Yah. After a lot of thinking and with my 2xUPS coming and changing new aircon so might as well replace my 30+ year old ** box come with a SPDhah... finally decided to incorporate surge protection in your DB?
got one supplier electrical shop to recommend but can't remember the name, got branches in AMK and maybe West side Jurong. Most of the stuff can find from them.Yah. After a lot of thinking and with my 2xUPS coming and changing new aircon so might as well replace my 30+ year old ** box come with a SPD
can call Choo Chiang and ask +65 6368 5922Anyone know where to buy locally the
HAGER 40KA (or 60KA) Type 2 SPD for my new circuit breaker box? Electrician only supplies the HAGER 20KA model
Cannot find at RS online, Hardwarecity etc
Thanks again
I thought so too. Wonder why ev needs 3 phase. That brings about the question. I know it has zero emissions. But are EVs really green to the environment when it requires so much electricity to charge it. I think my in laws are also wondering if their electrical bills are gonna sky rocket later. Lol.For your case, you definitely a certified electrical company to install for you. I wouldn't call it common sense for your case No normal homes uses 3 phase and definitely no 15KW.
As far as EV chargers go...I thought so too. Wonder why ev needs 3 phase. That brings about the question. I know it has zero emissions. But are EVs really green to the environment when it requires so much electricity to charge it. I think my in laws are also wondering if their electrical bills are gonna sky rocket later. Lol.![]()
tip: buy from a brand which also helps you to install charging point in your home (most of the time is inclusive of the EV price).thank you! yes, you are very right. am helping my in laws as they are planning to buy an ev and would like to set up a charging point in their home. someone (c0ntractor) told us need to have 3 phase, minimally 15kw for fast charging setup. very expensive cos they need to also run extension to the garage area where they will place the isolator and stand alone charger or something. a lot of things man, and very expensive...![]()
this is call ignorant... even when working on 13A socket, its an SOP to switch off the mcb kia instead of the entire DB.you will be surprised, when I was running my F&B many years back, people have no idea the difference between a 13A, 15A and 30A and 60A socket, and wanted to do work on 60A without turning the DB off. the testpen exploded.
Wah thanks for sharing. Already returned all my electircal circuit theory already. Lol. Boy am I glad I'm no longer an engineer. Ha.As far as EV chargers go...
3ph delivers more watts to the appliance withouth needing crazy thick conductors. 5x4mm2 vs 3x10mm2.
The components in the charger also won't need to be crazy built to handle the current.
There is a world of difference between building a inverter that converts 21kw on one phase to DC amd 3 smaller 7kw convertors that do the same thing whilst sharing the conversion load.
There are different reasons for 3ph when talking motors. We won't go into that here tho.
The other reason is supply balancing. AC supply is inherently 3phase due to the way power is generated. You need to keep the phases relatively in balance to maintain efficiency. When you have an uber load on one phase in a commercial setting, it is often hard to keep the other phases in balance. Dividing up the load across the different phases keeps efficiency high, and electrical costs down. This is a non issue for the home setting as we do not get charged extra for phase imbalance. Commercial entities on the other hand do get charged.
Anyone know where to buy locally the
HAGER 40KA (or 60KA) Type 2 SPD for my new circuit breaker box? Electrician only supplies the HAGER 20KA model
Cannot find at RS online, Hardwarecity etc
Thanks again
Already checked. Lazada, Shopee etc carry HAGER products but don't have the model I want.You can search Lazada under "Hager". Was quite a PITA to find when I needed one last time. In the end, paid an electrician S$150 to buy and install.
Only realized later that Lazada carries Hager ....
Btw this is quite dangerous to DIY so suggest you leave it to an electrician.
So did you get the Type A RCD/RCCB?Crap you bring up a good point. I didn't specify Type A on my UPS AC DB. Siao liao if they kitted it all out with Type AC. Using a full set of RCBOs...
I an using Eaton xEffect RCBOs and xPole RCDs.So did you get the Type A RCD/RCCB?
If yes, what brand, model and where to get here?
I need this urgently also
Thanks
There are some chinese Type A RCCBs hereI an using Eaton xEffect RCBOs and xPole RCDs.
Unfortunately all are type AC. I will get the electrician to put a slower type A RCD unit in front of all the RCBOs on the UPS bus for DC leakage protection. The xEffect RCBOs cost over $300 each and replacing them outright would be madness.
These are a special order item. I got them through my main con's electrician.
part number RCD is PFIM-40/2/01
part number RCBO is FRBm6-B16/1N/01
Good info.Just bought a HAGER 40KA SPD from Precept at 48 Toh Guan Rd East
As for Type A RCD/RCCB
This item not being approved by the Singapore authorities yet. So if you buy it online and install then it's at your own risk. I doubt anybody here is carrying it now
For the moment I'll ask the electrician to install the Type AC (approved) RCD/RCCB first. Later when the Type A is being approved then upgrade lor