Anyone felt let down by your kids?

Sammychan

Like they disappoint you with their actions. For eg ang kong siao or always get into trouble or not nice to you or chao kuan character. And felt like bo bian still your own flesh and blood and have to accept him/her but deep insai really think he is a disgrace and if you had knew you rather abort the pregnancy.

Kaylin

only ppl who got no boundaries will think this way, coz they cannot differentiate between their prob and other ppl's prob. they dunno their line vs other ppl's line.

makann

the tiong old man who drank disinfectant just coz the son no gf?

Tsoukalos

Like they disappoint you with their actions. For eg ang kong siao or always get into trouble or not nice to you or chao kuan character. And felt like bo bian still your own flesh and blood and have to accept him/her but deep insai really think he is a disgrace and if you had knew you rather abort the pregnancy.
no need look far. i see my own sibling liao dulan

Sammychan

only ppl who got no boundaries will think this way, coz they cannot differentiate between their prob and other ppl's prob. they dunno their line vs other ppl's line.
For eg Amos Yee. You know how the mum feel. Reading all the Amos news. She supported him so much but yet still cannot escape jail. She has literally no face to face the world.

Sammychan

For eg Amos Yee. You know how the mum feel. Reading all the Amos news. She supported him so much but yet still cannot escape jail. She has literally no face to face the world.
Like backed a horse that came last in the race but it's your own flesh and blood. You don't back him back who? Yet the more you backed the more disappointment there is.

Kaylin

Can elaborate bro?
it means u need to understand that your kids are individual ppl with their own set of thinking, opinion, wishes, feelings. in the 1st place, dont mistake your wishes as their wishes. just because parents never go uni or become rich themselves for eg, then they project that wish onto the kids and hope the kids will fulfil it. but in life nobody owes nobody anything.

in short, your wishes for other ppl is YOUR prob, whether other ppl want to fulfil this wish is THEIR prob. dont confuse the two. i get that asians esp chinese love to be enmeshed with each other, like yr prob becomes my prob. its very unhealthy leh. it becomes codependent liao rather than independent.

Kaylin

so this is something she has to deal with herself lor. why would she have no "face" because 面子 this sort of thing is ownself impose one. imagine if you stop caring so much abt 面子 and what other ppl think abt u, how much freedom will you be able to attain in the end. alot of probs in life is not other ppl give one but yrself. as they say we're our own worst enemy.

Sammychan

it means u need to understand that your kids are individual ppl with their own set of thinking, opinion, wishes, feelings. in the 1st place, dont mistake your wishes as their wishes. just because parents never go uni or become rich themselves for eg, then they project that wish onto the kids and hope the kids will fulfil it. but in life nobody owes nobody anything.

in short, your wishes for other ppl is YOUR prob, whether other ppl want to fulfil this wish is THEIR prob. dont confuse the two. i get that asians esp chinese love to be enmeshed with each other, like yr prob becomes my prob. its very unhealthy leh. it becomes codependent liao rather than independent.
Bro still

If kid keep out letting you down how?'

Sammychan

so this is something she has to deal with herself lor. why would she have no "face" because 面子 this sort of thing is ownself impose one. imagine if you stop caring so much abt 面子 and what other ppl think abt u, how much freedom will you be able to attain in the end. alot of probs in life is not other ppl give one but yrself. as they say we're our own worst enemy.
True about the face. All in our mind.

Keng see

Depnds on what's your line, as long children don't cross that line and is not doing 伤天害理 things, should be ok?

I admit as children we may not be the perfect child, like get A in school, get top in class. I also made my parents very disappointed when they found out that I'm smoking. Can never forget that disappointed look ever in my life, so I decide to quit (was never "addicted" to it yet) for the sake of them.

But I do care for my parents in different ways. And as Asians sometimes we tend not to show our love to parents out loud la

As we grow older, I guess we as children will actually think from our parents POV, and try to understand why they do certain things.

Kaylin

Bro still

If kid keep out letting you down how?'
then change your mindset lor. you cannot control & change other ppl but u can change yrself. thats why life is abt doing inner work if u wanna grow and improve. its easier to point fingers for blaming others for disappointing us BUT at the end of the day, we're also part of the equation leh.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.