Car COE Renewal Worth?

worldiscruel123

Hi guys,

I am currently using a F10 BMW 523i and my COE is soon to be due in a few months time. Would like to get your opinions if I should renew my COE anot.. I feel like my car is very under utilised for a coming 10 y/o car. Current mileage is about 92k and am the only owner for whole period. So far not much big problems, other than having to change the valve cover and seals.

hearsay the 523i F10 model is last inline 6 cylinder engine unlike the newer models with 4cyl + turbo. the 6 cyl engine feels v smooth and all.

What do u think leh?:s22:

thanks

myviowner

Hi guys,

I am currently using a F10 BMW 523i and my COE is soon to be due in a few months time. Would like to get your opinions if I should renew my COE anot.. I feel like my car is very under utilised for a coming 10 y/o car. Current mileage is about 92k and am the only owner for whole period. So far not much big problems, other than having to change the valve cover and seals.

hearsay the 523i F10 model is last inline 6 cylinder engine unlike the newer models with 4cyl + turbo. the 6 cyl engine feels v smooth and all.

thanks

Go for it dude... You the only one and only owner of this ride. You know best. Just weight the pro and cons carefully. Do the home work.:s13:

worldiscruel123

Go for it dude... You the only one and only owner of this ride. You know best. Just weight the pro and cons carefully. Do the home work.:s13:
My heart says do it.

but my wallet says buying a new jap car cheaper to run (cos of incremental increase in road tax & insurance + saves headache from all the imminent leaks and overhauls.

How la hOw!

IcYFl4mEz

My heart says do it.

but my wallet says buying a new jap car cheaper to run (cos of incremental increase in road tax & insurance + saves headache from all the imminent leaks and overhauls.

How la hOw!

Go test drive the car u wanna buy/consider. Den see if u r satisfied with it?

iduncheckmail

unless you have sentimental value to the car. Or its a rare model with cult following (aka R34, supra, silvia etc). It hardly makes financial sense to renew in SG.

Not just the leaks and parts change. Don't forget your road tax will go up, insurance also harder to get comprehensive.

PsyClick

If nearing Coe end can just get third party only insurance.. Cheaper haha

Sent from HUAWEI HMA-L29 using GAGT

Firefly01

Comprehensive insurance not hard to get as long as you never have any accident history. As for the car reliability, honestly speaking the car can last much longer than 10 years. Just look at Malaysia, now still can see first gen Proton Saga still running on the roads. For sg cars, as long as you go for your maintenance on schedule, general wear and tear should not be too bad.

From a cost point of view, if you factor in the parf that you forfeit + coe + increase in road tax etc, is still cheaper than buying a new car.

Sent from LGE LG-H930 using GAGT

worldiscruel123

Ok noted thanks guys for the help. btw just want to cfm, if there are any things I should be aware of when renewing coe for this car. Like maintenance related and stuff..

TUV2008

Hi guys,

thanks

Your situation is exact same as me, but I have one more year to go, also a F10, highline, mileage only 100k, now also at the junction to renew or trade in for a E class.

Sent from 版權@TUV2008 翻印必究 Lim Kopi using GAGT

LouisSaha

Your situation is exact same as me, but I have one more year to go, also a F10, highline, mileage only 100k, now also at the junction to renew or trade in for a E class.

Alot ppl renew their 523i than 520i or 528i
523 is non turbo and much more reliable n easier to maintain.

villan

new or used e-class?

TUV2008

Alot ppl renew their 523i than 520i or 528i
523 is non turbo and much more reliable n easier to maintain.

i agree... my 523i engine is as smooth and quiet as silk, despite clocking 100K on mileage. never encounter any major issue and very easy to maintain.

If I sell it as renewed COE car, the next owner is very lucky, body and engine are in very good condition and maintain by PML all the way since day one until now with FULL service record.

LouisSaha

i agree... my 523i engine is as smooth and quiet as silk, despite clocking 100K on mileage. never encounter any major issue and very easy to maintain.

If I sell it as renewed COE car, the next owner is very lucky, body and engine are in very good condition and maintain by PML all the way since day one until now with FULL service record.

Yup, it is the only 6 cylinder 8speed step-tronic gearbox left in bmw lineup.
But only downside would be the pickup not as shiok as turbocharged but who cares? 2nd downside would probably be the roadtax. 2.5 litres car with up to 50% extra on road tax for the next 5 years is no joke. :s13:

By the way, all 5 series after a few years, the door handle will feel sticky one hahaha
Especially the inner part.
Drove one before last time.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.