Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

cheongking888

Sometime buying aircon is really heng suay.

My 2 and half year-old Daikin Smile MKS80QVMG system 3 went kaput last two week ago. Lucky got extended warranty.

Daikin technician came down 3 occasions.

First changed thermistor. Turned on all the 3 FCU to test run for 3 to 4 hours. 1 FCU was blowing normal wind (no cold air). The other FCU were blowing cool air.

Another 2 hours later, the whole System self shut down. Error code is compressor overloaded.

Arranged with Daikin and this time, they changed PCB board, compressor and pumped new refrigerant.

Now used for few days and can really see the difference. Room now cool down very fast 2 to 3 min (previously 5 to 8 min), very cold at 24 (previously need to set at 21), fan speed very strong at 3 bar (previously highest at 5 bar).

My previous aircon was LG system 4 with 5 year warranty. Pcb broke down after 1 and half year of usage. So these two incidents taught me one lession # get extended warranty!

Mecisteus

Omg. Thank you for the info. I will avoid then.
Most likely will buy from gaincity instead.
Thank you.

Yeah save all the headaches and trouble.

I bought twice from GC in the last 10 years.

No complaints so far.

Shutterfly

Sometime buying aircon is really heng suay.

My 2 and half year-old Daikin Smile MKS80QVMG system 3 went kaput last two week ago. Lucky got extended warranty.

Daikin technician came down 3 occasions.

First changed thermistor. Turned on all the 3 FCU to test run for 3 to 4 hours. 1 FCU was blowing normal wind (no cold air). The other FCU were blowing cool air.

Another 2 hours later, the whole System self shut down. Error code is compressor overloaded.

Arranged with Daikin and this time, they changed PCB board, compressor and pumped new refrigerant.

Now used for few days and can really see the difference. Room now cool down very fast 2 to 3 min (previously 5 to 8 min), very cold at 24 (previously need to set at 21), fan speed very strong at 3 bar (previously highest at 5 bar).

My previous aircon was LG system 4 with 5 year warranty. Pcb broke down after 1 and half year of usage. So these two incidents taught me one lession # get extended warranty!

The extended warranty bought from Daikin?

mata_hippo

hi guys, 4 room hdb resale unit here

if i have a combined room (hacked down 1 wall), shld i get 12k or 18k?

then the other room 9k

then living room with an open concept kitchen, 18k?

but we wont use the living room one often though, duno if shld just stick to system 2 with 9k+(12 or 18k)?

high floor windy unit, we are scared of cold also, jus use to cool the place then turn off that kind...

keenklee

then the other room 9k

but we wont use the living room one often though, duno if shld just stick to system 2 with 9k+(12 or 18k)?

high floor windy unit, we are scared of cold also, jus use to cool the place then turn off that kind...

IMHO.
12k combined room 12k and 18k open concept living/kitchen should be adequate.

Other considerations to upz the BTU
1) conventional building using solid concrete walls that traps heat well into the night and the walls are facing the evening sun
2) a lot of heat sources in the combined room e.g. sleeps 5, TV, computer
3) poorly insulated windows
4) windows facing evening sun

mata_hippo

IMHO.
12k combined room 12k and 18k open concept living/kitchen should be adequate.

Other considerations to upz the BTU
1) conventional building using solid concrete walls that traps heat well into the night and the walls are facing the evening sun
2) a lot of heat sources in the combined room e.g. sleeps 5, TV, computer
3) poorly insulated windows
4) windows facing evening sun

thanks

regardless of the combined btu, sure got a compressor that can take it?

9k+12k+18k=39k

or doesnt work that way?

Posted from PCWX using VOG-L29

bunn85

Hi all.

For below - which one is better?
$ differences less than $200 after discount so i m ok. Thanks

I am asking for this also. For ME, Is the 28VA compressor insufficient for system 3? Would the 33VA be better?

Is the Daikin compressor MKS65QVMG better in this case? Both are 3x 9K BTUs.

Thank you.

keenklee

thanks

regardless of the combined btu, sure got a compressor that can take it?

9k+12k+18k=39k

or doesnt work that way?

IMHO & AFAIK,
If you intend to run all at the same time, you will need close to the total.

It is like saying, you have 9, 12, 18 but at any one-time you turn on 1 only, so you just cater for the max which is 18. Of course, too tedious lah.

For me, I may choose to run 2 compressor, one for the rooms and one for the open concept. If the rooms one fail, I still have the open concept one to cool the house.

In your planning, I do suggest you "plan" to run the rooms and open concept at the same time for extended period - haze may come back !

mata_hippo

IMHO & AFAIK,
If you intend to run all at the same time, you will need close to the total.

It is like saying, you have 9, 12, 18 but at any one-time you turn on 1 only, so you just cater for the max which is 18. Of course, too tedious lah.

For me, I may choose to run 2 compressor, one for the rooms and one for the open concept. If the rooms one fail, I still have the open concept one to cool the house.

In your planning, I do suggest you "plan" to run the rooms and open concept at the same time for extended period - haze may come back !

thanks

my other room wont be on most of the time

combined room should be the one most of the time, even so it's not gonna be long hours or throughout the night since we scared cold

living room should be rare but maybe more often than the other room

i guess something that can handle 30k shld be more than enough

keenklee

combined room should be the one most of the time, even so it's not gonna be long hours or throughout the night since we scared cold

IMHO.
Can set timer to turn off at 4am.

Thereafter, you'll need fan. Can consider to automate using likes of Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa to do that !

IME, sleep too long in AC will make a person lethargic as a lot of energy needs to keep warm. :s13:

Toiletpaper80

I currently have system 3 in bedrooms. Wanted to have air con in living room, but aircon ledge no space liao.

What can i do?

TIA

micgoh

Daikin Qvmg is older compressor
Newer ones are TVMG

I am asking for this also. For ME, Is the 28VA compressor insufficient for system 3? Would the 33VA be better?

Is the Daikin compressor MKS65QVMG better in this case? Both are 3x 9K BTUs.

Thank you.

micgoh

Combine can go with 12K but will take sometime to cool. Living room w open concept kitchen straight opt for 24k. Don't waste time with 18k

then the other room 9k

micgoh

I got the extended warranty during Daikin's 50 year anniversary promotion.

Nice. I think that's the only time they do 50 months warranty.. Did you get the Dyson vacuum as well?

Anyway I heard the QVMG system thermistor problem is quite infamous. I'm intending to go with the TVMG ismile new series with WiFi built in. Till now in the market only 1.5years. My main concern is whether can it last. Since so far the oldest TVMG is also less than 2 years. I plan to go starmex but no left right wind function. Must manual adjust

mata_hippo

Combine can go with 12K but will take sometime to cool. Living room w open concept kitchen straight opt for 24k. Don't waste time with 18k
24k sounds like alot :s13:

but as long as i dun on more than 1 of the units in parallel, a 30k compressor can do the task easily right? my impression so far is that the compressor's must be able to handle the total combined power of the max units u gonna have on for a period of time

swordspirit

Need advice on air con problem. Last week arranged for aircon person to fixed insulation leaking problem (near the compressor). 2 days back. Aircon trip during the night twice. The aircon that was in in used supposedly not the same as the one with the leaking problem (though i not that certain this is indeed the case as the leakage is no where near the fan coil.

The tripping is after hours of usage. 2nd time tripping shld be ard 1 hr after first tripping. Not sure as is midnight and did not check timing during first tripping. After 2nd tripping, i reduce the aircon fan speed and it no longer trip. Any idea what is the potential cause of the tripping?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.