'Award-winning' production company responds to backlash over asking caterer to sponsor free food

slashershot

One look in this thread can see all the SME bosses who thinks this is alright. then complain about economy, govt handouts and 'free riders'. :s13::s13::s13:

If this is such a good offer, make a big post la be upfront about it why nid to whatsapp?
If so good sure ppl queue up to offer, will offer more, willing to go through multiple stages of interviews to offer RIGHT!? :vijayadmin:

Cobra!

Beggers also ask for money. You can always choose to ignore.

guile

Got reveal the Chef's company? Next time he want to shoot photo or video advert for his restaurant and offer to pay in food and exposure, tell him only accept cash upfront and market rate.

Poomer

Can. Next time ask them produce a drama without payment! Just show on TV can leow. See they can accept it or not.

Cheapskate company

Well said.

Another entitled company who can take advantage of others. But cannot let ppl take advantage.:s8:

Cobra!

Beggars ask u for $2k u give?
If I was a Tycoon I might why not? That would barely be spare change to me.

That's the point isn't it? If it's unreasonable just ignore la. Why need to have drama?

radish

Emeritus Honorary Member
actually this kind of thing is not uncommon. its a win win situation for the caterer/service provider to get exposure and the company get free food/service.

there is 2 problems with this case, the caterer is v green dont know got such practice. if he know he wont react so strongly. the company also got problem they didnt communciate properly.

i ever work w similar and saw how they worked. basically the company will sell itself to the provider but first the company must have something to trade, it can be reputation the provider can use this company brand as advertisement saying they are their customer to increase their profile. basically it can be a win win situation. for big companies, actually small service provider like hamper, catering will auto come offer their service at huge discount and sometimes free as part of their marketing strategy.

Poomer

Got reveal the Chef's company? Next time he want to shoot photo or video advert for his restaurant and offer to pay in food and exposure, tell him only accept cash upfront and market rate.

Last i checked is the media company begging for free food.

wadsad

dont want is ok. but i dun understand post publicly for what. again, the media coy also not 先上车后补票。is ask only. like that only make ppl dont wan to work with the caterer in the future nia. like basic 做人处事 also dunno.

the caterer thinks he can come out as the winner from this, i dont think so. :s13:

Poomer

If I was a Tycoon I might why not? That would barely be spare change to me.

That's the point isn't it? If it's unreasonable just ignore la. Why need to have drama?

Are you a tycoon?

And even tycoons like someone named Liew paid his maid $10-20 for few days work.

muddywaters

actually this kind of thing is not uncommon. its a win win situation for the caterer/service provider to get exposure and the company get free food/service.

there is 2 problems with this case, the caterer is v green dont know got such practice. if he know he wont react so strongly. the company also got problem they didnt communciate properly.

i ever work w similar and saw how they worked. basically the company will sell itself to the provider but first the company must have something to trade, it can be reputation the provider can use this company brand as advertisement saying they are their customer to increase their profile. basically it can be a win win situation. for big companies, actually small service provider like hamper, catering will auto come offer their service at huge discount and sometimes free as part of their marketing strategy.

Yes bartering is common... But notice none of they wrote here is guaranteed performance ... Lol

AMQjF3Rl.jpg

For $2000, let's just say he has other better options that are more sales driven.

He could even use that money to run Instagram or Facebook ads to promote a offer.

It will give him far greater mileage than some stupid credits for a Channel 5 drama that God knows how people watch in the first place. :s13:

Cobra!

Are you a tycoon?

And even tycoons like someone named Liew paid his maid $10-20 for few days work.
Now you're just digging for irrelevant nonsensical arguments just to respond.

And like unreasonable requests, I'll just ignore you going forward.

wadsad

Yes bartering is common... But notice none of they wrote here is guaranteed performance ... Lol

AMQjF3Rl.jpg

For $2000, let's just say he has other better options that are more sales drive .

theres where your nego skills comes in lor. number 1 if can do until show credit at end of every episodes is cheap liao for 2k. :s13:

ponpokku

This is common in the media industry. The Chef is new I guess.

or just simply making use of the incident to create news for his startup. :s22:

this ish a legit production coy asking for sponsorship, famous or not doesnt matter. ish not simi dunno who online influencer. if he dun want to sponsor all, it can be 1 meal per day wadever, let the coy go find other sponsor. everything can negotiate de, or at most turn them down. no need to go so far.

ish like ppl call u to ask u whether to have a marketing cooperation, u not interested then just reject lor. why need to sexpose the caller online?

only thing i can think of ish malicious intent to boost his own image at the expense of the production coy. :s22:

Poomer

AMQjF3Rl.jpg

For $2000, let's just say he has other better options that are more sales driven.

He could even use that money to run Instagram or Facebook ads to promote a offer.

It will give him far greater mileage than work stupid credits for a Channel 5 drama that God knows how people watch in the first place. :s13:

Funniest one is provide behind the scene of crew consuming the food. The crew eat the food very interesting meh? Even if anyone take notice which is highly unlikely, your brand stamp on the crew head isit?

cwchong

AMQjF3Rl.jpg

It will give him far greater mileage than work stupid credits for a Channel 5 drama that God knows how people watch in the first place. :s13:

True, but then you'll need expertise in such advertising platforms, maybe need some design skills to create your own ads and catchy taglines, and invest time into these

You will need to account for these, and if after accounting, he feels its a better deal to do on his own (or if he's not even interested in publicity in the first place), he can reject the offer

No need to burn bridges

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.