Actually why can't China keep their promise not to disturb hong kong for 50 years?

PaperRay

imo 50yrs is just transition period, by right slow change but then now china stronger to fasten the process to implement policies///

Prismatic

You lease a property from govt for 50 years
Then 1 day after 23 years nia
You spent money renovating the whole place, built structures to strengthen the whole place, do till nice nice etc
Govt come and take it back, no refund no compensation
How?

:s22:

Except that the money spent renovating the place comes from China. The vast majority of income or wealth generated in HK is related to trade with China.

theMKR

For example if you own a landed property in Thomson and rent it out to some FT for many years, but you as landlord staying in East Coast bungalow.
Then one day these FT want to declare this Thomson property is their property and they are the rightful owners just because they stay there long enough.

Would you continue bo chap and let them declare that it's their property or would you hoot them? :D

want to hoot also need to wait until contract end then hoot.....

else landlord pay compensation lor.....

a promise is a contract.....

Texas5ice

Because HK failed to enact article 23 which is the national security law for 23 years which is already a breach of HK's constitutional duty to China. Add in rioting, targeting mainland Chinese by Honkies and independence movements, China will be crazy not to put a stop to the nonsense.

Texas5ice

want to hoot also need to wait until contract end then hoot.....

else landlord pay compensation lor.....

a promise is a contract.....

Errr... not when the breach of contract arises from HK 1st. The granting of "high degree" of autonomy was subjected to conditions such as HK passing national security law and safeguarding China's sovereignty and interests. Same **** happened to Catalonia.

Catalonia was promised autonomy but when want to go for independence referendum, Spain immediately stepped in and arrested those secessionist leaders in the state government. India lagi best. Just send in troops to Kashmir and shut off internet. Lololol

tth1311

ccp formed on 1 Jul 1921, so fast hand fast leg to achieve taking hong con on 1 Jul 2020 before 100 anniversary since to take Taiwan is not an easy meat

coocoonana

western media western politicians just want to stir with china. russia annexed crimea until now what happened? still there.

they dun want to get extradited to china thats why make big hoohaa.

is like u buy hse for ur children and then they tell u get lost.

hg2

A Russian friend once told me Beijing is more communist than Russian and got more Karl Marx worshippers in china than Russia.... but I did not take him seriously until now... not bad to be a communist to share wife, kids and lands....can consider immigrate to tiongkok if still single :D

Texas5ice

western media western politicians just want to stir with china. russia annexed crimea until now what happened? still there.

they dun want to get extradited to china thats why make big hoohaa.

Because the West are scared of a rising China la. HK is also an important base for the west to spy on China. Must find excuse to gang up against China to weaken it. India sent troops to Kashmir and cut off Kashmir internet access and the move to revoke Kashmir's autonomy resulted in loss of lives. Western governments couldn't be bothered. Western media just gives that event cursory coverage. Whereas in HK, widespread condemnations.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-...on-set-to-lose-autonomy-divided-idUSKBN1X9175

Texas5ice

A Russian friend once told me Beijing is more communist than Russian and got more Karl Marx worshippers in china than Russia.... but I did not take him seriously until now... not bad to be a communist to share wife, kids and lands....can consider immigrate to tiongkok if still single :D

I think you are joking. CCP is just too prideful to admit communism had failed. China is but a communist country in name. Capitalism is the way to drive the economy forward. Some socialists policies have to be retained to ensure the poor and the damn behkan wouldn't starve to death in a capitalistic society though.

wixxxx

Winnie scared of the HK democracy Virus spreading to Tiongkok mainland? PLA may not be able to cope leh.....:s13::s13::s22::s22:

SAS!

fallen1

Can u cite the source about “vast majority of wealth generated in hk is related to trade with china”?
I’m pretty sure wealth generated from hk due to china is not more than due to rest of the world.
Hk was already thriving before china started opening up its economy

Except that the money spent renovating the place comes from China. The vast majority of income or wealth generated in HK is related to trade with China.

sunzoner

For example if you own a landed property in Thomson and rent it out to some FT for many years, but you as landlord staying in East Coast bungalow.
Then one day these FT want to declare this Thomson property is their property and they are the rightful owners just because they stay there long enough.

Would you continue bo chap and let them declare that it's their property or would you hoot them? :D

Bulls. Hong Kong is British territory, ceded by Qing to the British.

sunzoner

more like HK did not keep its side of the deal to enact article 23.. so finally china has to act ~

CCP has to convince the HK people that the law is good for them. Instead, CCP just arrest the lot.

itsstans

You lease a property from govt for 50 years
Then 1 day after 23 years nia
You spent money renovating the whole place, built structures to strengthen the whole place, do till nice nice etc
Govt come and take it back, no refund no compensation
How?

:s22:

the government never take back anything simply bcos HK BELONGS TO CHINA ALL ALONG!!!!!

i paint you another scenario. U lease a house for 50 years, both parties promise not to ga-jiao each other. but after 23 years some of the tenants kee-siao start to say the house belongs to them rightfully and you have no claim over the property. they dont even acknowledge you as the legal landlord anymore. they cannot get what they want start to burn furniture, beat the other peaceful tenants. police try to stop them they also wack police. best of all, got foreigners start to financially support those violent tenants to stir more **** say the landlord is evil for not letting you protest. so landlord has to step in, implement new rule to protect his asset and peaceful tenants.

sunzoner

HK trade with China. Mean China use money buy stuff from HK. Once the money changes hand, it is HK's money.

You boss pay you salary, you buy your house with the money. Now, you house belong to your boss? Afterall, the money comes from your boss, right?

sunzoner

Because HK failed to enact article 23 which is the national security law for 23 years which is already a breach of HK's constitutional duty to China. Add in rioting, targeting mainland Chinese by Honkies and independence movements, China will be crazy not to put a stop to the nonsense.

Again... Normally, the ruling party will need to convince the people the law is good. In this case, CCP just ram it down their throat.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.