[OFFICIAL] Fish keeping lover lounge - Part 2

tankgunner

Mentor
Growing plants ah. Ask shop to recommend u the soil lor. But be careful. Some soil is acidic and will lower your water ph to 6.x
One.

My tank now the water is 6.4.
With 5 types of plants. Lol
Still under cycling

IMG-20200829-213851.jpg

I planted 5 plants.
Java fern, cryptocoryne wendtii green, dwarf grass, amazon sword, anubias nana petite
Your first attempt at planted tank?

kreja

anybody here setup tank to grow aquarium plants and guppies as food supply for other pets?

tankgunner

Mentor
Yes.
Some plants melting

melting is common as some of the plants maybe grown from dry land(yes, many of our aquatic plants are grown from dryland in the farms) and now adjusting themselves in our tanks.

But for a start, you need to plant heavily. else algae will take over.

shin7829

Still not heavy enough ah?
Need Add how much/mamy more?
I scare fish no soace to swim leh

tankgunner

Mentor
Still not heavy enough ah?
Need Add how much/mamy more?
I scare fish no soace to swim leh

do 3/4 full.
leave some gaps between each plant for them to spread.
remember algae will be competing with the plants for nutrients and space.

jq75

melting is common as some of the plants maybe grown from dry land(yes, many of our aquatic plants are grown from dryland in the farms) and now adjusting themselves in our tanks.

why is it so tt when u plant heavily, algae will be controlled?:s11:

shin7829

Actually i planted 4 more crpts just that it have not grow. I have some problems with the powder soil and regretted. It often goes up to the leaves of the plants making them look dirty

jq75

Growing plants ah. Ask shop to recommend u the soil lor. But be careful. Some soil is acidic and will lower your water ph to 6.x
One.

My tank now the water is 6.4.
With 5 types of plants. Lol
Still under cycling

IMG-20200829-213851.jpg

I planted 5 plants.
Java fern, cryptocoryne wendtii green, dwarf grass, amazon sword, anubias nana petite

so basically more plants help remove harmful toxics? but come night time with no light, will it means there's less oxygen in tank?
nitrogen-cycle-1.png

tankgunner

Mentor
why is it so tt when u plant heavily, algae will be controlled?:s11:

cos the plants will take up most of the nutrients before the algae can.
it also leave little space for the algae to grow.

actually it is more to this. light plays a big part too.

shin7829

I still detecting nitrites. And some nitrates.
Awaiting nitrites to go zero. Should ve able to reach there 7 days later.

kreja

oxygen comes from the air that dissolve into water from water surface. More surface area more oxygen, air pump agitates the water surface, increasing effective surface area.

perrinrahl

Oxygen is provided by your pump or hang on filter also ma.

Haha the same old question. There are people worried about houseplants in the room sucking up oxygen at night.

Again, the amount of oxygen plants consume (unless you have a forest in a tiny room) is minute.

sky00sky

anybody here setup tank to grow aquarium plants and guppies as food supply for other pets?

I dun but doing some hydroponices
Not enough scale if you dun want to spend too much effort

andy77

UDz771Q.jpg

1st time planting, any advise is it enough?

shin7829

Wa liao. U sure u first time bo.
Looks enough liao la

Did u use co2?

tankgunner

Mentor
UDz771Q.jpg

1st time planting, any advise is it enough?

like that can liao.
if this is a new setup, i could suggest you also add some floating plants.
remove them once everything starts to mature.

your tank still cycling cos i don't see any fish?

andy77

like that can liao.
if this is a new setup, i could suggest you also add some floating plants.
remove them once everything starts to mature.

your tank still cycling cos i don't see any fish?

Thanks for the advise.
Tank was relative new, added few shrimps, 2xswordtails, 2xoto and zebra snail.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.