F35 can fire missile from 200KM or longer but can hit meh???

Clearnfc

I want to ask lor.... Can fire missile from 200KM. But can hit or not??

I know radar etc can lock on, but enemy planes also got counter measures like flares and chaff. IF the plane keeps firing chaff or flares (depending on the type of missile), then I am sure high chance can evade. Then how?? Missile also need time to change course and reacquire target. Out of fuel how??

SimilanJ

Now is a fight of speed....
Missile speed getting faster and smarter...

Those that fired from plan are more deadly because of the speed.....

Krabs.

countermeasure not 100% one .... must see whether the missile seeker got update ....

who lazy never update will lose

Clearnfc

Now is a fight of speed....
Missile speed getting faster and smarter...

Those that fired from plan are more deadly because of the speed.....

Ya, but we have seen how planes can fire countermeasures and change course to evade missiles....

wlalala

real life dun have infinite flares unlike computer games

plus flares arent 100% effective also, if suay also can kena kit

and if the missile is radar guided then flares are useless

Clearnfc

real life dun have infinite flares unlike computer games

plus flares arent 100% effective also, if suay also can kena kit

and if the missile is radar guided then flares are useless

Radar guided you use chaffs already leh.... All planes carry both.

Also, you don't have infinite missiles too. You usually just fire 1 and see if it hits. Then fire another if necessary.

At 200KM, the AMRAMM takes 150sec to reach its target.

kyang69

If it is guided by satellite through GPS, 90% chance of hitting the target.

Krabs.

for chaff , the length of the filament must match the wavelength of the missile's seeker

if run out of the matching chaff .... then game over lorrr ?

Gunnerspirit

if enemy fires missile at us from that distance.
We chop chop land the plane, off engine.
See how they hit the target!

samloi

if enemy fires missile at us from that distance.
We chop chop land the plane, off engine.
See how they hit the target!

behind that plane still got squadron of bombers. bomb all your planes on the ground to kacang putih

LongKangLurker

I want to ask lor.... Can fire missile from 200KM. But can hit or not??

I know radar etc can lock on, but enemy planes also got counter measures like flares and chaff. IF the plane keeps firing chaff or flares (depending on the type of missile), then I am sure high chance can evade. Then how?? Missile also need time to change course and reacquire target. Out of fuel how??

Think you're referring to BVR missile:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beyond-visual-range_missile

Now technology is getting better, and missile getting faster. Remember a missile does not have big profile from the front. Firing missile over such a long distance is usually a preemptive strike instead normal engagement, It's like running on a road and suddenly you spot a small ball like object speeding towards you, you'll only have seconds to notice, identify & decide how to deal with it.

tl:dr - depends on how good the pilot's reaction is

wlalala

anyway nowdays missiles have all sorts of funny tech in them - they are designed to work in spite of countermeasures

and however good the countermeasures may be, the plane can't just disappear into thin air so there will always be a way for the missile to find it

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.