the non sport model is simply the old IMA (non full Hybrid) type.

Wah, good marketing siah. If the local PIs add the word "Sport" to the name, sure become more attractive to ppl.

Jello Monster

Done :D

This is looking dangerously like the old thread, so, just to clarify, this PI is I find on SGCarmart one, and subsequently bought from. I went KM, called up a few PIs and also PM'd for lobangs from fellow forum users. Searched for complaints and checked on CASE webpage to verify they really CASETRUST SVTA Accredited :D

It's not a secret or anything, but I rather not risk flouting forum rules.
At the time I buy, they had the best price. Was wary since buying from PI instead of AD. Dealer turned out very trustworthy, offer has no gimmicks. So it's personal experience.

Can PM too bro? Interested and appreciate your kind insights :s12:

CCCustom

Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but with all y'all so excited talking about hybrid battery warranty how many years how many years, I thought it best y'all should know ...

Your hybrid battery warranty is practically non-existent.

Read through all the fine print. Unless your hybrid battery was DOA, practically every single possible problem can be attributed to wear and tear ... and wear and tear is not covered under warranty.

Don't believe me, ask the good people over at the Vezel / HR-V club about hybrid battery warranty ;)

Orphan

Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but with all y'all so excited talking about hybrid battery warranty how many years how many years, I thought it best y'all should know ...

Thanks for sharing! It's really good to know.

Time to ask the workshop some hard questions when I go for my first servicing.

sigcomms

Kosong version or the F package version?
What price did they quote if got min loan?

I cannot be sure, but I estimate the commission they earn from the loan is at most 1-3k.

Standard package like leather seat, film,audio,camera,sensor,warranty,free servicing, rims etc included though the details varies from pi to pi.

You are correct.Top up ranged from 1 to 3k if no loan.

So far one pi quote 78k for hybrid with standard package with no loan. 1.3 version is abt 9k less.

HondaJG

I just read an article while searching for tips on squeezing even more FC. Looks like you are right, the Fit 1.5 Hybrid is actually what they call the Sport Hybrid i-DCD model.

I thought mine is non-sport i-DCD, coz PIs here did not advertise it as a Sport model. Turns out the non sport model is simply the old IMA (non full Hybrid) type.

Wah, good marketing siah. If the local PIs add the word "Sport" to the name, sure become more attractive to ppl.

your Fit Hybrid got SPORT button too? just like ECON button? I doh get to see this when viewing at Fit Hybrid :(

HondaJG

Honda claim the new 3rd generation battery can lasts 15 years, but we won't know for sure until 15 years from now. So I will believe only when I see it.

nobody will know what will happen tomorrow. :p
& we are discussing whether hybrid battery can last for 15yrs? :s13:
lets look at it from another angle; the COE will be $1 in 8yrs time, will you go for new car or keep your 8yrs Hybrid car for another 7yrs? :p

I don't think people will want to pay a premium beyond the actual car value, regardless of Hybrid or petrol. If the Jazz 1.5 RS was 10k cheaper than my Fit 1.5 Hybrid, I would have bought the Jazz 1.5 RS, and use that extra 10k savings to pump as much gas as my car can use over 10 years.

one thing for sure, if Fit Hybrid is in KM showroom now, it will be selling like hot cakes :s22:
there should be other concerns why KM want to avoid selling Hybrid cars, which still puzzle me :s11:

Even now, we have ppl who are wary of Hybrid vehicles and will not consider them. Meanwhile, got another group of private hire drivers who prefer Hybrid.

well there is immediate returns for private hire drivers on Hybrid cars loh.. :s12:
was in a Hybrid taxi a few days ago (after returning from a trip), I saw the mileage is about 400000+ already. I was shocked to hear he was only driving for abt 1+ year. so how much did he save on petrol leh? izznt this immediate returns?

HondaJG

Standard package like leather seat, film,audio,camera,sensor,warranty,free servicing, rims etc included though the details varies from pi to pi.

You are correct.Top up ranged from 1 to 3k if no loan.

So far one pi quote 78k for hybrid with standard package with no loan. 1.3 version is abt 9k less.

look at Orphan lobang loh.. go down to the PI and see see look look.
if no confidence, doh sign. if everything is smooth, then chiu car :s13:

afterall you make the final call :p

workalcoholic

Hi bros

Fit 2009 is showing catalyst system efficiency below threshold (bank 1)?

1) is my o2 sensor faulty? Or just my petrol that i use? Esso 95

2) vicom test coming..will it affect the inspection?

3) if the catalyst converter needs to be change..any idea how much it will cost? Just to make sure i dun tio chop by ws..any recommendation will be nice

Thanks

sigcomms

look at Orphan lobang loh.. go down to the PI and see see look look.
if no confidence, doh sign. if everything is smooth, then chiu car :s13:

afterall you make the final call :p

My current jazz GE with me since bought new is due in Feb 19. I have not made the final move to buy new or renew coe. Buy new may not able to chiu car in Feb. So now gear towards renew coe but wife everyday pester me to buy new after my hand itchy brought her showroom last week. Now im in a dilemma. Mileage less than 100k. No major overhaul done except the usual oil, batt, shock, filter, wiper.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.