Singapore Savings Bonds

MastersIT

I've seen SSB's FAQ saying we can redeem and apply within the same month to bring our total holdings back to the individual limit. But can anyone confirm that this works within the same month for more than 1 redemption request?

E.g. Assuming maxed out limit but redeem 3 issues of $10k each in the same month, then can apply $30k in the same month?

MAS hotline said as long as redeemed amount sufficient to cover application amount in same month, is no issue. CSO advised to do everything on the same day and to Redeem first before apply, In that order. So far, I have no issue.

kimsix

MAS hotline said as long as redeemed amount sufficient to cover application amount in same month, is no issue. CSO advised to do everything on the same day and to Redeem first before apply, In that order. So far, I have no issue.

is it a new change? i thought when you apply, is pay from your bank account first. if you redeem, only will pay back to your bank next month.

so if your bank is zero, can still deduct?

BBCWatcher

is it a new change? i thought when you apply, is pay from your bank account first. if you redeem, only will pay back to your bank next month.
so if your bank is zero, can still deduct?
No. Funds are deducted immediately when you place an order, so you need enough dollars (without relying on redemption dollars) to make the purchase.

luvpraline

Much appreciated!

zeroX26

Quick question here, I forgot the total amount of SSB I already have on hand and went to apply an amount more than my remaining quota. Will the application be deemed "failed" or they will just give me whatever's left of my quota assuming its within the allocation for this trench?

kimsix

No. Funds are deducted immediately when you place an order, so you need enough dollars (without relying on redemption dollars) to make the purchase.
ok readed through, that was talking about the 100k limits... never read through earlier....:o

ice_angel

but above reply seems say otherwise, like mas system able to detect your cdp account movement so you can redeem old and place a new one on same day ? just make sure redeem first....is so good?

or was that talking about the 100k limits... never read through all...:o
They are discussing the 200K limits of SSB, not your cash in the bank. The assumption is you have enough cash in the bank for the new issue even if you don't redeem the old ones.

MastersIT

Question and reply pertain to holdings within individual limit.

Redeem 30k holding from difference tranches and then apply 30k new tranche in same month.

Read in context to question, so challenging meh ?

Here MAS hotline: 62255577

kimsix

They are discussing the 200K limits of SSB, not your cash in the bank. The assumption is you have enough cash in the bank for the new issue even if you don't redeem the old ones.

btw 200k limit is 100k cash + 100k srs or can be 200k cash? didn't know limit is up also :o

reddevil0728

Who hoot $20k to try try?
why not higher leh?
Quick question here, I forgot the total amount of SSB I already have on hand and went to apply an amount more than my remaining quota. Will the application be deemed "failed" or they will just give me whatever's left of my quota assuming its within the allocation for this trench?
whatever is left. btw is tranche.
You guys actually consider nov ssb? Dec gonna be higher manz..
qns is can get what you want or not?

craze_ho

I also 1st time applied this as my friend keeps asking me to try. I applied 15K to try out. My guess most likely will only allocate around 10K.
Wa .. I realise the forum ppl all very rich sia. Anythline can just deposit 5figure ant :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.