Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

micgoh

24k is not alot for the area you have. Its suitable. 18k, you will regret.

As for the btu compressor power, take the total btu of 2 rooms fcu btu, you should be able to calculate

24k sounds like alot :s13:

but as long as i dun on more than 1 of the units in parallel, a 30k compressor can do the task easily right? my impression so far is that the compressor's must be able to handle the total combined power of the max units u gonna have on for a period of time

micgoh

Need advice on air con problem. Last week arranged for aircon person to fixed insulation leaking problem (near the compressor). 2 days back. Aircon trip during the night twice. The aircon that was in in used supposedly not the same as the one with the leaking problem (though i not that certain this is indeed the case as the leakage is no where near the fan coil.

The tripping is after hours of usage. 2nd time tripping shld be ard 1 hr after first tripping. Not sure as is midnight and did not check timing during first tripping. After 2nd tripping, i reduce the aircon fan speed and it no longer trip. Any idea what is the potential cause of the tripping?

Which model are you using? Daikin?

wokhei

Sometime buying aircon is really heng suay.

My 2 and half year-old Daikin Smile MKS80QVMG system 3 went kaput last two week ago. Lucky got extended warranty.

Daikin technician came down 3 occasions.

First changed thermistor. Turned on all the 3 FCU to test run for 3 to 4 hours. 1 FCU was blowing normal wind (no cold air). The other FCU were blowing cool air.

Another 2 hours later, the whole System self shut down. Error code is compressor overloaded.

Arranged with Daikin and this time, they changed PCB board, compressor and pumped new refrigerant.

Now used for few days and can really see the difference. Room now cool down very fast 2 to 3 min (previously 5 to 8 min), very cold at 24 (previously need to set at 21), fan speed very strong at 3 bar (previously highest at 5 bar).

My previous aircon was LG system 4 with 5 year warranty. Pcb broke down after 1 and half year of usage. So these two incidents taught me one lession # get extended warranty!

I have same issue as you. 3 year old MKS80QVMG system, 2 FCU not cold, 1 cold. Called 3rd party technician, they did normal servicing and top up refrigerant, but still not cold. Called same 3rd party technician, came to check, still didn't solve the issue and they advised me to call Daikin.

I called Daikin - they came down to change the thermistor, but still not cold. Will complain again and hopefully they can fix, and hope they won't charge...

cheongking888

Nice. I think that's the only time they do 50 months warranty.. Did you get the Dyson vacuum as well?

During that promotion, they only gave extended warranty. After that, they came out with various kinds of promotion like Dyson etc.

cheongking888

I have same issue as you. 3 year old MKS80QVMG system, 2 FCU not cold, 1 cold. Called 3rd party technician, they did normal servicing and top up refrigerant, but still not cold. Called same 3rd party technician, came to check, still didn't solve the issue and they advised me to call Daikin.

I called Daikin - they came down to change the thermistor, but still not cold. Will complain again and hopefully they can fix, and hope they won't charge...

You tried using your remote control to look for error code by pressing on 'cancel' button.

If it is still under warranty, they won't charge.

wongminmin

I am asking for this also. For ME, Is the 28VA compressor insufficient for system 3? Would the 33VA be better?

Is the Daikin compressor MKS65QVMG better in this case? Both are 3x 9K BTUs.

Thank you.

i suggest u go for site visit, and let them choose the best combination for u.
This will be helpful for u....
https://shopee.sg/scp/gaincity/eyJjaWQiOjMzNywic2lkIjoyNjQ4NDg0NjMsImlzRHJhZnQiOmZhbHNlfQ==

How long does the gas in an air cond last normally?

it can lasts for years. if got leak, 1 month aircon won't cold anymore after top up.

