[GVGT] Jamus Lim and Josephine Teo debate effectiveness of Singapore's Employment, S Pass measures

lalalalalala

A key data point to request for will be the average ep wage vs the average local wage in a company

plexxor

jamus asked her not to play with gross numbers

jo ended up with multiple ifs and tiny city states

Optionstrader

Please la, you are crafting scenarios to suit your own arguments, of course you think you can never be wrong. Ideally, you think every singaporeans can take the jobs currently held by EP. but the matter of fact is, Singaporeans can’t do everything. There is a demand for EP and SP, because Singaporeans just can’t fill the void. The important thing is, statistics have shown that importing EP/SP led to positive job growth. You think MOM is satisfied with the current statistics meh? You think Singaporeans hate Singaporeans and don’t want to create job for each other? They had to allow EP in order to create jobs for Singaporeans. That was why they allow it in the first place, and they set a minimum wage for them so Singaporeans can compete with them competitively.
yes but we do not need foreigners in the top positions why do we need an indian born person in dbs? Why can't it be like neo kian hong who is ceo of smrt?

Sent from OPPO CPH1877 using GAGT

Wilberttt

They couldn't be bothered with sinkies.They only wanted more FTs in so that they can turn citizens to sap their votes.

I believe PAP will do something on the high underemployment rate of Sinkies.

If most sinkies end up doing grab or security guard, how they gonna milk their CPF?

samloi

Please la, you are crafting scenarios to suit your own arguments, of course you think you can never be wrong. Ideally, you think every singaporeans can take the jobs currently held by EP. but the matter of fact is, Singaporeans can’t do everything. There is a demand for EP and SP, because Singaporeans just can’t fill the void. The important thing is, statistics have shown that importing EP/SP led to positive job growth. You think MOM is satisfied with the current statistics meh? You think Singaporeans hate Singaporeans and don’t want to create job for each other? They had to allow EP in order to create jobs for Singaporeans. That was why they allow it in the first place, and they set a minimum wage for them so Singaporeans can compete with them competitively.

Not saying it's not true. But I would love to see the hard data and statistic. Along with wages(mean and mode), singaporeans ( not "local") and etc.

Also, I would like to see a study in why singaporeans are complaining that they are jobless. Former pmets driving taxis and doing delievery. Lastly, a full study on why about 8-10% of singaporeans are living overseas

lala24

Pea size brain logic spotted. :s12:

uselessbum

They like to readily use the "divisive" excuse to shut down any discussion surrounding new citizens/pr. To me, that is an attempt to hide their lack of concern and action over the situation all these years. Folks are taking them to task over the supposed lack of any concern over the years in curbing FTs as well as giving more priority to EXISTING sinkies.

Telling us how many locals fill those positions is only one side of the picture. For all we know, the "increase" in "local employment" could be more due to them converting PRs to citizens and thus quickly shoaring up the figure. But that does not indicate that they have made a concerted effort in curbing FTs or giving current sinkies more priorities. If you convert 35k PR to SC, that's another 35k added to "singaporean" headcount instantly. However, it doesn't change the fact that those jobs were never filled by sinkies in the first place nor was it because the gahment somehow found 35k new positions(especially pmet) for sinkies. That's to say, jobs that went to foreigners in the first place stayed with them till the end even if there is a change in residency status. It's that sort of obfuscation that irks us and makes us distrust them.

:(

testart

3KjbJzA.gif

look at keechiu

Why the MPs opp her all shake their heads ?

What going on !!

inmyopinion

yes but we do not need foreigners in the top positions why do we need an indian born person in dbs? Why can't it be like neo kian hong who is ceo of smrt?

DBS CEO does a great job that no one in the financial sector can deny that.

TrollAndOgres

Sometimes it's e hiring department, bosses who insist on hiring certain foreigners..

Wizard88

Cos dbs long long become delhi banking service liao

die

likely clueless or got no solution ba

but such new measures can help a bit nia
but they also create another set of other issues ...

example:
currently a lot of companies are going thru increment freeze
so these companies need to find way increase the salary of those staff whose permit going for renewal soon.... and at the same time tell their local staff (no increment this year)

if really like they say need FT to create better jobs in singapore for singaporeans
then they should look at how to better have a balance of FT from all countries ba
really think our so called IT & finance sector kanna ****.ed liao .... likely due to the hr hiring also kanna ****.ed ...

1)maybe they can provide percentage data for us to see where all our ft are coming from
2)anyway to control or limitation when the balance of ft is not too off balance ?
3)how mom is going to control hiring discrimination? as system easily cheated
4)currently numbers of permit holder who do not meet the new minimum wage level?

samloi

DBS CEO does a great job that no one in the financial sector can deny that.

Not in the financial sector so can't comment on how he had done. But I still can raise a question.
Are there no singaporeans who can do an equally good job?

firebear

TELL me what job Sinkies cannot do
and how many percent out of so many FT PMET

lizzykai

likely clueless or got no solution ba

but such new measures can help a bit nia
but they also create another set of other issues ...

example:
currently a lot of companies are going thru increment freeze
so these companies need to find way increase the salary of those staff whose permit going for renewal soon.... and at the same time tell their local staff (no increment this year)

if really like they say need FT to create better jobs in singapore for singaporeans
then they should look at how to better have a balance of FT from all countries ba
really think our so called IT & finance sector kanna ****.ed liao .... likely due to the hr hiring also kanna ****.ed ...

1)maybe they can provide percentage data for us to see where all our ft are coming from
2)anyway to control or limitation when the balance of ft is not too off balance ?
3)how mom is going to control hiring discrimination? as system easily cheated
4)currently numbers of permit holder who do not meet the new minimum wage level?

They will never provide figures bc if they let put the data out there then they got no case to fight alrd. Also, you’ll trust the data that they give us???

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.