[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 9

twosix

I will be staying at taichung for a number of days and use it as a base as I do not like to carry luggage and stay at a location for 2 days and then switch hotel.

I have decided a 1 day trip from taichung to kaoshiung.

I have 1 more day avail and would like to go for a day trip. I could not decide whether to go tainan or chiayi as like not many things to see. Any suggestions or can let me know tainan or chiayi more worthwhile?

Thanks

kaohsiung has a lot of places to visit and enjoy. not adviceable to do a day trip. unless u already know where you are going, eg. meeting a friend, then a day trip makes sense.

dilphinus

I will be staying at taichung for a number of days and use it as a base as I do not like to carry luggage and stay at a location for 2 days and then switch hotel.

I have decided a 1 day trip from taichung to kaoshiung.

I have 1 more day avail and would like to go for a day trip. I could not decide whether to go tainan or chiayi as like not many things to see. Any suggestions or can let me know tainan or chiayi more worthwhile?

Thanks

Nothing in Chiayi. Tainan has more things to see and do than Chiayi.

Nantou.

tidalstorm

Thanks for the reply.

I will be purchasing 3 days hsr pass so tot of visiting kaoshiung since travelling time abt 60 mins each way.

Will be using the 3 hsr day pass.
1. Hualien to taichung. Use pass from taipei to taichung
2. Hsr from taichung to kaoshiung
3. Dunno go where via hsr.

The bigger picture is that I would be visiting taipei, hualien, taichung, miaoli and then taipei.

Andrew833

Thanks for the reply.

I will be purchasing 3 days hsr pass so tot of visiting kaoshiung since travelling time abt 60 mins each way.

The bigger picture is that I would be visiting taipei, hualien, taichung, miaoli and then taipei.

Don't need to buy 3 days hsr pass.

dilphinus

Thanks for the reply.

What do you want to do in Miaoli?

tidalstorm

What do you want to do in Miaoli?
Flying cow ranch loh. Been there before but this time my relative with kids coming so no choice go again lor.

My trip is taiwan is abt 16 days so relag here and there. Want to see new things but not those who want to chiong from pt a to pt b fast fast like machiam "到池一有"

rrr2015

hualien is on the east side, so no way to go directly from hualien to taichung with HSR. you need to take different train (can't use HSR pass) from hualien to Taipei then switch to HSR for Taichung

HSR is for 3 consecutive days. so better to do Taipei hualien first, then activate HSR pass for Taichung, tainan, Kaohsiung etc
Thanks for the reply.

tidalstorm

hualien is on the east side, so no way to go directly from hualien to taichung with HSR. you need to take different train (can't use HSR pass) from hualien to Taipei then switch to HSR for Taichung

HSR is for 3 consecutive days. so better to do Taipei hualien first, then activate HSR pass for Taichung, tainan, Kaohsiung etc
This is what I am planning but now maybe go tainan see see rook rook after dilphinus shared that chiayi nothing much.

calkel20

This is what I am planning but now maybe go tainan see see rook rook after dilphinus shared that chiayi nothing much.

I am not sure if your relatives will follow blindly or whatsoever.
If they find out stuffs can be done other way, u gg liao.

calkel20

Flying cow ranch loh. Been there before but this time my relative with kids coming so no choice go again lor.

My trip is taiwan is abt 16 days so relag here and there. Want to see new things but not those who want to chiong from pt a to pt b fast fast like machiam "到池一有"

Yes.
Then you can move around freely.
HSR pass doesn't guarantee you seats hor.
So your big group may be left standing or loitering around just to find seats.

rrr2015

it depends on what you want to see.
i haven't been to chiayi yet but i read it's gateway to alishan. so am interested in the forest hiking there

also maoli got beautiful bamboo forest … plan to go on my next trip to taiwan

agree with calkel20 you may not get a seat on HSR unless you reserved ahead. even as solo traveler, i have experienced not been able to secure seat back to taipei.

dilphinus

There are definitely things to see and do in all the cities. It makes a huge difference if you are taking public transport say around 3-4 hours round trip just to see that one spot or it's on the way, making a pit stop if you are driving.

LeoHorse

Planning a 7D6N trip in nov.
Flight in Taipei and Flight Out Kaoshiung
Would like to know if this itinerary is doable.
Travelling with a group of 4.

Day 1: arrived at 5.40am. Check in taipei hotel. Will hire driver. Bitou cape, elephant rock, Jiufen, Shifen, night market in Taipei
Day 2: Shop at 信義區 like att 4 fun! Ximending , night market in Taipei
Day 3: Cingjing do green green grassland, carton king , swiss garden. Stay a night in cingjing
Day 4 : cingjing to 921 earthquake museum, rainbow village, gaomei wetland. Yi zhong street and fengjia . A night at taichung
Day 5: 新社花海,新社古堡,新社古堡,薰衣草森林 then hsr to kaoshiung. Liuhe night market
Day 6: cijin , shop at 新崛江 and ruifeng night market
Day 7: 佛光山. Night flight back.
I am not sure how to travel to cingjing. Dk if i shld book driver from taipei to cingjing as day 1 and day 4 to 5 will hire driver.

calkel20

Planning a 7D6N trip in nov.
Flight in Taipei and Flight Out Kaoshiung
Would like to know if this itinerary is doable.
Travelling with a group of 4.

Day 1: arrived at 5.40am. Check in taipei hotel. Will hire driver. Bitou cape, elephant rock, Jiufen, Shifen, night market in Taipei
Day 2: Shop at 信義區 like att 4 fun! Ximending , night market in Taipei
Day 3: Cingjing do green green grassland, carton king , swiss garden. Stay a night in cingjing
Day 4 : cingjing to 921 earthquake museum, rainbow village, gaomei wetland. Yi zhong street and fengjia . A night at taichung
Day 5: 新社花海,新社古堡,新社古堡,薰衣草森林 then hsr to kaoshiung. Liuhe night market
Day 6: cijin , shop at 新崛江 and ruifeng night market
Day 7: 佛光山. Night flight back.
I am not sure how to travel to cingjing. Dk if i shld book driver from taipei to cingjing as day 1 and day 4 to 5 will hire driver.
Day 1<->Day2.
The rest looks okay.
But Day 7 quire rush, i rather switch with 6.
If you can do 4-5 with driver will be fantastic.

calkel20

it depends on what you want to see.
i haven't been to chiayi yet but i read it's gateway to alishan. so am interested in the forest hiking there

also maoli got beautiful bamboo forest … plan to go on my next trip to taiwan

agree with calkel20 you may not get a seat on HSR unless you reserved ahead. even as solo traveler, i have experienced not been able to secure seat back to taipei.

Going out is Easy.
It's the coming back, everyone is deadbeat and grumpy.
Paying for tickets and get no seat.
Will be damn switched off.

tidalstorm

Oh. I did not know hsr pass does not guarantee seats. Then need to re-think liao. Hsr can stand meh? Never see before.

Thanks for all the suggestion given.

tidalstorm

May I know for taichung carton king main store, how much will it cost if I cab from fengjia to carton king? And also is it easy to get a cab back from carton king? I think the place quite ulu, scared no cab back to taichung city centre then gg liao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.