Singapore Savings Bonds

hyperfuse

I am in the minority. I am trying to spread my small amount of spare cash into six successive months. 😔 So, I will apply for Nov SSB too.
depending how small, if amount is below 10k, better to put lump sum in a month that you know will be of highest interest. if u spread out, then that 10k might have lower interest esp if other months have lower interest than the next, affecting overall average interest rates. But of course if u have say $50k, yea u should spread out since allocation of SSB currently is quite little.

hyperfuse

Do you think 10k is a lot? Since it is 5 digit?
10k not alot..

Most household in Singapore work 1 month already more than 10k.

year 2021, almost 50 percent of SG housholds already earn more than 10k per month.

DOS.jpg

CyberTan

10k not alot..

Most household in Singapore work 1 month already more than 10k.

year 2021, almost 50 percent of SG housholds already earn more than 10k per month.

DOS.jpg
The group mentioned are the minority isn’t it?

if you see the numbers for GST voucher reception are large majority.

my friends who are in their early forties don’t even have 10k personal savings.

hyperfuse

The group mentioned are the minority isn’t it?

if you see the numbers for GST voucher reception are large majority.

my friends who are in their early forties don’t even have 10k personal savings.
u see the numbers under 2021, these are percentage. those more than 10k makes up to about 40 plus percent. almost 50 percent of Sg households earn more than 10k per month.

Cant say minority. because it depends on your circle of friends. My circle of friends, most are degree holders and starting pay of 1 person might be about 4 to 5k already. Work a few years already 5 to 8k per person. Lets assume a household consist of husband and wife ( of course got different types just assuming its husband and wife for now), most degree holder household will easily get more than 10k a month.

And degree holders are pretty much common and ordinary now.

For me and wife, we are not rich people at all. Our combine household income is more than 10k, and i do save quite alot, basically every 2 months we will have 10k plus to spare. Every month me and wife save about 5k to 7k combine after our monthly expenses. So every 2 months already got extra 10k to 14k to play around. We are no way considered rich. Rich are those households earning more than 20k, stay pte property etc. we are just normal Singaporean staying in HDB haha.

You mentioned your friends dont even have 10k personal savings..i guess they live paycheck to paycheck? They probably dont bother saving or have high monthly expenses. Everyone is different, some people have to give parents a huge allowance, maybe huge housing debts, car etc. All about lifestyle choices.

Perisher

Given how high the tbill was, we might get 10k for SSB? Keke…

Perisher

or maybe more. who knows. just wait for outcome lor
Fun to anticipate.
Initially was expecting many to subscribe but with rising interest rate going into tbills and savings account, this SSB suddenly isn’t as attractive… but ya who knows…

so it’s interesting to see how oversubscribed this issue will be.

sgbird

Tbill 4.19% sky high makes this trunch SSB 3.0% interest not so attractive liao. But SSB applications are made before Tbill auction result, so I expect SSB bollot still not so much

pohw0008

Tbill 4.19% sky high makes this trunch SSB 3.0% interest not so attractive liao. But SSB applications are made before Tbill auction result, so I expect SSB bollot still not so much
Last last tbill already 3.77%.. already not bad. Many should be attracted to it

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.