[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 9

Bardiel

I DIY Alishan, cingjing, Taipei, very easy. Transportation very accessible.
Only Taichung attractions far from each other, so hire a driver is more convenient. I hire taxi (not the best option) for a day for 3500 ntd.(1 also 2 pax)
Don mind can share with me how u went about? Kum sia :)

Sent from HUAWEI LYA-L29 using GAGT

Andrew833

Don mind can share with me how u went about? Kum sia :)

Sent from HUAWEI LYA-L29 using GAGT

Very long story......, you list out yr plan, we help you better. Detail like how to travel from Taipei to Alishan etc can list down. I will help you the mode of transport plus other options.

beast78

Hi guys, need some advice on the booking of TRA booking.

1) I am booking train tickets for 1 Nov, but to my surprise when I tried to book tickets this morning (14 days in advance for 1 Nov) all the train tickets are already sold out!

Is this a case of people rushing to reserve train tickets first? I see there are still train tickets available for same day so can't be there are still tickets available when there is a rush to book 14 days in advance right?

2) Also what is the discounted half price rate about?

Sorry but I forgot who is able to help book TRA tickets.

Thanks for the help!

AL22DA

I will be going to Taiwan for 8 days 7 nights in Apr 2020.

I have been to Taipei, Taichung and Kaohsiung over the years. But this time I will be going with elderly around mid sixties.

Where will you guys recommend?

During Apr, is there anything I can't miss out? :s12::)

Andrew833

1) I am booking train tickets for 1 Nov, but to my surprise when I tried to book tickets this morning (14 days in advance for 1 Nov) all the train tickets are already sold out!

Is this a case of people rushing to reserve train tickets first? I see there are still train tickets available for same day so can't be there are still tickets available when there is a rush to book 14 days in advance right?

Thanks for the help!

Calkel :s12:

calkel20

Thanks for the help!
Hsr is not 14 days.
Only can try look for klook or kkday for now.

beast78

Hsr is not 14 days.
Only can try look for klook or kkday for now.

HSR? No I am just booking a normal TRA from Taipei to Hualien.

https://www.railway.gov.tw/tra-tip-web/tip/tip00C/tipC12/view10
Date that can be booked
Booking on different day of trip: Two weeks (fourteen days before the trip) can be booked. That is, you can book tickets for the third Monday from now, and you can book more tickets for two days to the third Sunday on Fridays. (ie, every Friday, you can book to the third Friday, Saturday, Sunday ticket).

calkel20

HSR? No I am just booking a normal TRA from Taipei to Hualien.

https://www.railway.gov.tw/tra-tip-web/tip/tip00C/tipC12/view10
Date that can be booked
Booking on different day of trip: Two weeks (fourteen days before the trip) can be booked. That is, you can book tickets for the third Monday from now, and you can book more tickets for two days to the third Sunday on Fridays. (ie, every Friday, you can book to the third Friday, Saturday, Sunday ticket).

Not always 14 days rule.
But if you check today and still gone, means super packed that week due to possible events like taroko marathon etc.
Try again when free. If not have to board elsewhere

yan.an

Anyone knows whether it is easy to uber from yangmingshan at night to go back to hotel? We have 5 adults. Or else I don't know how to get down yms lol. Thinking of staying for dinner. Thanks.

calkel20

Anyone knows whether it is easy to uber from yangmingshan at night to go back to hotel? We have 5 adults. Or else I don't know how to get down yms lol. Thinking of staying for dinner. Thanks.

I think u get restaurant to call a cab for you will be ideal.
If cannot fit 5, then two cabs liao.

fireworks79

Any 1 had any experience with the outlets in TaoYuan & Linkou. Is it worth going? Tks

went to linkou branch on wkdays....not bad if u r a shopper
wkdays is like ghost town...very little ppl but good for shopping(u can have the whole shop all by urself)

fireworks79

If you want to see sunrise, best to stay a night at alishan.
I stay in Lauya minsu in between alishan and FQH, but this minsu is really lau ya :(

lau ya no good meh???i oso say there......very quiet, very good for a quiet getaway....the bad point is no makan....u need go to the town for makan

daniellyt

went to linkou branch on wkdays....not bad if u r a shopper
wkdays is like ghost town...very little ppl but good for shopping(u can have the whole shop all by urself)

Tks for your help.
I google & found that there is another outlet (LeeCo Outlet) at NeiHu. Have u been there b4?

Andrew833

lau ya no good meh???i oso say there......very quiet, very good for a quiet getaway....the bad point is no makan....u need go to the town for makan

Minsu is good, staff is friendly and helpful but the boss spoil my day there. The boss not interested to do long term business, very fierce and only hire 1 staff how to take care all the guests. :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.