The OTPs may have been intercepted by malware on victims' phones, or were diverted to overseas telcos that had been hacked, say cybersecurity experts.

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

boh_liao

"If in doubt, they should call the OCBC hotline on 6363-3333 and not any numbers cited in an SMS.... "

Thought those ppl called but the bank staff took a long time to react not knowing what to do?

jack-320

giphy.gif

Level42

I’ve been really curious how the scammers mapped the ID to the mobile number for these cases.

1) Did the victim key in mobile number at the phishing site?
2) Was the mobile number embedded in the phishing URL?
3) OCBC website displays the info just with ID/password
4) The scammers just know. :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO: Serious implication here.

XiaoJinLing

Now I very very seldom use, I mean send out SMS due to no free from starhub... 5cents per SMS... so mayb jus dun use any sms/top from now

ODACHEK

Problem is with app payments, especially PayLah And PayNow....these payments no need OTP.

All in a Day

Why everybody talking abt intercepted sms otp…

in 1st place is it confirmed the process flow required sms otp to transfer $ out?

Iirc, if use paynow may not have additional sms otp requirement…

sanzhu

Cyber security village chief already said she almost got phished

Leeser mortals would be unable

sanzhu

I’ve been really curious how the scammers mapped the ID to the mobile number for these cases.

1) Did the victim key in mobile number at the phishing site?
2) Was the mobile number embedded in the phishing URL?
3) OCBC website displays the info just with ID/password
4) The scammers just know. :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO: Serious implication here.
Scamners already downloaded the hp number during the NRIC hp leaked by our

jinmuddy

Wow till now these experts still cannot figure out where is the loophole?

just wow.

testerjp

I've bit defender for phone, don't know works for this nonsense or not. :o

SmallQuietDog

Lol blame malware. Very funny sia. If really malware issues, then how come only ocbc kena so big?

Stupid explaination.

LoUsyGamER

boh lang install antivirus in phone mah

even if got antivirus , also dunno it will detect and stop the malware or not
Pay $$ for mobile antivirus.

Prefer us Google authenticator to log in. Solve my email hacking issues.

Vegitto

Sim card cloner can buy from ebay. Taobao may also have. Wanted to get one to back up my sim. Only a few dollars.

Sim card cloner requires the original sim card physically to clone a new one, those overseas scammers how to clone?
Unless is e-sim....................

Vegitto

Pay $$ for mobile antivirus.

Prefer us Google authenticator to log in. Solve my email hacking issues.

If phone died suddenly, its a bit troublesome to 'replace' your google authenticator on a new phone as you cannot access to the old one
And not every app/place accept google authenticator as otp

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.