[GPGT] Y some edmwers keep saying Temasek holdings buy high sell low when they maintain 8% average annual return for the past 20 years?

HumJiBeng

Screenshot-20220531-225717-Chrome.jpg

https://www.temasekreview.com.sg/overview/performance-overview.html
I am only more concern why CPF is only 2.5%. Not even enough to beat inflation. Then minimum sum has to be raised again.

ninjaghost

because they like to hantam bola many stock and coy. Lucky enough some have positive return to cover the loss.

HumJiBeng

because they like to hantam bola many stock and coy. Lucky enough some have positive return to cover the loss.
all professional managers do that to diversify their risks?

Got fund manager just buy a few companies then hope for the best meh?

Deathzz

If only you can micro manage the companies, how else can you ensure 100% profit other than diversifying on a group of potentials?

ninjaghost

Doesn't all fund managers do that to diversify their risks.

Got fund manager just buy a few companies then hope for the best meh?
Feel like they just hoot only de leh, like salt bae ~

also, because you ask why buy high sell low. Investment of cause involve profit / loss, if loss somewhere then the other high profit gain will cover the loss. Arbo, why diversify ?

after 20yrs only with single digit return, actually is not very outstanding return you kw if base on the track record from 2003 to 2013?

d5dude

The gov sold a lot of assets at under market value to TH over the years e.g CAG, hard to not make any money under such circumstances.

Most of their public equity investments have been really bad, China and to a certain extent Singapore, has been terrible.

dpsk3000

U cannot put over $380 billion in s&p 500 index.

Investing billions is different from investment $100k to $500k like most retail investors
that is a good one. it is akin to steering aircraft carrier vs Sepang. not so simple to not attract attention when you buy/sell with large amount of funds.

a lot of EDMW degenerates keep citing SP500 10% annual gain. they invest peanut size. 10k 100k, 10% also LPPL. all it takes is a global depression after this parabolic rise in 2020. they will suffer drawdown like they never experience before for the next decade.

rider83

Can we invest in Temasek and get 8% every year? Not talking about CPF

miketay90

maybe should try take out the Sg based companies from the portfolio and then remeasure the performance

gains from those Sg companies - were they really due to investment acumen?

foreign based companies more straightforward

MiG123

U cannot put over $380 billion in s&p 500 index.

Investing billions is different from investment $100k to $500k like most retail investors
Yea investments and returns don’t scale linearly in a straight line

it’s like just cuz u can cook a gourmet meal for yourself and your spouse doesn’t mean u can cook the same meal for a 1000 ppl, at least not without substantial additional help/resources

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.