Singapore Savings Bonds

havetheveryfun

searching for singapore saving bonds, saw this
better returns than singapore saving bonds

1) counter party risk by the company offering this

other than that, is the LTA's PARF fixed? Is there a go-up-go-down valuation like COE?
trying to see if it is as low risk as SSBs.

definitely not as low risk. if really want ssb related low risk, check out some of the endowment plan threads in this forums. those that offer 2.0%-2.5% fixed for 3 -5 years.

sweetyethandsome

definitely not as low risk. if really want ssb related low risk, check out some of the endowment plan threads in this forums. those that offer 2.0%-2.5% fixed for 3 -5 years.

2% is really low leh...
i read through the article i feel its quite decent, quite low risk already.
the only risk i am aware of is that the company itself may not fulfill its obligation then waste time to go courts liao.
but end of the day, if they want to scam, i don't think they will use "5%" as bait ba.

i always have friends in forex scheme or trading schemes of 30% per years or more. on hindsight if i joined them 3 yrs ago now i no risk liao, but now again still don't dare to join lol.

go half half lor... relative lower risk for a little more returns

havetheveryfun

2% is really low leh...
i read through the article i feel its quite decent, quite low risk already.
the only risk i am aware of is that the company itself may not fulfill its obligation then waste time to go courts liao.
but end of the day, if they want to scam, i don't think they will use "5%" as bait ba.

i always have friends in forex scheme or trading schemes of 30% per years or more. on hindsight if i joined them 3 yrs ago now i no risk liao, but now again still don't dare to join lol.

go half half lor... relative lower risk for a little more returns

if u think 5% can be low risk, just go to the Hyflux thread.

Geeezz

Read this today, and found it informative.

Why Singapore Savings Bonds are no longer a good investment
https://financialhorse.com/ssbs-good-investment/

sometimes me wonder if those ppl who wrote financial blogs actually hv any financial certification or worked in the finance industry. the opening of the article and ending is conflicting from what he said.

no idea huat he want to express frm the article:vijayadmin:

hwckhs

no idea huat he want to express frm the article:vijayadmin:

The title is somewhat click-baity and inaccurate.

The essence of the article is that SSB may not be a good choice for short term (1-2 yr) now due to inverted yield curve, which does not work well with the step-up interest feature of SSB.

yoongcy421

Sucks Big time, rather put my money in the multiplier account for the time being since the SSB ladder had been set up.

can I ask, for DBS multiplier account, one of it is crediting your dividends from CDP. so I do have SSB, but the interest only comes twice per year. So does it mean that it only counts as extra transaction during those 2 months whereby I receive the dividends?

intime

can I ask, for DBS multiplier account, one of it is crediting your dividends from CDP. so I do have SSB, but the interest only comes twice per year. So does it mean that it only counts as extra transaction during those 2 months whereby I receive the dividends?

Yup.
So you have to buy ssb consecutively for 6 months. To get 6x2 = 12 months of dividends.

Meemoosaa

Hi - does anyone know if SSB is available for non-citizens too ? For e.g PR or foreigners working in Singapore ? Are there any restrictions ?

I just checked the site and it seems like the only eligibility is to be aged 18 years and above and of course a CDP account. Seems like anyone can open a CDP account too.

BBCWatcher

Hi - does anyone know if SSB is available for non-citizens too ?
Yes, on an equal basis.

For e.g PR or foreigners working in Singapore ? Are there any restrictions ?
There's no requirement to be working in Singapore, or even to be in Singapore. Anybody with a sufficient legal funds in an ordinary bank account at DBS/POSB, UOB, or OCBC (in Singapore, not in their foreign branches) can buy Singapore Savings Bonds, up to the $200,000 per individual holding limit.

Yes, that includes somebody who perhaps studied in Singapore 30+ years ago, still has an active POSB account, is now living in Brazil, and wants to buy a Singapore Savings Bond. That's allowed, on the Singaporean side anyway.

I just checked the site and it seems like the only eligibility is to be aged 18 years and above and of course a CDP account. Seems like anyone can open a CDP account too.
No, a CDP account isn't necessarily required. An SSB applicant must have either a CDP account or a SRS (Supplementary Retirement Scheme) account. For SSBs purchased with non-SRS funds, a CDP account is required for custody. For SSBs purchased with SRS funds, the SRS custodian provides SSB custody services.

Seedbox

Hello, for SSB purchased in May 2019, has the payout been credited today or tomorrow?

Have not received the coupon so far. 1st coupon payout here, that's why I am checking. :o

curious_moo

Hello, for SSB purchased in May 2019, has the payout been credited today or tomorrow?

Have not received the coupon so far. 1st coupon payout here, that's why I am checking. :o

give it some time till end of the day. i have yet to receive my $$ from redeeming SSB also.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.