Who waiting for Intel Alder Lake? (12900K is 39% faster than 5950X)

watzup_ken

Intel now also using TSMC liao.
Let's see.
Happy to see what Intel can bring to the table with TSMC, but this doesn't change anything about what I said. Your claim of cheating don't make sense. People look at the end product to determine how good the product is. Whether its TSMC 7nm or Intel 10nm is just one of the factors. You don't expect AMD to say, "Let us wait for Intel to move to 7nm before we introduce any 7nm product so that it will be fair competition". This is a downright silly thought. While this shows that you favour Intel, but again, is Intel paying you or providing some steep discount for your support? Go with what is best for you and your wallet.

FYI, I chose to use Intel processor for my main rig now. So I am not taking sides. It is factual that Intel failed to deliver their advance nodes on time, so can't blame others for overtaking.

Happy to see what Intel can bring to the table with TSMC, but this doesn't change anything about what I said. Your claim of cheating don't make sense. People look at the end product to determine how good the product is. Whether its TSMC 7nm or Intel 10nm is just one of the factors. You don't expect AMD to say, "Let us wait for Intel to move to 7nm before we introduce any 7nm product so that it will be fair competition". This is a downright silly thought. While this shows that you favour Intel, but again, is Intel paying you or providing some steep discount for your support? Go with what is best for you and your wallet.

FYI, I chose to use Intel processor for my main rig now. So I am not taking sides. It is factual that Intel failed to deliver their advance nodes on time, so can't blame others for overtaking.

why so emo?
i am using AMD Ryzen 7 because they are value for money.
the only Intel CPU i have atm is my old i5-3470 that my old man is using.
Intel has been known to be leading the IPC race all along while AMD has to rely on going lower nm to catch up with Intel.
with Intel going lower nm beating AMD is pretty much expected.

NightRaven49

Intel has been known to be leading the IPC race all along while AMD has to rely on going lower nm to catch up with Intel.
not really. as been mentioned before, nm is more of a marketing name rather than actual transistor length, and has been for quite a while now. a more comparable metric, which spawned nm as a metric in the first place, is transistor density. now intel is on their "10nm" process, which actually has slightly higher density than tsmc 7nm. but yet, with their mobile 11800h clocking the same as a 5900hx, still cant beat it in single thread performance. if u really want to talk about actual transistor size, intel 14nm+++ transistor is about the same size as tsmc 7nm transistor, but the 10900k is quite a bit slower the 5800x while clocking a little higher (5.1 vs 4.7) and the 11900k only just matches the 5800x while clocking higher still (5.3). saying that intel has "always led the ipc race" has not been true since zen 3 launch (some may argue since zen 2 even).

not really. as been mentioned before, nm is more of a marketing name rather than actual transistor length, and has been for quite a while now. a more comparable metric, which spawned nm as a metric in the first place, is transistor density. now intel is on their "10nm" process, which actually has slightly higher density than tsmc 7nm. but yet, with their mobile 11980hk clocking the same as a 5900hx, still cant beat it in single thread performance. if u really want to talk about actual transistor size, intel 14nm+++ transistor is about the same size as tsmc 7nm transistor, but the 10900k is quite a bit slower the 5800x while clocking a little higher (5.1 vs 4.7) and the 11900k only just matches the 5800x while clocking higher still (5.3). saying that intel has "always led the ipc race" has not been true since zen 3 launch (some may argue since zen 2 even).

honestly i don't really care lah.
whoever makes a good product in my price range i will buy from whoever.
competition benefits us consumers.
Intel getting back more competitive means AMD will have to price cut.

congster2

it's not AMD's fabrication technology
it's TSMC's
if Intel and AMD both use the same nm,
Intel will win.
You are on a roll here. Did I say it was AMD that advanced on its fab technology? They took a different approach by relying on foundaries and the bet paid off. Ahead means ahead. No such thing as if intel had done this and that, it would have been different. If shareholders bought that story, intel won't have sacked their last CEO. You need to analyse real results from a successful die shrink before changing architecture and shrinking further. Intel's delay in die shrink will cost them dearly. TSMC - do you think intel will treat them as a long term favored partner?

astones153

Dunno why theres so much cope over whos process better or who cheat who etc. All that matters is if Alder Lake does well and makes the 5600x/5800x look like scams at their current prices, AMD drops their prices and AM4 owners can upgrade for cheap.

