[EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS THREAD] - How To Pack An Emergency Bag & Related Discussions(in SG context) - Part 2

KnightDroid

xowithmilk

DrDf4f1.png

xowithmilk

Just in case anyone is wondering what's a Karambit, it is a small curved knife resembling a claw, like so:
[Photo from the Internet]
UNV5UJU.jpg

tzfSR77.jpg

KnightDroid

Just in case anyone is wondering what's a Karambit, it is a small curved knife resembling a claw, like so:
[Photo from the Internet]
UNV5UJU.jpg

img]https://i.imgur.com/tzfSR77.jpg[/img]

Dun teach the kids such things...lol.

Okay lah, personal interest I even look at damacus knife and tibet knife etc.

WussRedXLi

Singaporeans are free to travel to EU again.....no need quarantine.

https://www.straitstimes.com/world/...travel-from-canada-lets-in-singapore-visitors

BRUSSELS (BLOOMBERG) - The European Union decided to remove Canada, Tunisia and Georgia from its list of countries whose residents should be allowed to visit the bloc amid the coronavirus pandemic, according to an EU official familiar with the matter.

The EU also opted to reopen its borders to travellers from Singapore as a result of improved virus trends there, the official said on the condition of anonymity because the deliberations on Wednesday (Oct 21) in Brussels were confidential.

The United States will remain blacklisted along with most other countries.

dEv_

@WussRedXLi, thank you for the earlier sharing on AG防尘口罩. It has been working well for myself.

doing a sea shipping from tb. would you mind sharing if you have any tb link for kn95 disposable mask? planning looking to stock them up for the household.

WussRedXLi

@WussRedXLi, thank you for the earlier sharing on AG防尘口罩. It has been working well for myself.

doing a sea shipping from tb. would you mind sharing if you have any tb link for kn95 disposable mask? planning looking to stock them up for the household.

You really bought it ah......

"Too bad", local cases a bit on the low side. If it's still in the approx 10 cases for 7-days moving average, i suppose still can use and not attract much stares.

For half mask (now probably need to wear/tie 1 more surgical mask in front of the exhaust or front part of the respirator) probably around 20 cases for 7 days moving average, eg like during ** period.
Even with 2 wearers tgt (my father and I) we didn't attract any stares then, maybe once in a blue moon like 1 pax out of 1000 pax.

Yes, if you have a 1cbm coming or even small sea parcel, can consider the KN95s. If yrs is small sea parcel, then remember to ALWW the seller to compress the package as much as possible. (volumetric)
Cheapest is rmb 80 for 200pcs.

One is 88rmb, the other is 80rmb for 200pcs. For you to check out the reviews too. Usable lah.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?sp...OJ7N4&id=629434339130&ns=1&abbucket=12#detail

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?sp...OJ7N4&id=626076640363&ns=1&abbucket=12#detail

WussRedXLi

Remember it's not only COVID.

I myself kena streptococcus pyogenes infection of the tonsils + pharynx. LLST also need to swab. Any ARI (fever, running nose, congestion, cough, sore throat) and you'll be swabbed, no two ways about it, there is no choice. Cost is borne by the govt, both the swab and consultation. You'll pay very little (I paid total of $21 only).

It is also due to all these "side" illnesses which are contagious which also plays a part.
Coz the swab + waiting for results part also not that fun. I went to myhealthhub.sg to check my COVID results also not in, error. End up 3 days later i called the clinic and the results were already there (but nobody informed me). IT cock-up i guess.

Just that for me i know mine is not COVID coz 99.99% is bacteria. (15th-18th hr already can "feel" the VTEC effect of antibiotics kicking in, quite distinct one, i took it (agumentin) 24hrs prior to seeing the GP :s22:).

Just now i passed by the Parkway shenton clinic also saw 1 pax at the outdoors FEVER waiting area sitting on the chairs.

And because all these other ARIs, you'd also wanna self isolate from your family members in the same household. You spread to them, they'll also need to be swabbed, cannot avoid one. :s22: Your kids, your parents, your wife. And while you are on SHN (prior to having a negative COVID result), your wife or anyone in the household also need to self-isolate and WFH, due to corporate SOPs.

Of coz once you receive the result is negative for COVID, you then are free to end the SHN legally at that instance (don't have to serve SHN till full), and even share the love outside if you wish. :s13:

dEv_

You really bought it ah......

"Too bad", local cases a bit on the low side. If it's still in the approx 10 cases for 7-days moving average, i suppose still can use and not attract much stares.

For half mask (now probably need to wear/tie 1 more surgical mask in front of the exhaust or front part of the respirator) probably around 20 cases for 7 days moving average, eg like during ** period.
Even with 2 wearers tgt (my father and I) we didn't attract any stares then, maybe once in a blue moon like 1 pax out of 1000 pax.

Yes, if you have a 1cbm coming or even small sea parcel, can consider the KN95s. If yrs is small sea parcel, then remember to ALWW the seller to compress the package as much as possible. (volumetric)
Cheapest is rmb 80 for 200pcs.

One is 88rmb, the other is 80rmb for 200pcs. For you to check out the reviews too. Usable lah.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?sp...OJ7N4&id=629434339130&ns=1&abbucket=12#detail

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?sp...OJ7N4&id=626076640363&ns=1&abbucket=12#detail

thanks for the link. I will check it out. will be sharing cbm shipping with some friends. :D

yup. i did got them via MRC. It's much easier to breathe and cheaper in the long term. got some filters that come with it. hopefully it will be able to last till next year.

