Anyone working in dubai?

samloi

Anyone worked there for extended time or not? Like 3-5years stint. I have been there a few times fro a week or 2 everytime so difficult to gauge how it is like living there as a sinkie.

might have an offer coming in from dubai and thinking of making the switch.
More $$$ and non-existence tax seems enticing.

SDM1974

Make sure they pay for accommodation. Rent is bloody expensive in Dubai.

PetKat

its third world right?

they spin spin a lot but u see the air is all sand and dust...the laws there also...zz

mostly go for money nia...earn and leave...but i think the quality of life is better than say thailand or china ?

at least u can get clean food, water, etc

samloi

Make sure they pay for accommodation. Rent is bloody expensive in Dubai.
the system there is a little bit different.
Your celery includes the allowance for rental and car.

Have a colleague already there. paying 1.8k for a nice apartment in posh area

Nuvole

Everything other than car and petrol are expensive.
Drinking water and entertainment stuff are rocket high priced.
If TS still young and the pay is good, go for it lah.
Sinkieland no future :-(

TS mind share with trade.

samloi

Everything other than car and petrol are expensive.
Drinking water and entertainment stuff are rocket high priced.
If TS still young and the pay is good, go for it lah.
Sinkieland no future :-(

TS mind share with trade.
marine OEM specialist.
adchili based in OZ for the past 5years. but recent management change make me very unhappy.......
I adchili move to OZ partly in order to siam this management(less cash in hand overall but happy).
Now old management wanna take back so LLST.....less cash same shiat, so no thank you.

Happened that branch in Dubai(different managment) looking for position that i may fit so thinking of jumping over there

Ethan_

Not expert but think usually can go there work one pay and benefits should be very attractive. Just go for the money can.

Think recently got saw forum got posting there going for shorter work week or something. If true, think even more worth to try bah. :s22:

peqasus

Go there for money Nia. Besides Ur accom n transport, hv to factor in cost of living, hardship fee aka no prostitution no alcohol no bak kut teh no low cut to bio, yrly return flights, bonuses etc. And pls bargain with Ur employer cpf factored in. If staying alone find apartment can Liao. Expat compounds r ex.

Nuvole

marine OEM specialist.
adchili based in OZ for the past 5years. but recent management change make me very unhappy.......
I adchili move to OZ partly in order to siam this management(less cash in hand overall but happy).
Now old management wanna take back so LLST.....less cash same shiat, so no thank you.

Happened that branch in Dubai(different managment) looking for position that i may fit so thinking of jumping over there

If u single dun tink so much lah.
Marine marnee, take as many as possible when u young.
Moi seadog, job in sg mostly taken by tiong, moi still work offshore.

Dun spent too much (moi mistake) on entertainment, 5-6 years of suffering then back sinkieland u okay liao.

PetKat

marine OEM specialist.

u shld move what

dunno if dubai is livable but if it is kind of livable then just go earn money come back lor

ur job not like u have a lot of choices anyway

Nuvole

is it true u cannot buy alcohol in dubai? not even in hotel?

wif marnee, one can get anything u wan in dubai! alcohol,drugs, russian, atb, guns...
Its a very young city, wif loads of prospect. Local there rarely need to work due to that they have loads of oil marnee :ROFLMAO:

PetKat

wif marnee, one can get anything u wan in dubai! alcohol,drugs, russian, atb, guns...
Its a very young city, wif loads of prospect. Local there rarely need to work due to that they have loads of oil marnee :ROFLMAO:
Getting alcohol drugs in Dubai doesnt strike me as anyway near a smart idea...actually it's a dumb idea in any country

Just make money and play by their rules

....so ur hand doesn't get chopped or ...

50 degrees in the day.. nobody really does anything between 10 to 3..

gahmen open 7:30 to 2:30

50 degrees in the day.. nobody does anything between 10 to
it's called coloured water when the locals drink it

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.