I scolded the boss, and vow to take actions against their black shady business tactics. Brand new and Less than 7 days want to BS me. say all 3 trips and found nothing. I might not be air-con trained but I on the aircon on 23 degrees but its blowing out just wind, you mean starmex is supposed to be like that meh? come on.

so I told them if they can't do the job, its still under Mitsubishi warranty. I will call them up and report on them. so boss got another lady to pacify me.say will send their chief Tech down . whatever la, sent your ceo down better.

sendup the tech ask me who installed for me. I told him that 2 guys. he said long ago told boss to sack them already. a lot of complaints whenever that 2 guys install for people. but boss want to use cheap labour. so continue to keep the 2.

he detect pipe leaked from connector. endup teardown and redo. Seriously is a waste of time man. cannot even do things properly.

confirm is letscool?

aircon requires experience.... i find that they offer lower price to get customers for their new technicians to gain experience.....like try and error. :s22:

chief tech got a lot of experiences in troubleshooting...once they come, they can find the root cause.

did they charge u anything for redo?

light84

Do we need to apply from hdb? Cannot find info on this. Thanks

If u already have an aircon ledge, den no need. U take a closer look at your neighborhood, i am sure you can find 1 or 2 cos the aircon ledge is too small to fit 2 compressors, they wall mount the other compressor

light84

Need advice on air con problem. Last week arranged for aircon person to fixed insulation leaking problem (near the compressor). 2 days back. Aircon trip during the night twice. The aircon that was in in used supposedly not the same as the one with the leaking problem (though i not that certain this is indeed the case as the leakage is no where near the fan coil.

The tripping is after hours of usage. 2nd time tripping shld be ard 1 hr after first tripping. Not sure as is midnight and did not check timing during first tripping. After 2nd tripping, i reduce the aircon fan speed and it no longer trip. Any idea what is the potential cause of the tripping?

Attach pictures please

micgoh

Is a colour + the word b**k

i suggest u go for site visit, and let them choose the best combination for u.
This will be helpful for u....
https://shopee.sg/scp/gaincity/eyJjaWQiOjMzNywic2lkIjoyNjQ4NDg0NjMsImlzRHJhZnQiOmZhbHNlfQ==

it can lasts for years. if got leak, 1 month aircon won't cold anymore after top up.

confirm is letscool?

aircon requires experience.... i find that they offer lower price to get customers for their new technicians to gain experience.....like try and error. :s22:

chief tech got a lot of experiences in troubleshooting...once they come, they can find the root cause.

did they charge u anything for redo?

BanEle

I will suggest you get a better outdoor and upgrade one of your indoor unit since you mention you going to turn at 2 indoor units most of the time.
Hi guys,

I've read through a couple of posts here but still can't decide between these 2:
1) ME Starmex System 2: MXY2G20VA2 & MSXYFN10VE(2x)
2) Daikin System 2: MKS50TVMG & CTKS25TVMG(2x)

If I will be using 2 units at the same time, can I say that the Daikin is a better choice due to a more powerful condenser?

And also maintenance and repair wise, is daikin more expensive?

micgoh

Are you suggesting upgrade master bedroom indoor unit? I often seee this recommendation. Curious ah but why? If Mbr and another room same size. Should it be use both room same btu and upgrade compressor outside?

I will suggest you get a better outdoor and upgrade one of your indoor unit since you mention you going to turn at 2 indoor units most of the time.

micgoh

Yeah man and reflective. Don't be attracted by the price. The aftsrsales is lousy. Boss shout at me F word over the phone think I stupid don't know what's call not cold. Pls lah starmex save electricity also not 23 degree blow wind nia. Might as well I tell you go buy Toyota prius. Electric hybrid that's why your max speed is 15kmh. Pls leh...

that's a very shiny color :s13:

swordspirit

Which model are you using? Daikin?

Attach pictures please

Panasonic model. the leakage is located near the compressor inside false ceiling - connecting point of the insulation was not properly sealed leading to condensation. thus they came down to fixed that. No picture to show as the false ceiling is sealed up again.

No obvious problem now as i running the aircon at the middle fan speed. Still can use throughout the night with the mid speed. Wonder what is the likely cause for the aircon tripping twice the other day (fan coil running at high speed for 1 and auto for the other). This is a system 3 unit.

wongminmin

I am asking for this also. For ME, Is the 28VA compressor insufficient for system 3? Would the 33VA be better?

Is the Daikin compressor MKS65QVMG better in this case? Both are 3x 9K BTUs.

Thank you.

sEaRnwG.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.