Myanmar woman’s suicide attempt leaves Singapore family with impossible debt

• Need help?
    Reach out to someone from Samaritans of Singapore (24 hours): Call 1-767 or WhatsApp 9151-1767 More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

fartking

That's Singapore government's style.

If wife gets divorced because shes unfaithful, husband still must give her money

In this case, employers made to pay so embassy and government through hospital don't have to pay

Cecas and indons will get free covid treatments but refused and charge sinkies for swap tests.

darknite84

aiya. Just scrap this fdw thing la. Why encourage modern slavery when sinkies mostly are slave drivers.

Nainai

I think it's very fair.

Maids pretty much has no say given the 'slave-driver' attitude of most Singaporeans. You can tell got many slave-drivers in this thread and a previous maid thread.

"Maids sign the agreement, if not happy, don't come here work lor."

Same lor, you sign the agreement, not happy, don't hire lor.

The 'agreement' in the first place is pro-employer liao and encourages slave driver mentality. Just because certain things are the norm/legal doesn't make it moral or right.

So U sign something then want to change it after cause it’s not right or moral? Why not u try that with a single contract for a start.

Sultana

For sure it’s the same. There are rules in the contract and you chose to sign on it. Simple

The difference is MOM made it compulsory for employers to do many things for foreign labourers. Sinkies don't need HV compulsory pre-employment medical check up but when come to FT, u need. Why they can't come with own medical report?
They don't pay for their air ticket home but pay for air ticket coming here. Why?
Can pay both ways since they choose to come here to work.

darknite84

Why maid agencies no responsibility? They are supposed to have the necessary expertise to detect any anomalies of the maid

The maid had stay with the employer for 2 years. Please share with us what expertise got remote access to determine mental illness..think you might have a billion dollar idea

tanahgu

what abt the maid that jumped at the interlace
iirc employed by **** family

darknite84

The difference is MOM made it compulsory for employers to do many things for foreign labourers. Sinkies don't need HV compulsory pre-employment medical check up but when come to FT, u need. Why they can't come with own medical report?
They don't pay for their air ticket home but pay for air ticket coming here. Why?
Can pay both ways since they choose to come here to work.

See lo, this is really dumb comment. Already said that sinkies should not be hiring maids liao

ahkrong

Sinkies must knoe your place!
Situation now is not sinkies employ maids but SINKIES MUST WORK AS MAIDS for foreigners in sinkingpore!
61% approved!
LOLOLOLOLOLOL

Sent from mai dua karchng using GAGT

Sultana

I think it's very fair.

Maids pretty much has no say given the 'slave-driver' attitude of most Singaporeans. You can tell got many slave-drivers in this thread and a previous maid thread.

The 'agreement' in the first place is pro-employer liao and encourages slave driver mentality. Just because certain things are the norm/legal doesn't make it moral or right.

U can't accept the reality? They come here, they work & paid according. How do u link it to slave driver attitude? Do u even uds wat does 'slave driver' mean?

luckygal

I am sure the bill will be settled. But the maid disability problem will stay with her and her family. So who is the ultimate loser?

NeonX

They want to come here one, even if conditions bad. It’s like working in a bad company but well paid

My maid already own 2 pieces of land back in her home, building big house now and have a small grocery business liao, she continue few more years I can go be her maid liao

Sultana

See lo, this is really dumb comment. Already said that sinkies should not be hiring maids liao

Not very good in debate r u? Did I even mention anything about sinkies should hire a maid for u to think I support sinkies hiring a maid? I expected a more substantial debate from u. No wonder sinkies r being pwn...

Yua Mikami

6 month still can send back right?

if I never rmb wrongly

6month the helper fully paid her loan so if u want to hire new one u need to yet again pay a few thousand to the agency...

sending her back you are paying for it...

whatmeworry

This is another confirmation of the coffeeshop talks mantra!!

You can die in Singapore, but you better don't get sick.

crapp0

I think it's very fair.

Thats based on the assumption that the typical sinkie thinks about being morally right, their more focused on the legal aspect when it matches their interest, they are "not" concerned about being moral if it contradicts their "interest" since being a decent human being excludes them from gaining an advantage at the cost of others. Basically a person without a conscience.

Thought since the maid was sent back to the agencies care, why should the family be responsible for her own actions. Shouldnt there be insurance to handle the medical cost, though in singapore, i am pretty sure it wont cover all the expenses since for maids, im pretty sure they choose the cheapest insurance available to meet the "minimum requirements".

articland05

I am sure the bill will be settled. But the maid disability problem will stay with her and her family. So who is the ultimate loser?
i wonder now who become the maid to who? is the employer gonna hire another maid to take care of this disabled maid for life?

Sent from Motorola Dynatac 8000X using GAGT

luckygal

My brother’s maid is the thriftiest maid I hv ever seen. Think I may need to take a lesson or 2 from her. She has saved enough to build a gcb in Indonesia. But she is staying for last 2 more yrs for my niece to grow up. She is the one taking care of my niece so she wants to wait for her to be like 4 yo more independent before she goes back.

They want to come here one, even if conditions bad. It’s like working in a bad company but well paid

My maid already own 2 pieces of land back in her home, building big house now and have a small grocery business liao, she continue few more years I can go be her maid liao

luckygal

Fat hope. She will be sent back. It’s her own family responsibility

i wonder now who become the maid to who? is the employer gonna hire another maid to take care of this disabled maid for life?

Sent from Motorola Dynatac 8000X using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.