Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

freshvibes

most of the time is just the installer issue...not the brand.

e.g poor workmanship.....gas leaking during the first month.
e.g exposed wire....few years later....this issue start surfacing.

u can look at neighbour...what brand they are using......it is very obvious the market share....

That’s true. Sometimes have to really depend on luck.

If the installer is good then it should be fine or else issues like that will start to happen and it’s a big headache.

wongminmin

9760078170eb3eb41fb75f246a7f1991

cscs3

most of the time is just the installer issue...not the brand.

e.g poor workmanship.....gas leaking during the first month.
e.g exposed wire....few years later....this issue start surfacing.

u can look at neighbour...what brand they are using......it is very obvious the market share....

Part of the reason but not the only reason. Some brand is known to fail after some years due to quality of parts used. The brand stand up in the market for a reason.

OneMantou

Cos customers are ignorant .. Contractors monkeys see monkey do .. if competitor offer free gas top up but u dun, lose out lor

Gas not need top up if no leak .. u dun top up gas for fridge right? My fridge run 10 years 24 hours oso no need top up gas

Yeah especially outdoor units should be designed to function outdoors , barring legit wear n tear/ or poor product design that allows birds /insect to easily damage the gas-holding area.. or else things won't spoil by itself.
Somemore in SG no possibility of damage from snow.

wongminmin

Part of the reason but not the only reason. Some brand is known to fail after some years due to quality of parts used. The brand stand up in the market for a reason.

eh not that. :s22:

that guy bought starmex recently.....have some bad encounter due to bad installer....
he is now looking at other brands....

micgoh

hi~~~~ just explaining to him... :)

Cause I need to clarify. Starmex got no issue. Is the installer cui. But ofc I do believe brands / model play a part. My apple macbpro has been with me since 2010. But my acer laptop 3 years died liao

vodaboy

My Mitsubishi System 3 compressor (MSYGE24VAR3) that's nearly 5 years old, control board is a bit faulty, causing one of the expansion valve to not fully close, so whenever I switch on my bedroom's aircon, the aircon in another bedroom is dripping water from the condensation (aircon gas continue to supply to the aircon unit despite it being switched off) and putting pails/towels under the water drips is not a long term solution and run risk of damaging the wooden floor.

My usual aircon company advised that although ultimately it is my choice, in their opinion it is not economical to repair/change the outdoor unit's control board and the faulty expansion valve. The cost would not be far off from paying $1k+ to buy a new outdoor unit (supposedly no stock now if buying outdoor unit only).

However if I choose to buy a new outdoor unit alone, Mitsubishi does not provide any warranty (can't understand the logic from Mitsubishi though, a consumer buying a new product but no warranty is granted). If I want the standard warranty, I have to purchase a full set of outdoor unit with 3 aircon units.

While the aircon units are still working fine and is a waste to replace, I do suppose it makes some sense to change the outdoor and indoor units together, effectively I'm "renewing" 1 year spare parts and 5 years compressor warranty. Anyone has a different opinion?

They recommended the Starmex FN series for reliability and alternative option of Daikin iSmile series (only $100 more than Starmex so price difference is negligible for me) if I want smart control capabilities.

Anyone using Daikin iSmile series can share if the smart control capabilities are really useful? Practically I can only think of 2 benefits:
1) Use mobile phone to change temp/fan speed instead of remote control.
2) Can switch on aircon remotely in advance, but then this only makes sense if you are switching on your living room aircon provided balcony doors & kitchen windows are fully closed or if you are switching on your bedroom aircon provided the bedroom doors are closed (most people's habit is probably to leave it open when aircon is not in use).

Also I can't seem to find on Daikin's website to confirm that their warranty for compressor is also 5 years. Only mention 1 year for spare parts.

micgoh

Daikin has 4 ways directions for wind.but starmex doesn't. I'm going for Daikin too but until I had a few aircon contractors telling me to note about the infamous thermistor issue. Endup I decided to go with a new system 3 (9k,12k,24k btu) mated to a 4G33VA system.

