Whatsapp incoming message notification

princessreiko

Anyone noticing that lately some incoming messages do not trigger any notification, it will only be shown when the app is opened?

Missing important messages can be quite a headache.
Ya, it is quite crazy.
But what drives me nuts is that although I mute group notifications, if someone in the group quotes my message and replies to it, the notification will sound!
Using xiaomi.

AUTUMN&WINTER

Anyone noticing that lately some incoming messages do not trigger any notification, it will only be shown when the app is opened?

Mine has been like that for a long time. I prefer it this way. I don't like to see the notifications, very annoying. So far, won't miss messages even without the notifications.

kuti-kuti

noticed 2 or more years ago. u dun get the alert until u check yr hp

r3f3r3e

U all got link to web WhatsApp? Cuz it happened to me. Can go check out the solution online

savoirex

dun habe reh. maybe cos moi is premium tier user...
just joking :s13:

kuti-kuti

Now still having the same issue?

Seems like more people are getting this symptom.
quite common. dailyin fact, abt 1 in 5 sms i shld say. i pick up hp and press the wake up button and whatsapp notification then sound out. my hp always not in data saving mode coz my sim plan is much more data tat i can use in a month

rottingapple

yes. only when activate phone, then messages will appear. it doesnt notify anymore.

kuti-kuti

saw in whatsapp FAQ for tis problem years ago. they only suggested it is the hp data saving mode on. please lah....

psytxtbk4exam

Onr hours 70+ messages from the wotkplace group chat, already numb to incoming notifications

Justin_T

Same woh, my iPhone also latdat. Sometimes no notification until I open the app then see got new msg.

restarting the phone sorta of provide a temporary fix but a few days later the same thing happen again

kuti-kuti

Same woh, my iPhone also latdat. Sometimes no notification until I open the app then see got new msg.

restarting the phone sorta of provide a temporary fix but a few days later the same thing happen again
so it seems very likely a bug. amazing thing is tis problem isnt new. been like tat for more than 2,3 years at least

Justin_T

so it seems very likely a bug. amazing thing is tis problem isnt new. been like tat for more than 2,3 years at least

not sure leh but I only recently start experiencing this problem.

Bobian have to make it a habit to check my WhatsApp occasionally

A-No-Ne

i thought it's just me, has been a while. cause me to constantly check my phone these days.

inmyopinion

I heard iPhone also kanna. Not me though.
No notifications unless u open the WhatsApp to check whether u receive any messages

I helped one person fixed before. On iOS.

The situation:
1) Whatsapp notifications does not appear. User does not know if anyone sends him/her any Whatsapp messgaes.
2) Only way is to launch Whatsapp apps, then can see someone sends him/her a Whatsapp message.
3) Reboot. Doesnt work. Reset network settings. Doesnt work. Check system notification settings and whatsapp notifications settings - follow a working iPhone. Still doesn't work.

Only by doing this:

Whatsapp - Settings - Privacy .
Change 'Last Seen" from "Nobody'" to "My Contacts". It works . But when i try to simulate the issue again, by switching back to "Nobody', it's back to normal. Can't simulate/duplicate the problem. It continues to work.

Other settings under "Privacy settings":
You can also change "Profile Photo" to Everyone
About "My Contacts"
Groups "My Contacts"
Status "My Contacts"

lao3hero

I helped one person fixed before. On iOS.
The situation:
1) Whatsapp notifications does not appear. User does not know if anyone sends him/her any Whatsapp messgaes.
2) Only way is to launch Whatsapp apps, then can see someone sends him/her a Whatsapp message.
3) Reboot. Doesnt work. Reset network settings. Doesnt work. Check system notification settings and whatsapp notifications settings - follow a working iPhone. Still doesn't work.
Only by doing this:
Whatsapp - Settings - Privacy .
Change '
Last Seen
" from "
Nobody
'" to "
My Contacts
". It works . But when i try to simulate the issue again, by switching back to "Nobody', it's back to normal. Can't simulate/duplicate the problem. It continues to work.
Other settings under "Privacy settings":
You can also change "Profile Photo" to Everyone
About "My Contacts"
Groups "My Contacts"
Status "My Contacts"

" back to normal" means what? just to be sure I understood correctly wat u intended to mean, thx bro

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.