my mother owe hospital bills, if she pass on would hospital go after her sold HDB monies?

limpeh456

knn, hospital everytime call me disturb me to pay for her
she has monies and a HDB under her name.

but I always advise her dun kumgong go pay, owe GOV monies can drag pls drag as long as possible, especially for old folks

KPO_SAHM

U still have to pay.
My auntie owned hospital a few hundred ks cause she was in ICU for a few months . Eventually she passed away . My cousins paid the hospital bills in installment. There is no way u don have to pay unless u r broke

Multiversal

knn, hospital everytime call disturb me to pay for her
she has monies and a HDB under her name.

but I always tell her dun kumgong go pay, GOV monies can drag drag
They can ask you to pay but if you bo hew, they cannot do anything to you. It's grounded in a very simpur legal maxim.

But WHY your mother does not want to pay? If she is broke, there is medifund which the social workers will apply for her to settle the bill. If she is not broke, she will of course not qualify for medifund. I know this is your mother, and my words may offend you, but I think it is not right to not pay.

mige16

All these will be comms prior to admission de. The hospital will go thru the estimated bill and settle on payment methods de. Why TS is complaining now?
In before giving birth to charsiew is better.
Because u need to sign off on treatment and there are payment clauses?

British_Bulldog

my dad pass on more than 10 years ago at SGH.

he had cancer n e bill also quite huge.

he had used up his cpf, n our little cpf as we were young then.

when he pass on, SGH keep calling us n send us letters.

we really cannot pay e bills... dont know how my sis settle it, in e end they never contact us anymore.

think they write off

avviicc

who is responsible for the bill har?

NOK = children, spouse... how about cousin? grandchildren? nephew?

scurly one day i receive a bill from a long lost "relative".. how?

wisewise

they will empty ur medisave, if medisave not enough....i guess they will empty ur cpf.

Medisave ish there not for u to use when u are alive, more for when u are dead... :grin:

XiaoJinLing

nowadays even before you enter hospital, they will check your "financial capablities" and if they think you need will call the so called social workers to find you to provide you with assistance... or find a "cheaper" medication for you lor...

so this type of money 天涯海角 will also get back from you want... you cant run away wan... even if really broke, they will ask you pay later or by installation or apply special help scheme or pay at least certain amount or something... or deduct from some asserts or something... u cant run away wan...

Balian

my dad pass on more than 10 years ago at SGH.

he had cancer n e bill also quite huge.

he had used up his cpf, n our little cpf as we were young then.

when he pass on, SGH keep calling us n send us letters.

we really cannot pay e bills... dont know how my sis settle it, in e end they never contact us anymore.

think they write off
hope ur sis didn't do stupid things

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.