Everyone should know basic electricity stuff..... its common sense....

woshihock

more to that ma

if so easy the handyman tan bo jiak liao and safety come first

Clearnfc

yes... but do they know what is it for? unless someone tells them, if not they will just use it like normally....

Good thing is that both 13A and 15A plugs are different. So, if the person buy the wrong one, cannot use.

liplai2021

high ses one will go block lor :unsure:
It’s actually the ethos of this country set long long time back la - white collar, study a lot, good brains, aircon environment, high pay = higher class in caste system, blue collar, dumb a*s in schs, jialat/no brains, outdoor non aircon always sweaty, most importantly low pay = lower class in caste system.

Arshavin2015

Everyone should know basic electricity stuff..... At least know basic things like fuse, 3 colour coded wires, ampere, circuit breaker, types of plugs etc.....

This is not rocket science and super duper easy one leh.... Can save your life one day.

Me surprised that so many in this forum don't even know basic things like what is earth wire for, why water heaters should not use a standard 13A 3pin plug and why need different wire, why aircon plug is different from the usual one.
In singapore you need a certified electrican to handle electrical work

bh2148

Any electrical device used on a house wiring cir cuit can, under certain conditions, transmit a fatal current. While any amount of current over 10 milli- amperes (0.01 amp) is capable of producing painful to severe shock, currents between 100 and 200 milliamperes (0.1 to 0.2 amp) are lethal.
Don't play play hor, it's either you know or you don't know. You have to be aware of it's dangers and your responsibility..

Apex01

Some sinkies and older ppl wldnt be checking if their electrical equipments are safe or not.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
common knowledge?
pftt ...

might as well say, everyone should/must know how to swim

:spin:

like as if the subjects in school must be of everyone's interest? :look:

whysoserioushuh

Yeah!! But.... that 3 person dead case.... no breaker!! I was shocked... Huh? How come no breaker. The RCCB only for utility room....
illegal installation, there's a reason why to engage a certified electrician to do your works.

mp4005 help

I call it basic knowledge, common sense rather than interest. ITs like basic maths....

many things is basic knowledge.

you drive car, at least know need to service and check tyres , pump air and petrol ..

buy TV at least know the HDMI standards because of devices.

know how to change light bulbs , fix simple plumbing stuff , drill , etc.

many other things in life but people lazy rather tiktok , chase idols , enjoy life than learn basic life skills.

in school, while many subjects people will say waste time study , it is training your brain to be diverse. how you link things together is own ability. that is what separates good from mediocre people.

Apex01

Sinkies mentality is leave it to the professionals to fix the things,
i.e
Jhk/cecas/ah tiongs "experts"
🙄

DragonFire

not everyone know how to tell difference between 13A plug n 15A plug....

Ultimately the plug isn’t too important. The fuse and the wire itself is what matters, and is where more people slip up.

15A plugs are uncommon in the first place, and are generally unfused. 13A plugs have fuses, and the fuse determines what is safe for the equipment and wiring used. If lightweight 0.5mm2 wire is used with a 10A fuse, you can imagine there will be problems if the appliance draws over 2000W without the fuse going.

Generally speaking, Sinkies do not rank very high as far as DIY life skills are concerned.

BigMonkey

this Ts thread shows the same mentality he has on vaccine. TS you are no longer relavent cause you live in your in tiny world.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.