How HDB dwellers upgrade to condo without selling flat first ?

Broadwalk

You all know I study RES course, so I have this question in mind. :o
Now the ABSD has increased to 17% for 2nd property for Singapore citizens. :o

So, when you all HDB dwellers want to upgrade to EC, condo or landed, you guys will charged with ABSD. :o But ABSD for a condo let say on average is 1.5mil will be 255k onwards. :o

My question is how you HDB dwellers manage to cough out so much money for ABSD and seeking remission or you guys have to sell first then look for condo huh? :o How is this ABSD influence your decision and approach in upgrading your home? :o

Ideasmiths

Bridging loan interest rate is hefty. :o The 17% ABSD is really a knocker, isn't it? :o
hefty? I got 1x indo colleague last time bought 1x condo at Redhill MRT area at $800K, after 3 months sold for 1.2 million. She has never seen so much $ in so short time....

theMKR

So, when you all HDB dwellers want to upgrade to EC, condo or landed, you guys will charged with ABSD. :o But ABSD for a condo let say on average is 1.5mil will be 255k onwards. :o

My question is how you HDB dwellers manage to cough out so much money for ABSD and seeking remission or you guys have to sell first then look for condo huh? :o How is this ABSD influence your decision and approach in upgrading your home? :o
rent out the hdb 5k per mth.

60k a year, in 5 years ur absd recover liao. the condo havnt even build finish

ramlee

一萬幾千
過眼雲烟

so no such problem :(

suzukaze

hefty? I got 1x indo colleague last time bought 1x condo at Redhill at $800K, after 3 months sold for 1.2 million. She has never seen so much $ in so short time....
After 3 mths sold for 1.2m, pay ABSD SSD etc still got much profit left?

Broadwalk

hefty? I got 1x indo colleague last time bought 1x condo at Redhill MRT area at $800K, after 3 months sold for 1.2 million. She has never seen so much $ in so short time....
Your colleague no need pay ABSD for foreigners? :o Your indo colleague no need pay SSD penalty? :o

ninefile

remission
sell within 6 months
can recover ABSD
if they buy as a couple

Broadwalk

remission
sell within 6 months
can recover ABSD
if they buy as a couple
If Single BBFA like me how? :o For couple having remission they still need to pay the ABSD upfront. :o Now where can they get that amount unless they sell off their 1st unit flat or condo first? :o This is challenging. :o

Prismatic

Where to find ABSD money cashflow? :o That's my question and curiosity. :o 17% of 1.5mil is already 225k. :o It is almost a flat price. :o

If Single BBFA like me how? :o For couple having remission they still need to pay the ABSD upfront. :o Now where can they get that amount unless they sell off their 1st unit flat or condo first? :o This is challenging. :o

Simple answer is, find a job that gives you enough cashflow loh. Something like EDWM standard, 20K per month can liao. Plus a few month bonus, 1/2 years can liao.

Ideasmiths

6 months bridging loan lor.....

civicguy

If Single BBFA like me how?
redface.gif

For couple having remission they still need to pay the ABSD upfront.
redface.gif

Now where can they get that amount unless they sell off their 1st unit flat or condo first?
redface.gif

This is challenging.
redface.gif

they have CPF after setting aside enough BSD. this is usually when they are pay for their cheaper HDB flat by cash all the time

they have cash because they are not spendthrift

their agents help them calculate on how to make back the ABSD with rental income from HDB

you must learn how to sell in such situations

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.