netflix/spotify account: how they really know the people sharing the bulk account is really under the same roof? They can check GPS and spy meh?

Soracak

Thing is, u dun want to pay for their service they can't force u, but others will and that is good enough for them.

EJB

You sign up liao only use at home meh?

So you buy car liao is drive in home MSCP and not go out la?

firesong

IP address is good enough.

They know what residential IP addresses are (cos it can be checked). They just need to see that devices regularly share the same broadband IP address to know that they're from the same home. Even if it's just 5 times a week, it's a reasonable enough assumption to see all accounts are from the same home. They all have a common home broadband IP that shows up regularly enough.

When 6 users all log in from 6 different domestic IP addresses concurrently and the IP addresses never coincide, it's very easy to tell they're not from the same home. :s13: It's even more blatant when users VPN to overseas accounts, especially during Covid when travel was severely limited - just think about it: "how come 2 users of a family account are in the USA while the other 4 are in Singapore from 4 different broadband accounts?"

It's actually easy enough for them to tighten the controls in future if they desire. Just filter by username (the same email address is used for a family account), cross check with the different IP addresses, and then sort by IP addresses to see how many logins. They can run scripts to identify users and then decide on what to do after that.

GundamG

they dun check, as long the limit concurrent users do not exceed. They have faith in their product so after sharing and sharing, more people will sign up.

keenklee

IMHO.
It's ok for those who boycott if they want to be left out.
Netflix has already charged a premium for HD and UltraHD and factor in 4 users.

Balian

seems like netflix doesnt enforce it as strictly as spotify

zeroX26

yes.. still works for netflix
but surprising for spotify family got logged out

anyone experiencing the same for spotify?
Seems to be random. SO got locked out of her lao bu's account but mine is still fine. Am sharing with a friend who lives about 8km away.

Sillyporeboy

IP address is good enough.

They know what residential IP addresses are (cos it can be checked). They just need to see that devices regularly share the same broadband IP address to know that they're from the same home. Even if it's just 5 times a week, it's a reasonable enough assumption to see all accounts are from the same home. They all have a common home broadband IP that shows up regularly enough.

When 6 users all log in from 6 different domestic IP addresses concurrently and the IP addresses never coincide, it's very easy to tell they're not from the same home. :s13: It's even more blatant when users VPN to overseas accounts, especially during Covid when travel was severely limited - just think about it: "how come 2 users of a family account are in the USA while the other 4 are in Singapore from 4 different broadband accounts?"

It's actually easy enough for them to tighten the controls in future if they desire. Just filter by username (the same email address is used for a family account), cross check with the different IP addresses, and then sort by IP addresses to see how many logins. They can run scripts to identify users and then decide on what to do after that.
Very detailed explanation.

Elnoxv

Here is how it works:
1. If you used TV, they will ask you to confirm which TV is the main one from there, they just need to log your IP linked to that TP. (this will be the main IP).
2. If you frequently travel but you have at least connected once to the IP belonging to the Main TV every few weeks than you are considered a house hold members.

This means if you never visit the house which the main IP is residing in a month, you are probably not from the same house hold.

What if you don't use TV?
I presumed they can't do anything for now if you fall under this scenarios.

Note: it doesn't matter if you are using dynamic IP because what they need to do is only to record the main IP changes detected in the TV.

swenson

yes.. still works for netflix
but surprising for spotify family got logged out

anyone experiencing the same for spotify?
For me netflix straight away detect different household.

Spotify child account was logged out when i failed to verify address after a fixed period of time

Here is how it works:
1. If you used TV, they will ask you to confirm which TV is the main one from there, they just need to log your IP linked to that TP. (this will be the main IP).
2. If you frequently travel but you have at least connected once to the IP belonging to the Main TV every few weeks than you are considered a house hold members.

This means if you never visit the house which the main IP is residing in a month, you are probably not from the same house hold.

What if you don't use TV?
I presumed they can't do anything for now if you fall under this scenarios.

Note: it doesn't matter if you are using dynamic IP because what they need to do is only to record the main IP changes detected in the TV.
How they know whether the device is a TV or not? Running Android only mah

Elnoxv

How they know whether the device is a TV or not? Running Android only mah
They have built the app for multiple devices. The app itself can be used to identify the device. E.g. If the app is built for TV, or the app you have downloaded is for Android TV. Or the app is run from Apple TV. They will know.

if they cannot find it, they will use the operation system provided device identity string. (Which most legal and know devices should have )

s3nt1n3l

I am using my brother account and got logged out last week from my Android TV

but phone one still okay so I used that to cast to the tv and suddenly it's back on my TV :s13:

not sure what's going on but not complaining

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.