Failure To Stand On 1 Leg For 10 Seconds Linked To Increased Risk of Death

Reborn

I just tried coz this is quite interesting (not that i believe the article).....could do 6 mins, then i cut liao..... i could do longer but really gotta have perseverance/endurance.

Could really feel it in my calves, and glutes, after the 4th minute. Really gotta concentrate. First 3 mins very easy.

Heng i do glutes as well, coz to prevent muscle imbalance issue (due to walking/Sprint interval training).

50s age grp....
in other news, those who can stand on one leg for more then one minute, have lower IQ.
Kidding.

WussRedXLi

Think it shd be this ba.......

Participants were asked to lift one foot and place it behind the opposite lower leg -- without touching the ground -- while keeping their arms at their sides and looking forward. They were allowed three attempts. One-in-five failed the test, generally those who were older or in poorer health.

Adding a balance component to routine physical exams for older people could provide doctors with important health information, according to the researchers from Brazil, Finland, Australia, the UK and the US. More than 680,000 people die each year from falls globally, and the 10 second test can be easily used to help identify those who may be vulnerable, the researchers said.

WussRedXLi

in other news, those who can stand on one leg for more then one minute, have lower IQ.
Kidding.

I think there cld be some truth to it.....serious. Not to say i really 100% believe it (so many variables in reality), but to a certain degree it makes a bit of sense.

Cecamaster

I can do push up with my middle leg...sort of like a tripod if you use Ur imagination. How long can I survive?

BlackWing1977

Got another article say men must wake up with morning wood.. or else no good is it??

WussRedXLi

woah is this legit ?!

It does makes some sense to me...... Of coz you base this in real life is based on probability / %......

It's just a measure of balancing + fitness, that tries to deduce how likely that middle/old age fella is gonna fall. And as you know, older people fall not so good.

But anyway for age 50-60 i think still not so indicative. Try it for 60-80 age grp best.

ps. My 40s colleague did die of a fall last year (no joke).......really pretty normal fall, just that hit his head. Does it have anything to do with this, depends on the individual. Some say BS, others might believe a bit.

So, very difficult to say one lah.....

WussRedXLi

this is making me very worried tbh

You cannot do 10s? What's your age range ? Actually it's very simple at least for me, just put leg behind the master leg, hands at the sides, balance for 10s.

I middle age, 6 mins just now....felt boliao liao. :ROFLMAO: But then again is also coz i do exercise rather regularly (past 1 year i quite on with SIT)

Aiyah just based on % and probability, bo bao lah. But if serious, just start healthy lifestyle (diet + exercise). Some don't believe in that of coz.....so it's like the article, it really depends.
The debate on such things never ends...... :ROFLMAO:

bigrooster

rooster-colors-308957.jpg

figo16

Last time ** bmt encik ask me stand on one leg cause I never stand properly. Pcb

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.