My Mitsubishi System 3 compressor (MSYGE24VAR3) that's nearly 5 years old, control board is a bit faulty, causing one of the expansion valve to not fully close, so whenever I switch on my bedroom's aircon, the aircon in another bedroom is dripping water from the condensation (aircon gas continue to supply to the aircon unit despite it being switched off) and putting pails/towels under the water drips is not a long term solution and run risk of damaging the wooden floor.

My usual aircon company advised that although ultimately it is my choice, in their opinion it is not economical to repair/change the outdoor unit's control board and the faulty expansion valve. The cost would not be far off from paying $1k+ to buy a new outdoor unit (supposedly no stock now if buying outdoor unit only).

However if I choose to buy a new outdoor unit alone, Mitsubishi does not provide any warranty (can't understand the logic from Mitsubishi though, a consumer buying a new product but no warranty is granted). If I want the standard warranty, I have to purchase a full set of outdoor unit with 3 aircon units.

While the aircon units are still working fine and is a waste to replace, I do suppose it makes some sense to change the outdoor and indoor units together, effectively I'm "renewing" 1 year spare parts and 5 years compressor warranty. Anyone has a different opinion?

They recommended the Starmex FN series for reliability and alternative option of Daikin iSmile series (only $100 more than Starmex so price difference is negligible for me) if I want smart control capabilities.

Anyone using Daikin iSmile series can share if the smart control capabilities are really useful? Practically I can only think of 2 benefits:
1) Use mobile phone to change temp/fan speed instead of remote control.
2) Can switch on aircon remotely in advance, but then this only makes sense if you are switching on your living room aircon provided balcony doors & kitchen windows are fully closed or if you are switching on your bedroom aircon provided the bedroom doors are closed (most people's habit is probably to leave it open when aircon is not in use).

Also I can't seem to find on Daikin's website to confirm that their warranty for compressor is also 5 years. Only mention 1 year for spare parts.

freshvibes

Daikin has 4 ways directions for wind.but starmex doesn't. I'm going for Daikin too but until I had a few aircon contractors telling me to note about the infamous thermistor issue. Endup I decided to go with a new system 3 (9k,12k,24k btu) mated to a 4G33VA system.

Which model of Daikin has the 4 way direction for wind? Are you talking about the vane?

eight8

Inverter compressor is always running when one unit is turned ON. So when two unit is turned ON, compressor is having more load thus it need more controlling and a little more electricity.

My question i would like to know is how much more electricity is used comparing turning on 1 unit vs 2 unit or even 3 unit? Eg. Does the unit 1 consume 50% compressor load, while turning on another unit consume another 10% more and so on? Any expert can advise?

cheongking888

Discharged to atmosphere .. It's illegal but everyone does that .. I have not seen any technicians carrying a refrigerant recovery machine to store the old refrigerant temporarily

That is what I thought too. The technician came on the second occasion and he unscrewed two pipes (inlet and outlet) and let them exposed for two days before coming back on the 3rd occasion to change the compressor.

wongminmin

then u never ask about panasonic?

the tech told me starmex and daikin is the best......then which 1 spoil easily...they said both will give problems but depend on luck.

then p is hard to clean, old parts hard to find....then also a lot of issues.

CXOw2bC.png

micgoh

Hi saw multiple questions. Shall answer it in one message here.

Yes 4 ways is the wind vane.. Up down left right

I contacted aircon vendors for starmex already. I saw someone around my estate having daikin. I went to ask. He says because he often overseas so that's why never really on so can't give true estimate. For me is I on everyday so going w starmex for reliability

wongminmin

Hi saw multiple questions. Shall answer it in one message here.

Yes 4 ways is the wind vane.. Up down left right

I contacted aircon vendors for starmex already. I saw someone around my estate having daikin. I went to ask. He says because he often overseas so that's why never really on so can't give true estimate. For me is I on everyday so going w starmex for reliability

starmex

ur aircon cold in the day?
is cooling your room take very long? roughly how long?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.