AMD Ryzen NB Discussion| Lenovo Thinkpad E495/E595/T495/X395 Well-rounder performance CPU + GPU

Phrajile

So I've been hooking my Legion 5 up to my 4k TV.

Haha omg wow, what have I been missing! But playing Destiny 2 - Beyond Light DLC on ultra, the fan kicks in quite fierce......

But to see Photoshop load up in less than 5 seconds... Shiok

Henabi

So I've been hooking my Legion 5 up to my 4k TV.

Haha omg wow, what have I been missing! But playing Destiny 2 - Beyond Light DLC on ultra, the fan kicks in quite fierce......

But to see Photoshop load up in less than 5 seconds... Shiok
Yeah! When I use my legion 5 edit a 5 min video and when it was rendering.... Wow the fan just went full speed haha!

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

Phrajile

Yeah! When I use my legion 5 edit a 5 min video and when it was rendering.... Wow the fan just went full speed haha!

Scary right. It made me wonder if I need to dial it back a bit hahaha.

Too bad Vantage doesn't have a Temperature reader.

Angry999

E and L series are entry level... don't expect the build quality found in T, X or even X1

T and X series are their flagship

X1 series is their ultraportable, ultra light and also their most expensive series, so the best build materials are found here.
base price starts from 2K or 1999 to be exact

P series is their Desktop replacement series, it is also the only series which is ISV-certified. Build quality mirrors T & X series

if you wanna find out whether a Thinkpad can survive a plane crash or car crash or a elephant stomp and still work fine.... then its better you look at Panasonic Toughbook

Thank you for the knowledge sharing. 🙏
Crash not needed. The elephant likely be me. Lol.

ceestudent

I need users advice on how durable is ThinkPad plastic case in general. Where can I get a good shell or other protection form for it? Very very limited choice online and most for Mac. �
Used to own Acer many years back and the plastic case brittle / crack on its own after I left it unused.
TIA.
I happen to own acer aspire 5 slim (low end model by acer) and thinkpad E series (also low end model from thinkpad) now.
Feel lenovo plastic body is more sturdy and thicker than acer.

Henabi

Thank you for the knowledge sharing. *********
Crash not needed. The elephant likely be me. Lol.
XD I also elephant lolx

The plastic is thicker.

Afaik, thinkpad is built to be handled manly.
Not like certain Fruit brand laptops... Have top casing, base casing. Must put in laptop sleeves with thick thick cushion

The aluminum material gets scratched easily. Accidentally bump into something and it leaves a permanent dent

I do a lot of business travel so I bring my T495s with me as well. I have never once TLC my thinkpad. I just use it normally.

Accidentally bump into something hard or the edge of a table... I just take a quick glance at my thinkpad, "Nothing much..." Maybe just dust the area which bumped into something and Ok move on...

When I need to move fast, or rush. I close the lid fast *thud and go

Need to blaze thru emails, type lengthy replies, draft several reports etc. The key board is soooooo good to type on. You just have to try one to know

The screen bezel is also thicker even for the expensive X1. The reason is quite simple. The thick bezel acts as a cushion and protection to the screen panel if the edge of your laptop accidentally hit into something hard or the floor.

kweeli

Order Ideapad Slim 5 on 11 Nov. Received Lenovo updated expected ship on 31 Jan 2021 n receive 4 Feb 2021. Anyone got the same?

Angry999

XD I also elephant lolx

The plastic is thicker.

Afaik, thinkpad is built to be handled manly.
Not like certain Fruit brand laptops... Have top casing, base casing. Must put in laptop sleeves with thick thick cushion

The aluminum material gets scratched easily. Accidentally bump into something and it leaves a permanent dent

I do a lot of business travel so I bring my T495s with me as well. I have never once TLC my thinkpad. I just use it normally.

Accidentally bump into something hard or the edge of a table... I just take a quick glance at my thinkpad, "Nothing much..." Maybe just dust the area which bumped into something and Ok move on...

When I need to move fast, or rush. I close the lid fast *thud and go

Need to blaze thru emails, type lengthy replies, draft several reports etc. The key board is soooooo good to type on. You just have to try one to know

The screen bezel is also thicker even for the expensive X1. The reason is quite simple. The thick bezel acts as a cushion and protection to the screen panel if the edge of your laptop accidentally hit into something hard or the floor.

Thank you for sharing your experience. 👍

Pros and cons for both plus individual's preferences.
Those who don't like fruit brand will not like it.
Now with AMD improving likely there will be more switching over.

I have my fruit brand since 2012. Battery replacement 3 times and once SSD on my own till the logic board died recently. Never has protection over it. Dents and scratches don't bother me. Cracks on case will be different as it may impact the internal eventually if left unattended. Will venture if I can replace the case myself if needed.

Only look for durablility. Easy and lower maintainance when is down and easy battery replacement. No emotions attachment.

Henabi

Another good thing about thinkpad is that the parts are easily replaceable and easy to get

A 20 year old thinkpad can be easily given fresh new life, just by doing mini upgrades to wifi, ssd, ram, windows 10, battery, keyboard

torque6

Wa...siao ginna spotted...csi me? You said you not triggered but from hardware clinic till here? Lmao...grow up, don't be the sensitive one...learn the word touche...you should have a lot of chances using it.

And though you were wrong that my post count increases only during covid, the question I wanna ask is...what's your point? Is it your account created in 2003 means you cannot be rebutted by an account created later than yours? Or some other warped logic?

Gina, I CSI you? Your post are all over the place. I read your gina post at edmw shiok shiok confirm chop the gina is you. LOL. Act big ****, actually nothing more than a opportunist. First this joker say I cannot take it because he quoted me. Now he kpkb say I cSi him and quoted him in other thread. Tsk tsk tsk.

No wonder name call Reachliao.

Wrong that your post count only increase during covid 19 ah? Sure, np. You heypi jiu hor.

fireduke86

Another good thing about thinkpad is that the parts are easily replaceable and easy to get

A 20 year old thinkpad can be easily given fresh new life, just by doing mini upgrades to wifi, ssd, ram, windows 10, battery, keyboard

Boss, like that add up become big upgrade le lorz~ :s13: And I am not sure you can still get Rams and battery that were in use 20 years ago today~ Even so, rams in use then weren't in sizes necessary for Win 10 usage today so I'm not that optimistic over that fresh new life that you spoke of~

Henabi

Boss, like that add up become big upgrade le lorz~ :s13: And I am not sure you can still get Rams and battery that were in use 20 years ago today~ Even so, rams in use then weren't in sizes necessary for Win 10 usage today so I'm not that optimistic over that fresh new life that you spoke of~
I am sure some one out there will have these computer parts stock up to sell

flowerpalms

Who is waiting for black friday to hoot legion5?

Posted from PCWX using A simple life, not a simple thing🙏🏻

ksrokiller

Me,My previous legion 5 came with screen issue then they send the replacement set with wrong specs..They don't want send another replacement set again only offered refund,I have to repurchase again

flowerpalms

Me,My previous legion 5 came with screen issue then they send the replacement set with wrong specs..They don't want send another replacement set again only offered refund,I have to repurchase again

How much they refund you? Black friday will have same price?

ksrokiller

You mean they haven refund you? Now no more iprice30 leh .

Not yet still processing the refund,they refuse to send another replacement despite requesting them to. Yes i know no more.. sigh

The wrong replacement set screen panel is the 60hz not the 144hz i ordered really cannot accept..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.