Retirement fund

henrylbh

Yes, it did show the amount that is available for top up but don't understand why it show the amount which is more than my combined total in MA/SA/OA accounts.

If CPF deduct from my SA, I call them just like the last time you advised me to call.

I have made total of 7 online transfers since 2013.

You are right. Looking my latest transfer in Jan 2018, there was no clear indication that transfer will be from OA, though earlier ones had.

Tiger9119

I have made total of 7 online transfers since 2013.

You are right. Looking my latest transfer in Jan 2018, there was no clear indication that transfer will be from OA, though earlier ones had.

Hopefully, it is from OA as my main objective is to increase my own SA thru cash VC which I can withdraw anytime I want.

rrr2015

And i thought we can only topup recipient SA / RA using only our OA (after meeting current year BRS)? :eek:

may i ask if monthly payout already started for my parents RA. will their monthly payout be readjusted everytime I perform topup from my OA to parents RA?

Last time I went to the branch, the counter officer wanted to transfer my SA and I stopped the process. I wrote to the Head Officer and the counter officer had to call me back to say I can use OA to transfer.

henrylbh

And i thought we can only topup recipient SA / RA using only our OA (after meeting current year BRS)? :eek:

may i ask if monthly payout already started for my parents RA. will their monthly payout be readjusted everytime I perform topup from my OA to parents RA?

Yes I read somewhere in CPF website that top-ups will be from Giver's OA.

No monthly payout will not be adjusted each time you perform a topping up. You need to make a request for higher payout, if the amount of payout can last for 20 years from his drawdown age.

Tiger9119

Yes I read somewhere in CPF website that top-ups will be from Giver's OA.

No monthly payout will not be adjusted each time you perform a topping up. You need to make a request for higher payout, if the amount of payout can last for 20 years from his drawdown age.

The below is from CPF website (if the giver is above 55):

[2] Your OA savings will be transferred first, followed by your SA and then your RA savings. You can write to CPF Board to specify the CPF accounts from which to transfer to your spouse, parents and/or grandparents. Please note that if you use your RA savings[3] for the transfer, your RA savings may be less than your FRS or BRS with sufficient CPF property charge/pledge. As a result, when you make a withdrawal from your OA and SA, a portion of the savings will be used to meet your FRS.

https://www.cpf.gov.sg/Members/Schemes/schemes/retirement/retirement-sum-topping-up-scheme

SBC

Year end is coming. Top up few hundreds to my kids CPF.

They have 1k plus so far. Started small amount last year.

henrylbh

Year end is coming. Top up few hundreds to my kids CPF.

They have 1k plus so far. Started small amount last year.

As good as non-tradeable irredeemable perpetual bonds :s13:

henrylbh

If CPF deduct from my SA, I call them just like the last time you advised me to call.

Can't recall that I have advised you :s13: I not advisor leh.

The below is from CPF website (if the giver is above 55):

[2] Your OA savings will be transferred first, followed by your SA and then your RA savings. You can write to CPF Board to specify the CPF accounts from which to transfer to your spouse, parents and/or grandparents. Please note that if you use your RA savings[3] for the transfer, your RA savings may be less than your FRS or BRS with sufficient CPF property charge/pledge. As a result, when you make a withdrawal from your OA and SA, a portion of the savings will be used to meet your FRS.

https://www.cpf.gov.sg/Members/Schemes/schemes/retirement/retirement-sum-topping-up-scheme

So you are saved since the default transfer is from OA as described above. Cheong arh.

MyLegpain

Hi, what if my dad was a self employed and has very low amount in his RA (say, 20k).
When he is 65 and starts to drawdown, his monthly allowance from the scheme will be very low.(say, maybe $100 a month).

So after his drawdown of $100 per month starts, can I still top up his RA by 7k every year so that this $100 per month will increase by amount, to maybe say, $130 per month?

Not very sure for the case of self employed with low reserve, because most conversations are targeting the general salary-drawing public, of course.
Thanks!

henrylbh

Hi, what if my dad was a self employed and has very low amount in his RA (say, 20k).
When he is 65 and starts to drawdown, his monthly allowance from the scheme will be very low.(say, maybe $100 a month).

So after his drawdown of $100 per month starts, can I still top up his RA by 7k every year so that this $100 per month will increase by amount, to maybe say, $130 per month?

Not very sure for the case of self employed with low reserve, because most conversations are targeting the general salary-drawing public, of course.
Thanks!

I guess only. If his RA is too low, he will remain under the old scheme. And most probably, his monthly payout will be the same as his cohort who have the min sum or FRS. But his payout will be much shortened instead of the normal 20 years under the old scheme.

Your topping up of 7k only is unlikely to increase his monthly payout but will lengthen his payout period.

BBCWatcher

I guess only. If his RA is too low, he will remain under the old scheme. And most probably, his monthly payout will be the same as his cohort who have the min sum or FRS. But his payout will be much shortened instead of the normal 20 years under the old scheme.

Your topping up of 7k only is unlikely to increase his monthly payout but will lengthen his payout period.
To expand on Henry’s point, I assume the $7,000 figure was chosen for tax relief reasons.

However, that’s not the tax relief limit, or at least it might not be. Let’s suppose for example that your father has two other children (i.e. you have two siblings) with taxable income. They can each top up his Retirement Account and also collect $7,000 each in tax relief. So that’s $21,000/year (now if not already done for 2018, and every January thereafter), all enjoying tax relief.