I've been switching between govt issued clothes mask and that AG, depending on event. It might be a little troublesome to wear out between meals. abit ley chey to take down and wear it back.

so far, didnt not much stare from the public. one uncle passerby even asked if this is a new design. ha?

given the WFH climate, i hardly step out except for small gathering with friends. :)

EDIT: Sorry if this may sound silly but why do we need to wear/tie 1 more surgical mask in front of the exhaust or front part of the respirator for half mask?

WussRedXLi

If you have kids, can also consider throwing in an order for maybe 20-50pcs for rough use for them. Note these are not real KF94s.
But can use for rough use, much better sealing.

The pricing for kids quite ok. Adults size is more ex.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?sp...bww1b5&id=629161771553&ns=1&abbucket=3#detail

O1CN01aRM19B25lHGCci7BD_!!425377566.jpg_400x400.jpg

WussRedXLi

so far, didnt not much stare from the public. one uncle passerby even asked if this is a new design. ha?

given the WFH climate, i hardly step out except for small gathering with friends. :)

EDIT: Sorry if this may sound silly but why do we need to wear/tie 1 more surgical mask in front of the exhaust or front part of the respirator for half mask?

I once saw the Mcgill mask. Another time got a similar one worn by a security guard (old guy) but is probably not even the AG one grade that you have.

For your AG mask, not so "sensitive". For some of the half mask where the exhaust port is quite visible, might have to, since some are quite sensitive about such things.

I kena scolded before for using my plastic pen to press the key lift buttons as it's a pointed object.
I told him that it's a flat end + plastic, he said "Oh" then LLST diam diam.

In EDMW there also has been some postings regarding the banning of masks with vents.

But so far no legal requirement. Coz technically from what they found out in tests, masks with vents still give a certain degree of protection for the others (definitely way better than bandadas or scarfs).

Intel888

Yes it can. When you are wearing it in good quality air settings.

Issue is that the moment you go into a kopitiam and there is a char kway teow store, gone case.

Try this 3 more times, really super gone case confirm throw away case.

Doesnt even have to be oil/cooking grease particles. Even a heavy smell/odour environment, eg departmental store with lots of perfume, i think the smell would also stain the filter a bit, but less than in a hawker ctr/kopitiam environment.

And yes, of coz it will get you a lot of stares now. Hence that KN95 solution as an alternative, if you prefer more protection than the surgical mask/face mask.

Then I keep my 3M to use when flights resume for the majority of us.
Air travel not likely going to be what we once knew it to be, anytime soon.

KN95 is a good possibility. Another is KF94.
I have some N95 that I keep for the old folks to use. But they very relaxed and don't want to use :s22: They don't see the value, unfortunately.

So far I'm ok with surgical masks/ cloth masks, just that the quality varies from brand to brand. So, I use them with the PM2.5 filter (again quality is suspect).

WussRedXLi

Then I keep my 3M to use when flights resume for the majority of us.
Air travel not likely going to be what we once knew it to be, anytime soon.

KN95 is a good possibility. Another is KF94.
I have some N95 that I keep for the old folks to use. But they very relaxed and don't want to use :s22: They don't see the value, unfortunately,

So far I'm ok with surgical masks/ cloth masks, just that the quality varies from brand to brand. So, I use them with the PM2.5 filter (again quality is suspect).

Well, the EU has already opened up to us, so if there is any (wierd) reason for any of us to want to travel there, can get the KF94 types. Local not much use as of now.... even the very mild symptoms/asymptomatics i don't think would be a lot floating out there.

Actually on qoo10 there is a nano filter mask from SK, is basically KF94 (the filter material claims to be even better), is good to 0.1 microns MPPS.
$27 for 20pcs.

Another legit mask option is Novita R2, can get from carousell $10-11, 8pcs. Self collect or normal mail.

Just have to stock up and bring over, if there is a need to travel.

Using cloth masks, even the govt cloth mask types, is quite risky if one is travelling to such high risk countries, coz they do not really practice universal masking in some situations. You'll never know which group of buggers who havent been wearing masks have been in that space before you. There is definitely no good side seal with the govt cloth masks, eg DET30, Forever NDP masks. The protection level is not the same as those cheong KN95, or real KF94 mentioned here.

WussRedXLi

So, I use them with the PM2.5 filter (again quality is suspect).

You go test if your PM2.5 insert is electrostatic. Cut out the middle ply and check like this.

3M Filtrete (electrostatic) working for haze particles (which dig down to around 0.2 microns here in SG). Of coz the 1-pass efficiency is not the same as N95s. I got this Filtrete from Taobao as well.

160145124.iPj2GQWo.9000.jpg

BlackWing1977

pWXlkum.jpg

https://ezbuy.sg/product/470150369.html

DjgHy1H.jpg

Watch the video demo here: https://imgur.com/bc4ZWfd

As always, fastest fingers first. GOOD LUCK!

Just take note the higher quality screen protector (usually thicker) will usually disable your fingerprint recognition function under the screen... :o

So I switch to face recognition... then COVID-19 came along.. and with mask.. also made the face recognition function obsolete... so still have to go back to the old pattern drawing unlocking... :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.