M1 FIBRE BROADBAND DISCUSSION - Part 2

Singrish

Then just go down during weekday when the shop just open, it will be faster.
Went already. With covid its worse cos the DIY booths are out of bounds & 1 staff asking everyone in the queue what they are there for.

Worse part is some time wasters take a number just to enquire then don’t even sign up. Please lah in this day & age got enquiries can use FB messenger, m1 replies fairly quickly, or call their hotline lah.

uncle_josh

Sinkie users really like to kpkb small things.. Pay $29 for 500mbps wanna kpkb when internet speeds dropped to 300-400mbps?

The covid strain due to wfh is so strong that even govts overseas are talking about how to plan the infrastructure for it.

I just came back living overseas for 1.5 years. Was paying sgd $100 for just 100mbps in a country where the average salary is one third of ours. and I get shitty pings in games, outages, and sometimes even crappy connections and dropouts.

Have some perspective. And be thankful.
hello check your own post at VQ thread first lah. worst then a squicking *****.
don't know anything, come here chap jit kar.

Sent from 天作孽 犹可恕 自作孽 不可活 using GAGT

Fat_Bastard

Hey guys. M1 user here for a long time.

I heard now when you renew the 2 years contract, they don't give new router anymore?

Have to pay for it now?

hk7310

Hey guys. M1 user here for a long time.

I heard now when you renew the 2 years contract, they don't give new router anymore?

Have to pay for it now?

That is right. Would it be recontract or upgrade, eg. from 500Mbps to 1Gbps, you will not be given any router. Default router, Asus AC2600, is given only to new subscriber free.

lunaraven

I dun see the Static IP VAS option on the M1 website, anyone know if it's been removed?

My contract will soon be up for renewal.

Fat_Bastard

That is right. Would it be recontract or upgrade, eg. from 500Mbps to 1Gbps, you will not be given any router. Default router, Asus AC2600, is given only to new subscriber free.

Damn jialat. Is this the same for Singtel and Starhub?

xiaofan

Damn jialat. Is this the same for Singtel and Starhub?

Same. For the same plan, usually you will not get free router. For upgrade, if your existing free router supports the upgraded plan, usually you will not given the free router either.

But sometimes during promotion, they may give free router to recontract as well.

Recently Starhub recontact customers may get the Nokia Beacon 1 Mesh free but the resale value (S$50-60) is much lower than RT-AC2600 (S$100+ BNIB)

For my SingTel upgrade from 500Mbps to 1Gbps back in Sept 2018, I was given the free AC Plus (which has almost no resale value) since the last given free router was the Pace A5520N router given in 2013 which would not support 1Gbps properly. I did not use it as I use my own router since 2014. But I keep it since it may be useful when SingTel needs to troubleshoot the connection.

jackycar

just curious. i've been on 500mbps m1 plan almost 3 years now, i know the BT is throttled to around 10MB/sec during peak hours.

is the 1gbps plan also throttled?

thinking of switching to MR or even VQ (bleah) to enjoy unthrottled BT... but not sure if i wanna give up the customer service of M1 which has been great (and the price of course)

xiaofan

just curious. i've been on 500mbps m1 plan almost 3 years now, i know the BT is throttled to around 10MB/sec during peak hours.

thinking of switching to MR or even VQ (bleah) to enjoy unthrottled BT... but not sure if i wanna give up the customer service of M1 which has been great (and the price of course)

Interesting. Previously it was said M1 does not throttle BT traffic. Actually 10MB/sec (80Mbps) is already pretty generous. SingTel is known to throttle BT traffic and probably much lower than 10MB/sec.

IMHO there are now not many legitimate use cases for BT here in Singapore. If you want to download legitimate stuff like Linux ISOs, usually local mirrors like NUS or 0x.sg provide fast enough speed. Even for less known distros some overseas mirrors are good enough.

lunaraven

I plan to recontract to 500mbps leh.
you dun torrent over vpn?

Singrish

YOU sign up with VQ? WAHAHAHAHAHA

teddy0710

What if I ask my wife to sign up a new fibre account, and I terminate mine, will this be allowed.

Singrish

Silly & kiasi question. I don’t suppose any m1 subscriber has any problems with using OpenDNS instead of m1’s?

M1 uses dynamic IP right? According to OpenDNS website need to download & install OpenDNS Updater for Mac. Is this Updater needed only if i setup OpenVPN on my mac only? Or set up OpenDNS on router also need to install it?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.