Singapore Treasury bills (T-bills)

dude123

Waiting for 1yr tbill + ssb.. dunno wan to put this coming 6mth tbill or not..

reddevil0728

Thank will apply tomorrow and see how it's goes
Some educationn...

1) Competitve means you put in a % which you can accept. If the eventual % is lower, you wouldn't get.

Example I am ok to get 1% interest. and eventual interest is 2%. you will get it, and you will get 2% not 1%.

But if eventual interest is 0.5%, you get nothing.

2) not first come first serve. so long you apply in time (cater buffer for tech error), you will be able to participate in the "auction"/ballot.

3) T-bill don't have same portal as SSB. but both T-Bill and SSB will be held in CDP.

If you get allocated for T-Bill, you will get the "interest" refunded on the same day.

adven7

A side question. Anyone here know In case of decease how will T bill or SSB be distributed back to family member? Any nomination form need to be filled?

reddevil0728

A side question. Anyone here know In case of decease how will T bill or SSB be distributed back to family member? Any nomination form need to be filled?
same as how other stock holdings in CDP.

it is neither Insurance nor CPF

reddevil0728

Waiting for 1yr tbill + ssb.. dunno wan to put this coming 6mth tbill or not..
1 qns and 1 suggestion

Q: Do you plan to hold long term, i.e., 2 or more years?

S: Can consider 6m t-bill "ladder", i.e., split the amount you willing to put in into 13 tranches, then just apply for every tranche of 6m t-bill and repeat.

adven7

3) T-bill don't have same portal as SSB. but both T-Bill and SSB will be held in CDP.

If you get allWwocated for T-Bill, you will get the "interest" refunded on the same day.

Some educationn...

1) Competitve means you put in a % which you can accept. If the eventual % is lower, you wouldn't get.

Example I am ok to get 1% interest. and eventual interest is 2%. you will get it, and you will get 2% not 1%.

But if eventual interest is 0.5%, you get nothing.

2) not first come first serve. so long you apply in time (cater buffer for tech error), you will be able to participate in the "auction"/ballot.

If you get allocated for T-Bill, you will get the "interest" refunded on the same day.
If use SRS to invest, does CDP reflect both SSB and T bill ? For SSB, I could not find in CDP portal except at MAS portal

sohguanh

Thank will apply tomorrow and see how it's goes
You do know 6 month T-bill every 2 weeks got new issue hor? If got a lot to apply, spread out the monies for different issue. Tomorrow like a bit too early. For me I will choose next Mon,Tue.

reddevil0728

You do know 6 month T-bill every 2 weeks got new issue hor? If got a lot to apply, spread out the monies for different issue. Tomorrow like a bit too early. For me I will choose next Mon,Tue.
Consider “Tbill ladder”

reddevil0728

Already planned just like SSB ladder. Was going to do SGS bond ladder also until the SGS bond (Reopen) posts so complex so give up.
why bother???? SSB is meant to replicate SGS bonds for retail investors ma

adven7

Apply now and mature on 10 Jan 2023 and then do top of CPF which may have higher interest. Park in bank is lwo interest, park in SSB too long so T bill fit my short term requirement. This is for me a strategic short term investment

reddevil0728

Whack all mah but then before go in need to understand and this forum provide very good information. Thank you for stephen? for his good posts on SGS bond (Reopen).
lol dun understand why whack all. but ok

reddevil0728

Apply now and mature on 10 Jan 2023 and then do top of CPF which may have higher interest. Park in bank is lwo interest, park in SSB too long so T bill fit my short term requirement. This is for me a strategic short term investment
oh so this is meant for your CPF top-up for tax savings?

Then should target the next round that matures on 24 jan right? cause top up CPF closer to month end better.

adven7

oh so this is meant for your CPF top-up for tax savings?

Then should target the next round that matures on 24 jan right? cause top up CPF closer to month end better.
Not purely for tax saving but to get slightly higher interest as CPF give an average of 3% if top 3 account concurrently

Heard from the CPF counter lady to top early, if late, I think need at least 7 days (I could be wrong), may miss a month of interest

Will do T bill ladder too.

Thanks for the advice

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.