[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 9

wongkc

From hualien to taroko is no problem. but from cingjing to hualien, possibly the only bento is from the visitor centre at the start of taroko from east entrance.

i think my cingjing hotel is near a 7-11... maybe can grab some bento or sandwiches... will check with the driver see the visitor center got sell bento or not...

thanks guys...

calkel20

i think my cingjing hotel is near a 7-11... maybe can grab some bento or sandwiches... will check with the driver see the visitor center got sell bento or not...

thanks guys...

FRom cingjing tovhualien, i will say not to risk on it. but if you dabao from cingjing toursit centre to cingjing farm, then go ahead.
Food poisoning is no good during thectrip.
Now 腸胃炎, very rampant during summer.

wongkc

FRom cingjing tovhualien, i will say not to risk on it. but if you dabao from cingjing toursit centre to cingjing farm, then go ahead.

true... if buy the bento too early will risk the food going bad by the time we reach taroko... but the picnic idea is so good...

maybe can bring a 12v kettle to boil water to cook instant noodle... make hard boiled eggs eat with bread etc...

hmmm...

calkel20

true... if buy the bento too early will risk the food going bad by the time we reach taroko... but the picnic idea is so good...

maybe can bring a 12v kettle to boil water to cook instant noodle... make hard boiled eggs eat with bread etc...

hmmm...

Agree
So chips and some drinks are always good.

Andrew833

Agree, why so trouble some, after taroko ask driver send you to a local restaurant, you can eat hot meal and comfortable.
Bring yr breakfast from cingjing to hehuanshan, and eat there plus enjoy the view. It's nearer so no stomach problem to worry. Or buy breakfast at the rest stop and eat there.

wongkc

Agree, why so trouble some, after taroko ask driver send you to a local restaurant, you can eat hot meal and comfortable.
Bring yr breakfast from cingjing to hehuanshan, and eat there plus enjoy the view. It's nearer so no stomach problem to worry. Or buy breakfast at the rest stop and eat there.

hmmm... breakfast provided by hotel leh...

scared taroko might take a long time... if 1-2pm lunch still ok... but if later i think the kids cannot tahan...

worst come to worst will just have lunch at 天祥 then... simple meal first then after taroko then eat again...

Andrew833

hmmm... breakfast provided by hotel leh...

scared taroko might take a long time... if 1-2pm lunch still ok... but if later i think the kids cannot tahan...

worst come to worst will just have lunch at 天祥 then... simple meal first then after taroko then eat again...

Can ask hotel reception if breakfast can tabao.

rrr2015

these bento are cooked food but best consumed within the day. if possible asked driver if can provide thermal container or you can buy thermal bags to keep food warm

you u like to keep simple, ask hotel kitchen if they can make 飯糰 with filling of your choices for you. if you buy from convenience store near station, there will be more choices available. all these are hygienically packed & sealed.

of coz when bringing packed meal for outings, don't bring those containing uncook / raw food like e.g sushi, sashimi.

and for those with weak stomach or history of ulcer / gastrointestinal problem. there were studies that they could be affected by seasonal changes. then be careful & better have hot meals in restaurants :p

hmmm...

calkel20

these bento are cooked food but best consumed within the day. if possible asked driver if can provide thermal container or you can buy thermal bags to keep food warm

you u like to keep simple, ask hotel kitchen if they can make 飯糰 with filling of your choices for you. if you buy from convenience store near station, there will be more choices available. all these are hygienically packed & sealed.

of coz when bringing packed meal for outings, don't bring those containing uncook / raw food like e.g sushi, sashimi.

and for those with weak stomach or history of ulcer / gastrointestinal problem. there were studies that they could be affected by seasonal changes. then be careful & better have hot meals in restaurants :p
Especially so on high altitude areas.
Ground Zero, loads of food, no room to worry too much.

rrr2015

but i read it's not due to food poisoning lah. just that seasonal changes (and perhaps altitude) may aggravate their existing gastrointestinal condition

wongkc

Can ask hotel reception if breakfast can tabao.

great advises as usual from you guys...

thanks...

wongkc

but i read it's not due to food poisoning lah. just that seasonal changes (and perhaps altitude) may aggravate their existing gastrointestinal condition

by right winter the food should last longer...

calkel20

Similar to food poisoning.
Or u can relate to weak stomach.

wongkc

you want to eat cold food ah? lolz
cooked food still good within the day
always do that when going for day hikes

no lah... i mean comparatively food goes bad slower in winter as compared to summer... so should be less likelihood of food poisoning... but of coz still best to consume food within 2-3 hours after serving...

calkel20

no lah... i mean comparatively food goes bad slower in winter as compared to summer... so should be less likelihood of food poisoning... but of coz still best to consume food within 2-3 hours after serving...

With kids?
Then i will seriously not risk anything as such during the trip.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.