OK, what if they don’t want to help out your dad but you do? No problem. Let’s suppose your siblings are both solidly in the 7% tax bracket, meaning that with a $7,000 top-up they’d each save $490 in taxes. So you hand them each $6,600 (let’s suppose) and make sure that they immediately top up your father’s RA by $7,000 each. They each get back $490 of that (tax savings next year), so they come out $90 ahead, your father comes out $7,000 ahead ($14,000 total), and you enjoy most of the tax savings ($400) since you paid for the top-ups, after all. And yes, families really do this. Just search for anybody/everybody who pays income tax who can qualify for tax relief (because your father is a tax relief qualified RA recipient to that person), and work it out. This is all perfectly legal (there’s no gift tax in Singapore) and even encouraged.

What else? Well, tax relief is only a tax relief limit. You and others are perfectly free to exceed the annual tax relief limit. The only top-up limit is when your father’s RA reaches the Enhanced Retirement Sum, which is a couple hundred thousand dollars away. (Right now, as I write this, each qualified person can get $14,000 in tax relief: $7,000 before the end of this year — I’d do it no later than December 26 to allow sufficient time for crediting — and $7,000 in January. If there are 3 qualified individuals available who can all do this — two siblings, for example — that’s $42,000 in top-ups with tax relief over the course of the next couple months.)

What else? If he has Ordinary Account funds then he can transfer those into his Retirement Account.

What else? He can defer payouts to as late as age 70.

What else? The HDB Lease Buyback Scheme may be available to him. Or renting out a room in his flat.

What else? If he has a spouse/partner who is a CPF member, don’t forget about her/him. Look for tax relief opportunities in that person, too, and also try to win some more bonus interest that way.

Tiger9119

Did a transfer from my OA to my wife's SA on 01Dec and her SA was credited on 04Dec. The limit to transfer is up to FRS, not $37740.

henrylbh

Did a transfer from my OA to my wife's SA on 01Dec and her SA was credited on 04Dec. The limit to transfer is up to FRS, not $37740.

Annual limit of 37,740 only applicable to MC and VC only.

Transfer by CPF or topping up by cash to SA is limited to prevailing FRS of 171k.

SA has no limit from VC and MC.

Kirakun83

Just want to ask anyone buy the manulife retirement plan to build ur retirement fund?

Prof. Utonium

Just want to ask anyone buy the manulife retirement plan to build ur retirement fund?

I did.

ML RRP.

I placed a small lump sum on this as a safeguard just in case I burned my fingers badly, so that I wouldn't need to pick up cardboard when I am older. =:p

Didn't opt for the monthly payment as I don't see myself needing that money to ease my monthly cash flow.

IIRC, currently the better ones are from ML and NTUC but I can't remember the exact details.

RRP + CPF SA which is under my Let's lock the door (and throw away the Key) scheme. So hopefully I can still shom-dooby-dom, dooby-dom-dom during my retirement.

It depends on your age, years to retirement, risk appetite and available funds.

Some would swear off such plan if they are still young. This is because the stock market would give much better return in the longer horizon and switch to the safer path once closer to your retirement.

Regardless of your choice, it is better to plan early. Make the time work to your advantage.

I met an old Italian couple when I was backpacking during my NS period.

That damn old man planned well that he is able to travel around the world for 2 years when I met him. Hell, he even bought the flight tickets 1 year in advance so he can save more!

When you are young, what you have is time advantage. When you are old, retired and not rushing for deadline, what you have is time too! :s22:

Urbanchap

AND you can also repay any OA funds (plus accrued interest) you used for housing, to go back into your OA where they'll also earn 2.5% and be available on demand, like a weirdly high yielding savings account.

Tons of potential here, especially if you have many Singapore dollars languishing in low interest bank accounts.

I'm trying to wrap my head over this idea. I'm 55 and cash rich. So if repay OA funds used for my HDB back into my OA using cash, then it means effectively I paid for housing using cash. Then later if I withdraw these OA funds, its considered I paid for housing using CPF? Also can I just top up the OA directly for this purpose.

My RA is at ERS level. I've never done VC, as my funds will flow into OA/SA/MA as my MA is below BHS. Access to MA funds is too restrictive for my liking, not withstanding the high interest rate.

JuniorLion

I'm trying to wrap my head over this idea. I'm 55 and cash rich. So if repay OA funds used for my HDB back into my OA using cash, then it means effectively I paid for housing using cash. Then later if I withdraw these OA funds, its considered I paid for housing using CPF? Also can I just top up the OA directly for this purpose.

My RA is at ERS level. I've never done VC, as my funds will flow into OA/SA/MA as my MA is below BHS. Access to MA funds is too restrictive for my liking, not withstanding the high interest rate.

No. If you repay OA, it is NOT considered (procedurally) that you paid for housing using cash.

If you withdraw from CPF, the usual rules apply. Money will be drawn out from SA first, before OA.

Urbanchap

No. If you repay OA, it is NOT considered (procedurally) that you paid for housing using cash.

If you withdraw from CPF, the usual rules apply. Money will be drawn out from SA first, before OA.

So how do I go about topping my OA directly? As long as it doesn't flow to my MA acct, then it's worth it to get 2.5% rate. Unfortunately for me, I didn't read about BBCW's SA shielding method until after my RA was created :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.