Which Direction Will Property Prices Go ?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

diminishin

nowadays strawberry generation very demanding one, no hybrid or wfh they quit liao..now they want work life balance, yolo and high pay, dont mind to rent instead of buy. Very vocal and wont accept whatever 996 unlike the older gen last time..
Cannot say like that... It's not because we don't want to work 996, is because our wives also working so the man is expected to help out in the house and taking care of children. Last time Boomer gen the man work the wife housewife. The man can afford to work 996 come home just sit at sofa relax drink beer the wife also dont dare to kpkb very obedient one.

Nowadays the wives all working the man work 996 come home sit at sofa relax drink beer sure tiogan 9696 by the wife.

bujingyun82

Singapore government will not allow CBD and prime areas to lay to waste and let everyone work from home permanently. At best, it’s going to be a hybrid arrangement with 3 days in office 2 days at home kind like a model going forward.

ThinkCarefully

Actually the demand for 1 bedder is not high in the past one year. The target group for 1 bedder are finding it more and more difficult to buy at > $800k as most of them are young & limited loan capacity. So this group turn to renting instead.

I noticed developers are really cutting down on 1 bedder within their projects. Their logic is now my 1200 sqft 4-bedders can sell at the similar psf as my 500 sqft 1-bedder, so why need to build more units !

###

You raised the point.
Supply is increasing slower than 2br..
then need to look at demand

If 1 br demand is slow, would there be demand in cCR 1 br, where there’s huge supply and supply of 1 br still increasing?

Recently someone bought CCP 1 br, he bet if dun exit at huge psf after ssd, he run naked at orchard...

###

AlyssaGoh

Singapore government will not allow CBD and prime areas to lay to waste and let everyone work from home permanently. At best, it’s going to be a hybrid arrangement with 3 days in office 2 days at home kind like a model going forward.
Nothing to do with government. They don’t own all the MNCs. Hybrid is really a win win because it deploy both office and residential space. Once hybrid model is confirmed, senior leadership will immediately reduce cbd space usage by doing hotdesk. ie 4 person share 1 desk (can score pt due to cost savings etc). Home usage and space required for home etc is not management problem. Some really nice ones will give you $2000 to buy table and chair. Those useless ones will tell u, “oh, I am so sorry this is disruptive to your work. Unfortunately change is essential and if you cannot catch up and adapt, I afraid you have to explore other alternatives”

ThinkCarefully

if you keep a close lookout, psf of 2-4 bedders in some projects have exceeded 1 bedder e.g. in parc clematis on launch, one reason why developer launch one bedder is to keep quantum affordable and raise profit margin through higher psf, but if market is willing to pay for larger units at higher psf, there is no rationale to build 1 bedder anymore

The only exception i see if stirling residences where 1 bedder still selling at $2.4k psf, but general trend now is a higher psf for large sized units.

###

exactly, if developer can sell large units at same psf as 1 br, why build 1 br?

also, dk type and larger unit sizes will find more relevance for developers to meet higher min size required in ocr and Rcr.

###

NiShiZhu

For this P.C NSZ have shared he walked away because the larger units have much higher psf than the 1 BR. No support .. iirc
Err…I can’t recall if I had mention this before but one case study that immediately comes to my mind is Watertown. The 1/2/3 bedder launch price starts at 9xxpsf to 1200psf but the 4 bedder sky patio premium facing units all starts around 14xxpsf. In the end, most 1/2/3 bedder end up quite profitable whereas the 4 bedder either lose money or hardly seen any transactions at all.

CaptainSGP

if you keep a close lookout, psf of 2-4 bedders in some projects have exceeded 1 bedder e.g. in parc clematis on launch, one reason why developer launch one bedder is to keep quantum affordable and raise profit margin through higher psf, but if market is willing to pay for larger units at higher psf, there is no rationale to build 1 bedder anymore

The only exception i see if stirling residences where 1 bedder still selling at $2.4k psf, but general trend now is a higher psf for large sized units.
Parc Clematis maybe becos many buyers bought solely becos of Nan Hua. For NP, Florence & TAT, generally psf for 1b > 2b > 3b >4b

ThinkCarefully

Once they get PR, they will pay 5% ABSD to buy a condo unit.

This will continue for the foreseeable future as HongKong based professionals do not want to work in a country controlled by CCP

###

CCP is very controlling, They control what can be discussed on their chat groups. Like discussion on Russian war and Peng Shuai automatically vanished and opposition just suddenly disappear...

###

AlyssaGoh

If you have lived in hk or know how much hk property cost, Singapore is dirt cheap. But to most Chinese, they don’t prefer hk to sg but things may have changed due to CCP

Itfrithoo

What's the thoughts on 2Br for investment purposes?
Rental and maybe sell-off in 10 years time.
Will 2br + study or purely 2br be a 'safer' investment?
Thanks in advance :)

runforyourlife

What's the thoughts on 2Br for investment purposes?
Rental and maybe sell-off in 10 years time.
Will 2br + study or purely 2br be a 'safer' investment?
Thanks in advance :)
Such a big purchase, u ask in a forum?!

What are your thoughts on it?

page||

Err…I can’t recall if I had mention this before but one case study that immediately comes to my mind is Watertown. The 1/2/3 bedder launch price starts at 9xxpsf to 1200psf but the 4 bedder sky patio premium facing units all starts around 14xxpsf. In the end, most 1/2/3 bedder end up quite profitable whereas the 4 bedder either lose money or hardly seen any transactions at all.
Yes u did I remembered this share from u. 😆

Itfrithoo

Such a big purchase, u ask in a forum?!

What are your thoughts on it?
it's good to gather some insightful thoughts. just gan gan ask only, nothing to be afraid of haha.

i might be wrong, but 1br might narrow down the pool of potential buyers in the far future.

Looking at how the government is currently combining schools etc, due to the low birthrate projection,

Are the millennials en route to a childless marriage or adopting 1 child policy?

Pretty much betting on what the government has projected.

just my humble opinion

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.