Is Taekwondo more recognize by SAF and SPF?

starry_starry_night

As you can see, SAF even have a taekwondo badge for it while no such badge cater to other forms of martial arts.

Why ah? Why don't have MMA badge, muay thai badge or Krav Maga badge?

stars8

i oso dun understand.... u mean in battlefield got spinning kicks or flying back kicks?

starry_starry_night

i oso dun understand.... u mean in battlefield got spinning kicks or flying back kicks?
I watch tvb 機場特警 ASU they learnt Krav Maga which is quite an effective skills that if I'm not wrong US amdk also using.

Don't know why for us we focus is not on Krav Maga leh. I think muay thai, 詠春, 洪拳 and 八極拳 also bettter than taekwondo. 八極拳 practiced by presidential guards and vip protection in taiwan since 蔣介石 era if I'm not wrong.. As for muay thai last time thai soldiers were trained in it since ancient times one leh, very effective too.

Ethan_

I watch tvb 機場特警 ASU they learnt Krav Maga which is quite an effective skills that if I'm not wrong US amdk also using.

Don't know why for us out focus is not on Krav Maga leh. I think muay thai, 詠春, 洪拳 and 八極拳 also bettter than taekwondo. 八極拳 practiced by presidential guards and vip protection in taiwan since 蔣介石 era if I'm not wrong.. As for muay thai last time thai soldiers were trained in it since ancient times one leh, very effective too.
What about 军体拳, think its a modification from several fighting styles to suit modern combat situation?

ishtarsg

SAF Taekwondo is for keep fit only. To maintain fit figure to serve enemy ghey soldiers.

zoomzoom1

Watch too much kungfu hustle le. Think fists and kicks can beat guns :ROFLMAO:

British_Bulldog

all these taekwondo or any other martial arts all wayang one le.

during my younger days when we get into fights they all many pattern but still kena KOed.

fascist

think its a legacy thing as SAF did tkd as a close combat skill long ago.

SAF is not really known as an organisation which is transformative, you know? many of the things they do didnt make sense for many years, like the inconsistency of their platoon level drills taught at various schools.

and for a long time, they had this BCCT ICCT ACCT bs that occur over a few weeks and don't teach real close combat skills - just a check box in the soldiers' file.

starry_starry_night

think its a legacy thing as SAF did tkd as a close combat skill long ago.

SAF is not really known as an organisation which is transformative, you know? many of the things they do didnt make sense for many years, like the inconsistency of their platoon level drills taught at various schools.

and for a long time, they had this BCCT ICCT ACCT bs that occur over a few weeks and don't teach real close combat skills - just a check box in the soldiers' file.
How come is a legacy thing? Here not Korea leh...

But I do agree with you the bcct thing, lmao wasting time one. How much emphasis and effectiveness is there to ensure all recruits learnt it properly and master fully? Walan eh, I think that 閃電五連鞭 probably better choice at least it's entertaining :s13:

busfreaks

The most recognised is 2.4km run and shuttle run. See how fast they run during the riot

theMKR

moi remember rast time moi platoon, they recuiting ppl who have martial arts backgnd...

moi say moi got wrestling background. then during spar moi shout very loud, the instructors very impressed :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.