Why is SG building so many MRT station?

goldnut

I only remember during my science subject in sec school, with more public transport accessible it help to reduce the greenhouse gases and reduce air pollution and global warming.

Lower population is better to reduce air pollution and global warming.

PapaWith3Kids

To improve efficiency for the workforce. I take public transport to work. The time taken is shorter and less stress than driving. To me, it’s fantastic.

Firstclass1188

So that they can sell low value land and HDBs at record prices once they put an MRT in the location.

Quala98

So that can sell the land around the station to condo developers.

Selling land, build condo then sell condo. All these activities will encourage gdp growth.

testerjp

MRT building has a cost.

But u aware that after the building is built, the valuation of the land increases around and on it?
The demand and price for these land skyrocket.
So there are kickbacks later on.
Caldecott mrt is sitting on a grass patch.

MRT u pay, profit they take. :(

Optrex

to help the FT to travel around easily just like how we allowed a PR-PR couple buy a public flat
in the end, sinkies pay the long term cost after these ppl rip the fruits

Angmoh_TuaKi

MRT building has a cost.
But u aware that after the building is built, the valuation of the land increases around and on it?
The demand and price for these land skyrocket.
So there are kickbacks later on.
Caldecott mrt is sitting on a grass patch.
MRT u pay, profit they take.
:(

i dont give a crap about land value lah!

tomasulu

Mrt frees up surface land that will otherwise be needed for roads and highways. It’s a greener, quieter, faster and less polluted mode of travel. What’s not to like?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.