[Temasek statement] Some of our colleagues from India have been targeted recently on social media...

WC32890

You guys keep up this kind of xenophobic comments on this forum and i am quite certain at some point the gov will shut down this forum.

lousyfark

not temasek fault
not net citizen fault
not fault of straits times article says 47 employers and employment of whole village

fault of someone who let ST write the article but refused to name the 47 employers

now become witch hunt victim

HoraHoraHora

There's no way the govt will lose any argument on this. They can just pull out the "don't be racists" card and nothing you say will matter.

Better start learning Tamil/hindi now

lousyfark

You guys keep up this kind of xenophobic comments on this forum and i am quite certain at some point the gov will shut down this forum.

but now no ministers says Sporeans are xenophobic already. it is not fashionable already.

what is fashionable is ST article that stir it up with 47 no name employers and story of whole village employment.

on a more serious note, we shld be raising issue of unfair employment behaviour rather than talking about racial group.

unfortunately, ST article on employment of whole village likely refer to employming people from the same racial group.... unless it is a united nations village.

in summary, ST article stirs things up.

levitdon

****, like it or not, the smell Is strong. Tak Boleh tahan! Look at Ho Chin face u know. :eek:
pmmodi_650x400_41448331808.jpg

lousyfark

There's no way the govt will lose any argument on this. They can just pull out the "don't be racists" card and nothing you say will matter.

Better start learning Tamil/hindi now

eh,,,, even tamil or hindi also got fight..... one south, one north....

tauntme

Actually that Facebook post in essence was wrong la. How can u just post people's particulars like that

Tony.Manero

I help to samurai. Temasek is for everyone. Sinkieland is for everyone. :s12:
61 agrees.

Greysky

seems to be a targetted effort after the GE to quell nothern indian rumours

coolnhappy

Shut down lor, actually gov steal a lot of ideas from here. They lugi if closed down.

Travis_Touchdown

Our pledge says regardless of race, language or religion. It doesn't say nationality. If we can't discriminate by nationality, then nearly everything the gahment does is "xenophobic". Citizen privileges(eg voting) vs non-citizens. HDB. CPF. FCF framework, local/foreigner quota, gst package, SGUNTED jobs and many many others. In fact, the very concept of nationhood is xenophobic since it is essentially "us and them". Use our pledge in the same breadth as "xenophobia" but never think through what such conflation entails.

By the way, true meritocracy means tummysick should be under the majority control of foreigners since it is very likely there is someone else better out there in the world population of billions for every sinkie in it, including and especially jinx. Ai mai? True meritocracy also means nearly the whole of sg will get displaced including MIW and their electorate. So next time want to wax lyrical about "meritocracy", make sure you can actually prove that you are better than the rest of the billions out there.

:(

Can't wait for them to have a taste of their own medicine... :(

heughoghap

KNN when **** bullied that poor security uncle, did tamadeSick come out to defend that uncle ???!

Greysky

“ Among our 600 strong staff at our headquarters in Singapore, 90% are Singapore Citizens or Permanent Residents (PRs). This is broadly the same among our senior leadership (Managing Directors and above).“

Enough said.

Continuing to hide behind these figures

always only discuss the percentage that fit their agenda. Reveal the global numbers lah!

lousyfark

Our pledge says regardless of race, language or religion. It doesn't say nationality. If we can't discriminate by nationality, then nearly everything the gahment does is "xenophobic". Citizen privileges(eg voting) vs non-citizens. HDB. CPF. FCF framework, local/foreigner quota, gst package, SGUNTED jobs and many many others. In fact, the very concept of nationhood is xenophobic since it is essentially "us and them". Use our pledge in the same breadth as "xenophobia" but never think through what such conflation entails.

By the way, true meritocracy means tummysick should be under the majority control of foreigners since it is very likely there is someone else better out there in the world population of billions for every sinkie in it, including and especially jinx. Ai mai? True meritocracy also means nearly the whole of sg will get displaced including MIW and their electorate. So next time want to wax lyrical about "meritocracy", make sure you can actually prove that you are better than the rest of the billions out there.

Actually it depends on how you define meritocracy

1) by good exam results ? ( old LKY and Spore ways )
2) by being from same village ( indian way )

We lost out because we were taught to do 1), only to be displaced by our smarter new friends whose understanding of meritocracy also means that they need to employ some one that will guard their back.

So we are not playing in the same level field. Whos fault? our education system, perhaps... Thus Spore mangers should learn this quickily to ensure that the next generation of younger sporeans have a chance to get back up. Already one generation of Sporean managers have been wiped out (those 40s to 50s, especially in the financial sector).

WC32890

but now no ministers says Sporeans are xenophobic already. it is not fashionable already.

what is fashionable is ST article that stir it up with 47 no name employers and story of whole village employment.

on a more serious note, we shld be raising issue of unfair employment behaviour rather than talking about racial group.

unfortunately, ST article on employment of whole village likely refer to employming people from the same racial group.... unless it is a united nations village.

in summary, ST article stirs things up.
Agreed. The whole point here is unfair employment standards. Stick to that. Don't need to deviate into racial or xenophobic comments.

uselessbum

Actually it depends on how you define meritocracy

That's correct. But there is one thing I'm confident of, MIW will never dare to come out with a clear definition of it. They will only dare to give motherhood statements like "best person" for the job. And if you ask them define "best", they will keep quiet. Why keep quiet? Because their own definition is not true meritocracy either if they were to be honest about it.

True meritocracy is essentially ends justify the means. If can achieve desired results, why care about anything else? That means force of arms is also a form of meritocracy since it is essential to maintaining legitimacy over areas we claim as our own such as sea borders, especially in contested areas. If we can't secure our borders, we don't deserve to keep it. It's one of the very first things they psycho us about during ns.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.