Kaplan JSKM, Computer Science degree 16 months, diploma 8 months to complete.

PetKat

education is not about years. if thats the case psle is more valuable than masters.

its about the level (which is also the specialisation and difficulty) and also probably how rigorous the degree is and your grades.

PetKat

aboh

NTU dont care where ur begree is from, or else how u think they allow those talents into their programs with their chapati paper

unis also has many professors with less known undergrad bachelors, some maybe dont even have bachelors.

dont take away their masters and phd academic achievements though, which are a higher level and much more difficult than bachelors for sure.

even if you go to work, many ppl also probably wont have relevant degrees even much less whatever uni degree...eg u see those literature or europe studies ppl doing IT or HR ...zz

ninjaghost

only if the candidate has solid basics of SWE... the certificate does not matter as much, more important is if they are willing to learn and have a solid foundation to build upon

edit: but HR most likely will lowball them :ROFLMAO:

This is so hard truth. Last time got meet a candidate from local U one. He say the HR only offer 2.8k for Jr. SWE role, the reason ish no experience........

Tony.Manero

By 2nd job or 3rd jod, nobody cares if your degree is kaplan, nus or ntu. :vijayadmin:
So those who keep saying they are paid a lot after graduating just end up losing their jods at 40 a lot easier.

Phen8210

https://sg.linkedin.com/in/shawn-ng-ci-en-560031ab
https://sg.linkedin.com/in/wei-liang-kee-98445312b
https://sg.linkedin.com/in/shae-goh
Mudoruch uni from kaplan can get in GovTech and Dell as software engineer and system engineer. Not bad nia. Saw in linkedin link

Yeah, but u see their profile.

The 1st one was from Singapore poly for 3 years then go private uni, not a 2-year Kaplan diploma + degree.
The 2nd one comes out of Kaplan, doing some technician work, after 3 years then joining gov tech.
The 3rd one had 8+ years of work experience beforehand before entering Kaplan.

Besides, if you search and look for it of course you will find people that graduated from there :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

SmallQuietDog

Kaplan style is to cramp everything together. You get six terms in a year instead of the standard 4 semesters. As a trade off, you lose lots of holidays and internship opportunity.

Phen8210

Kaplan style is to cramp everything together. You get six terms in a year instead of the standard 4 semesters. As a trade off, you lose lots of holidays and internship opportunity.

No, that doesn't justify it.

Local Poly takes 3 years, degree takes 3 or 4 years.

If you minus 2 years due to holiday plus internship from 6 or 7, it's still 4 or 5.

Besides, how can a person that did 8-month diploma qualify for a 12-month discount when taking a degree :ROFLMAO:

SmallQuietDog

If you minus 2 years due to holiday plus internship from 6 or 7, it's still 4 or 5.

Besides, how can a person that did 8-month diploma qualify for a 12-month discount when taking a degree :ROFLMAO:
There's a reason why kaplan is well known for its business degree but not its engineering degree...

PetKat

degree is measure knowledge not time.

u can pass they give u lor.

u want to finish in 1 year a phd also can, some ppl do before, i know a few who who took 1-2 years. insead mba is only 10 months, maybe u zai u can 6 mths? i guarantee they will make u puke with their workload. cambridge bachelors u wanna grad in 1.5-2 years also can.

go try lor, see if it is fun and easy as you think it is.

PetKat

NTU will allow this?

frankly u dont even need a bachelors to do a masters. you also dont need high school to do bachelors.

u also dont need psle to take o levels or a levels.

u can enter and try but whether u can pass or say do well or not is another problem right?

HustlerKing

Edmw idiots seriously have to learn hard truths in life. What's the use of getting local degrees when Uptron grads pwn you easily, you think local degree means big ****? Lmfao

PetKat

Edmw idiots seriously have to learn hard truths in life. What's the use of getting local degrees when Uptron grads pwn you easily, you think local degree means big ****? Lmfao
talk is cheap and free.

go try lor. who knows maybe work hard + u really genius no need bachelors degree can finish masters in 6m with straight As and then phd in 1 year and then nobel prize in 5 years

fishbuff

use it to emigrate!

stop thinking about living on in sg. with ceca invasion, even if you have harvard degree also lose out to the ceca

HumJiBeng

ask those ppty and insurance agents who went SIM to study business ... all thought can be investment banker/trader.... tt hype train lasted quite long sia... didnt think i would ever see the end of it...
Just want degree to their name. Sales ppl need it. Looks atas.

Like bank RM sales job. The job ads might state "degree in any major". U bo degree, ji tao resume in rubbish bin liao. So ppl take these easy degree - general business, marketing kind just to pass the degree requirements.

Don't think there was ever a hype. Just convenient for ppl who need a degree, regardless of major, to get the job. Business is among the easiest degree.

HumJiBeng

Yeah, but u see their profile.

The 1st one was from Singapore poly for 3 years then go private uni, not a 2-year Kaplan diploma + degree.
The 2nd one comes out of Kaplan, doing some technician work, after 3 years then joining gov tech.
The 3rd one had 8+ years of work experience beforehand before entering Kaplan.

Besides, if you search and look for it of course you will find people that graduated from there :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
Lol. The 2nd one join big4 Deloitte after finishing kaplan. What some technician work?

Doesn't change the fact their degree is useful for them to find jobs. Sure it is not as good as local uni. U won't find kaplan grads in top tier such as Google. But their cert hardly toilet paper when there is total lack of tech talents nowadays

But U are too focused on duration of the course.

CPA accounting exam. Some can take 10 years to pass, some can take 1.5 years pass liao. The 10 years one more zai?

Ite 3 years study engineering => poly 3 years engineering => local uni 4 years engineering more zai than a JC => 4 years uni? Since the ite kia study 10 years engineering liao, JC kia only study 4 years engineering

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.