[NAS] Synology NAS owner club!

pwongkk

Buy those UPS which can change its battery one.

Used to buy the small APC ones, not those 2U type.

Battery replacement is easy. Inside has 2 cables, just need to disconnect it and bring to battery shops to buy back the same physical size.

I stopped using ups already. Took out the batteries, but kept the casing.

teydom

DS216j Storage Pool Crash, bad sectors, INDF errors

Hi, seeking advise on what to do next. My DS216j storage pool crashed, both drives are WD Red 3TB.

Dec 18
I/O error reported, 4 bad sectors appears on Drive 2

Dec 20:
Extended S.M.A.R.T. tests on drive 1 passed, interrupted on drive 2

Dec 21:
Drive 2: 4 bad sectors
Drive 1: 1 bad sector
Storage pool crashed, drive 2, hardware beeping
Drive 2: Read abnormality reported
Drive 2: INDF error, drive had to be re-identified by DSM

Once the drive 2 was successfully re-identified.

Thankfully, volume is SHR, and all data could be retrieved from the DS216j, volume is now in read only mode.

Extended S.M.A.R.T. could not be successfully carried out on Drive 2 (stuck at 90% during overnight test).

By the way, the drives had to fail 6 months after the warranty period is over. :sad:

t258jgn

3TB hdds :s22:
WD RED in Synology :s22:

Add together :s16:

U better buy new hdds to replace

batniss

Hi, seeking advise on what to do next. My DS216j storage pool crashed, both drives are WD Red 3TB.

Dec 18

Dec 20:

Dec 21:

Thankfully, volume is SHR, and all data could be retrieved from the DS216j, volume is now in read only mode.

Extended S.M.A.R.T. could not be successfully carried out on Drive 2 (stuck at 90% during overnight test).

By the way, the drives had to fail 6 months after the warranty period is over. :sad:

U and the reds deserves each other

ghgan1

If I am not wrong DS416 is Annapurna Labs Alpine AL-212 cpu with 32bits therefore it will limit your volume to 16tb. This also means the max hdd size is 16tb for 1 volume. If you have 3x8tb hdd you can only have basic volume, raid 5 or shr with max 16tb. Unless you upgrade your syno cpu to 64bits or get a new syno with 64bits cpu.

My NAS is DS416.

Spec link :

https://global.download.synology.co...X20D*MTYwODc3MDUxNy4xMi4xLjE2MDg3NzA3MjIuNTM.

I saw this under Technical Specifications :

Maximum internal raw capacity 32 TB (8 TB HDD x 4) (The actual capacity will differ according to volume types)

Question : Does this mean that the max I can put in this NAS is 8TB x 4?

Storage management Maximum single volume size: 16TB, Maximum internal volume: 256, Maximum iSCSI Target: 10, Maximum iSCSI LUN: 10

Question : Does this mean that the maximum SHR Storage pool size that I can go is 16TB?

i1magic

If I am not wrong DS416 is Annapurna Labs Alpine AL-212 cpu with 32bits therefore it will limit your volume to 16tb. This also means the max hdd size is 16tb for 1 volume. If you have 3x8tb hdd you can only have basic volume, raid 5 or shr with max 16tb. Unless you upgrade your syno cpu to 64bits or get a new syno with 64bits cpu.

Yes. it is 32bit processor.

"Limit your volume to 16TB", does it mean that I can have 4 x 16TB, run it under SHR and get 48TB of storage?

"Upgrade your syno cpu to 64bits", can this be done?

i1magic

Wah, WD RED so lousy ah? Somebody also reported that Seagate Ironwolf got issue within 3yrs. So how? Get Toshiba hard disk?

ghgan1

if have 4x16tb you probably can 4 volume of 16tb, cannot combine to 48tb as 32bits cpu only can address up to 16tb.
likely the cpu is soldered on the motherboard, unless u can buy replacement motherboard like ds416play which is 64bits cpu.