KleoZy

hmm Adlerlake, I am waiting but not anticpanting. In my opinion, technology is just a tool,
use it while it's good, replace it while it catches it's age.

For some will just chase after IT, sell off their PC components 2 to 3 months before the next in thing.
I guess is an addiction or maybe it's part of sport or hobby.

hmm am just saying, why not just make full use of it. Once depreciated, grab an build a new pc?
Example, now is 16 core 32 thread, 5 years down the road.. maybe 48 cores 96 threads. Maybe it will be at 3nm or even smaller or PC totally replace by other more versitle mobile parts.. example, last time we have palm pilots.. now smart phones lol.

Instead of wasting so much time, effort and money, why not do some investment or to do some short term down payment insurance investment to earn interest. by the time ended, you might gain additional allowance to build a better PC.

wwenze

After touching AMD since Ryzen 1000, a bit hard to go back to intel as their practices are less consumer friendly and have a strong tendency to exploit their advantages.

If Intel can do what AMD is doing, I might reconsider. Every gen upgrade should have significant gains and still allow users to continue using their existing motherboard. Their prices should also be competitive, knowing Intel they probably looking to price it at MSRP of $999? :)

There is no point being a die hard loyal fan of either brand.

Sometimes, I don't know why there are these die hard loyal fans refusing to use another brand product when it's already proven cheaper and better. It's really cringeworthy especially when DIY is all about customizability and performance, people should be more logic.

After using 5600G, took me only 1 month to want to go back to Intel

1) Mouse freezes during game and in Windows
2) Random game crashes
3) H727 capture card freezes the system until need to remove then can boot

Yes it gives nice benchmark numbers and doesn't sound like a tornado, but what's the point if it is unusable?

2) Random game crashes

Yes it gives nice benchmark numbers and doesn't sound like a tornado, but what's the point if it is unusable?

iGPU issues?
moi tan gu gu for black friday for 5700G to use with discrete GPU.

KleoZy

2) Random game crashes

maybe you can try this?

wwenze

maybe you can try this?

My BIOS has way more things to set than his lor. :)

And among the things he mentioned, I noticed this mouse freeze only after 19th Sep after I installed the AMD chipset drivers which includes the PSP, chipset and Power management drivers. Unfortunately system restore did not fix it, so what I can only suggest users is, if it ain't broke, don't "fix"it.

As for the H727, that one is simply FUBAR. Did some DOE, and confirmed that it crashes the moment device driver is loaded. Even when during the spinning circle. :)

My BIOS has way more things to set than his lor. :)

And among the things he mentioned, I noticed this mouse freeze only after 19th Sep after I installed the AMD chipset drivers which includes the PSP, chipset and Power management drivers. Unfortunately system restore did not fix it, so what I can only suggest users is, if it ain't broke, don't "fix"it.

As for the H727, that one is simply FUBAR. Did some DOE, and confirmed that it crashes the moment device driver is loaded. Even when during the spinning circle. :)

you can tan gu gu for driver update fix now.

I was once an Intel fan very long time ago. Being a hardcore fan and go blindly overboard can sometime post a threat to technology advancement. At the end of the day, they might not even know they are actually restricted themselves and all users from getting faster and better tech they can have down the road. In technology advancement competitive race which benefit us consumer, it's better to have both or more competitors with about the same balance of revenue, assets and free cash flow to push the tech innovation faster.

watzup_ken

why so emo?
i am using AMD Ryzen 7 because they are value for money.
the only Intel CPU i have atm is my old i5-3470 that my old man is using.
with Intel going lower nm beating AMD is pretty much expected.
Its funny when you say I am emo when you are calling AMD cheating because they are using lower number NM and Intel will beat them with the same fab.

I am just pointing out the obvious to you that people don't care which NM you are using as long as you deliver a good product that is competitive. Case in point, AMD vs Nvidia where most people still prefer Nvidia despite the supposed 8nm (basically a refined 10nm) from Samsung.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.