PCR @ airport. - how long to get results?

nomoreliaola

Yes. No direct fr incheon. Must go gimpo to take to jeju.
I lazy to go seoul then go gimpo again. So this time fly straight to jeju then come back to seoul for the 2nd leg.
This trip is free and easy. Will take it slow slow relac. Gave myself plenty of time to go gimpo. Reach jeju will check in hotel near airport. Sleep eat relac.
Now still looking at car rental. So expensive compared to 3 years ago.
eh paiseh,ur 1.1k is direct to incheon or jeju ah?

Hisashiburi

btw anyone took korea air recently? hows the review? looking at this

Used to take this flight.
It is not bad.

Most people sleep as it is a red eye flight.

Price is ok, only slightly higher than pre covid.

KE economy seats are nice as they have 33 to 34" leg space compared to SQ 32"

If u sit on left side when going to Korea, can see Taiwan.
Sit on right side when returning to also see Taiwan.
Can see Taiwan n across Taiwan Straits all the way to China coastline if skies are clear.

Can also see whole of Jeju
Jeju island looks so small from the air.

couch.potato

Results about 3h for me and hotel did check before letting me check in.

didn’t realise tickets so expensive now. I booked a few months ago was quite cheap (back to pre covid prices) with extra baggage still…

couch.potato

Yes. No direct fr incheon. Must go gimpo to take to jeju.
I lazy to go seoul then go gimpo again. So this time fly straight to jeju then come back to seoul for the 2nd leg.
This trip is free and easy. Will take it slow slow relac. Gave myself plenty of time to go gimpo. Reach jeju will check in hotel near airport. Sleep eat relac.
Now still looking at car rental. So expensive compared to 3 years ago.
Damn sian also by this :(
I saved some money on air ticket and hotels? But Busan got v ex too and Jeju car rental is mafan and expensive…

cassng

My friend just go to Korea this week, so the wait for PCR test is about 2.5hrs. for me, i am going in the december, i have check with my hotels, as i am arriving the airport around 7plus in the morning, after pcr in airport, from incheon to seoul by car, about 10-11am i will be at my hotel. usually check in is 2-3pm. As for now, in advance i already check with my hotel, they tell me that i can wait in the lobby with mask on. till my result or check in time.

couch.potato

My friend just go to Korea this week, so the wait for PCR test is about 2.5hrs. for me, i am going in the december, i have check with my hotels, as i am arriving the airport around 7plus in the morning, after pcr in airport, from incheon to seoul by car, about 10-11am i will be at my hotel. usually check in is 2-3pm. As for now, in advance i already check with my hotel, they tell me that i can wait in the lobby with mask on. till my result or check in time.
Yep I ended up having to sleep in lobby for a few hours :s13:

by right no PCR test result cannot go eat in restaurant, but when I passed by no one was checking. So I just went to the empty lobby to eat what I packed… but my time I had to take a PCR here first and it was alre negative so I felt safer to not expose ppl.

wongkc

U mean they dun allow them to check in before the results are in? I thought no need to wait for PCR results to roam free... which i presume including checking into hotel...

joeson

U mean they dun allow them to check in before the results are in? I thought no need to wait for PCR results to roam free... which i presume including checking into hotel...

same.... thought need to self quarantine in the hotel room first before receiving the results. if like that then can roam free ?

couch.potato

same.... thought need to self quarantine in the hotel room first before receiving the results. if like that then can roam free ?
Yep roam free.
Yes hotels will check ur negative PCR before can check in. Funny right? :s13:

but that’s because they assume u alre have a negative on departure, so the risk is low. That’s why u are allowed to travel to Busan / Jeju etc even before ur on arrival PCR testing is out.

Previously before this law, they require u to “quarantine” in hotel until ur results are out.

in May no one checked if u eat in restaurant or roam around etc, but they defo checked my negative before allowing me to check in.

joeson

Yep roam free.

but that’s because they assume u alre have a negative on departure, so the risk is low. That’s why u are allowed to travel to Busan / Jeju etc even before ur on arrival PCR testing is out.

Previously before this law, they require u to “quarantine” in hotel until ur results are out.

in May no one checked if u eat in restaurant or roam around etc, but they defo checked my negative before allowing me to check in.
oohh no wonder... thanks for the info, am flying there in October~

couch.potato

oohh no wonder... thanks for the info, am flying there in October~
I’m travelling in October too, hope everything at least stays the same or loosens up by then.

it was relatively fuss-free for me in May after the nerve-wrecking documentation prep, reach there is no issue once all the docs are there. I assume now even easier, but with the recent surge in cases wonder if they’ll let up with the PCR and departure ART.

that said, got testing before leaving also not so bad la, expensive but at least give a bit of peace of mind… later reach there rly positive also cham…

wongkc

Yep roam free.

Doesn’t make sense… they allow u go to crowded shopping centers but not check into hotel rooms? What’s the logic? Is this their gahment directive or the hotel own rules?

Din know abt this… will seriously impact my decision to go Korea if they dun revise this stupid rule…

couch.potato

Doesn’t make sense… they allow u go to crowded shopping centers but not check into hotel rooms? What’s the logic? Is this their gahment directive or the hotel own rules?

Din know abt this… will seriously impact my decision to go Korea if they dun revise this stupid rule…
It might be just the hotel. So it is a two-fold “problem”

one is that mostly our flights reach early in the morning (SIA / Korean / Asiana) reach before 7am, so the rooms are hardly ever ready before your PCR results are out anyway, so it might just be a routine check before they allow me to check in at 12+ (I was in Seoul by 8+am), which I didn’t double-confirm with them, but they did make sure my PCR testing was out and negative before letting me go to my room.

I stayed at a Lotte chain hotel, so I assume a lot of bigger hotels will be the same? U can check with ur hotel to be doubly sure but I’m just sharing my experiences in May. Maybe others have experienced otherwise.

yeah it doesn’t make a lot of sense considering no one cares where u go after landing at all (even the walk to the PCR testing station is unmanned) so u just OTOT really. Govt directive says u can free roam iirc (since u ARE allowed to travel in state anywhere even before results), but since maybe some hotels are not designated as quarantine hotels anymore that’s why they check?

ETA: my PCR results were out by 10+

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.