"Limit your volume to 16TB", does it mean that I can have 4 x 16TB, run it under SHR and get 48TB of storage?

teydom

Wah, WD RED so lousy ah? Somebody also reported that Seagate Ironwolf got issue within 3yrs. So how? Get Toshiba hard disk?

Don't know lah, nowadays it sure feels like this type of incidence feels "pre-planned" :s11:

teydom

Well was thinking of upgrading to more disk space, been having warning of low disk space from DSM for about year now. Guess this makes it more urgent (cough cough)

U and the reds deserves each other

Was thinking of getting Seagate instead after the WD SMR commotion earlier this year.

t258jgn

Not sure how reliable are these replacement model

027B3B3DCA13355FD0529688E7D0F6A9DFC7E25F_WDFNASREDPLUS_source.JPG

lilycll

Yes. The NAS will power off after a period of idle but I get the disconnection even when I was copying files over to the NAS.

It sounds like a network adapter NDIS driver settings or firewall related issue on your PC or Laptop OS. Try this

Go to Network and Sharing Center->Manage network connections. Right click on your Local Area Connections and choose Properties.

Under Networking tab has a list of items either "QoS Packet Scheduler" or "NDIS" filter. Uncheck one or both and reboot.

Recheck your file copy/transfer.

lilycll

Well was thinking of upgrading to more disk space, been having warning of low disk space from DSM for about year now. Guess this makes it more urgent (cough cough)

Was thinking of getting Seagate instead after the WD SMR commotion earlier this year.

Did you try to clear up your recycle folders if you have setup any?

lilycll

So am I able to scale up from my current RAID 5 by doing drive by drive replacement and rebuilding?

(4)(4)(4)(4) "12TB" -> (10)(10)(10)(10) "30TB"

Not unless you have additional empty bays to add in the new bigger drives. You may have to do the hardway of transfering existing data out to some temporary storage, put in and setup new bigger drives then transfer data from the temp storage back to the new drives.

i1magic

if have 4x16tb you probably can 4 volume of 16tb, cannot combine to 48tb as 32bits cpu only can address up to 16tb.
likely the cpu is soldered on the motherboard, unless u can buy replacement motherboard like ds416play which is 64bits cpu.

No lah, using NAS is usually because of redundancy mah. Yah, cpu is soldered + the BIOS etc are all customised for it specifically. Where to find DS416Play motherboard?

Anyway, I got about 9TB of SHR storage now. Probably can last me a few years. Now I got 2 x 6TB and 2 x 2TB. Based on 16TB max storage pool size, I can upgrade the 2 x 2TB to 1 x 6TB and 1 x 4TB and it will maxed out liao.

Unless my needs increases exponentially, I guess this should be able to last me at least another 5yrs.

teydom

Did you try to clear up your recycle folders if you have setup any?

Recycle folders are setup, however not much is actually recycled, the DS216j is used to store long term photos (that's why I am very thankful all data could be recovered, and sampling the photos, none looked corrupted).

existential_reality

I dun get a good experience with the RD Red either tbh, I feel the seagates are more reliable if you're capacity not high maybe can consider to use Hitachi drive for one of them?

The WD reds 3TB seem to have higher chance of IO errors

Dec 18

Dec 20:

Dec 21:

existential_reality

Heh if referring to my earlier post for my case its 2 drives out of 15 that report issue and only one is more severe with increase bad sector but still usable (now stabilize). I see that as being more reliable in a sense given the issue found vs the number of drives in use.

For teydom it seems to be a 2 drives out of 2 issue he is experiencing, and those issues seem much more severe.

But either case I didn't get a good experience on WD reds either so unlikely I will use them again.

HDD-Drives.jpg

existential_reality

Can try this to increase speed,

shut down all non essential services for now then increase the resync speed

https://www.synology.com/en-global/knowledgebase/DSM/help/DSM/StorageManager/storage_pool_adjust_resync_speed

My Synology DS416 got 2 x 2TB running SHR. I added 2 x 6TB. It is "Expanding". From my estimate, it will probably take about 2-3 days to complete.

If I know that it will take that long, I would have just copy out the 2TB data and then just create SHR fresh.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.