Singapore Savings Bonds

reddevil0728

Yes. That means more people will participate in the next round of SSB if they increase interest rates.
SSB interest rate is beyond MAS control. but supply is.

So are you saying if MAS go offer a mega tranche of 10bil. your 10k allocation still valid?

calkel20

Last round for the year will be 25th Nov.
Start on the 1st Nov.
Code: GX22120S

So Nov no need redeem your SSB as payout in Dec, will not have anything to buy except for T-bill.
Can also mean that T-bill for Dec will be very popular too!

CyberTan

SSB interest rate is beyond MAS control. but supply is.

So are you saying if MAS go offer a mega tranche of 10bil. your 10k allocation still valid?
Your 10 billion is just a assumption. As we see the past increments. It is totally impossible for MAS to jump straight to 10B.

so base on previous finding and data. It shows when there is a historical highs. Many will participate in it. Not only Singaporeans, but foreigners are free to buy SSB.

reddevil0728

Your 10 billion is just a assumption. As we see the past increments. It is totally impossible for MAS to jump straight to 10B.

so base on previous finding and data. It shows when there is a historical highs. Many will participate in it. Not only Singaporeans, but foreigners are free to buy SSB.
but isn't saying don't expect 10k allocation from now on if the interest keeps rising, also an assumption in itself?

vsvs24

Last round for the year will be 25th Nov.
Start on the 1st Nov.
Code: GX22120S

So Nov no need redeem your SSB as payout in Dec, will not have anything to buy except for T-bill.
Can also mean that T-bill for Dec will be very popular too!
Dec can buy Jan SSB.

2023 calender not out yet

craze_ho

The "Allotment / Redemption Result" section was blank for you?

image.png
my bad. dint know need scroll down. :ROFLMAO:

CyberTan

but isn't saying don't expect 10k allocation from now on if the interest keeps rising, also an assumption in itself?
Ok fair enough. If we want to dispel my or ours assumptions. Let’s look at the data shall we.

Base on this year, We can see this years SSB, the largest increment of Amount offered is between 100-200M. And the largest increments started coincidentally on August at 700M, and increments of 200M from Sep issue.

what is similar between the August issue and this month is that the amount applied within limited exceeded the 2 Billion mark. So this is a clear evidence that when there is a historical highs. There are more participation.

reddevil0728

Ok fair enough. If we want to dispel my or ours assumptions. Let’s look at the data shall we.

Base on this years SSB. We can see this years SSB, the largest increment of Amount offered is between 100-200M. And the largest increments started coincidentally on August at 700M, and increments of 200M from Sep issue.

what is similar between the August issue and this month is that the amount applied within limited exceeded the 2 Billion mark. So this is a clear evidence that when there is a historical highs. There are more participation.
i can agree everything that is historical, but anything going forward be it supply or actual demand, all are assumptions

CyberTan

i can agree everything that is historical, but anything going forward be it supply or actual demand, all are assumptions
But it is clear that we don’t need datas for everything isn’t it? It’s logic.

If there’s ever a day when MAS upped its max amount to 10B suddenly. I’ll be very worried where our country is heading given that our govt is borrowing so much of our monies.

reddevil0728

But it is clear that we don’t need datas for everything isn’t it? It’s logic.

If there’s ever a day when MAS upped its max amount to 10B suddenly. I’ll be very worried where our country is heading given that our govt is borrowing so much of our monies.
logically i agree that it is unlikely that they wouldn't suddenly go increase by so much.

but logically i also wouldn't know how much will they increase because they didn't provide any guiding principle on how they determine how much supply to provide.

at the same time logically, i would agree that SSB rate increase there bound to be more demand, but logically other vehicles interest rate also would likely go up, hence cannot look at things in isolation.

So without knowing how all these interplays, saying that don't expect more than 10k allocation is also an assumption lor

CyberTan

logically i agree that it is unlikely that they wouldn't suddenly go increase by so much.

but logically i also wouldn't know how much will they increase because they didn't provide any guiding principle on how they determine how much supply to provide.

at the same time logically, i would agree that SSB rate increase there bound to be more demand, but logically other vehicles interest rate also would likely go up, hence cannot look at things in isolation.

So without knowing how all these interplays, saying that don't expect more than 10k allocation is also an assumption lor
Eh I don’t really agree with the third paragraph. It is precisely when we do have multiple methods of investment vehicle like T-Bills and FDs offering similar interest, if not more, yet we still see a good amount of participation for SSB. So to me is invalid.

many still see the benefits of SSB, compared to others.

but anyway up to you lah. When MAS ups it’s interest rates, we see if we can even get 10K la hor. Aiyo

reddevil0728

Eh I don’t really agree with the third paragraph. It is precisely when we do have multiple methods of investment vehicle like T-Bills and FDs offering similar interest, if not more, yet we still see a good amount of participation for SSB. So to me is invalid.

many still see the benefits of SSB, compared to others.

but anyway up to you lah. When MAS ups it’s interest rates, we see if we can even get 10K la hor. Aiyo
it is not MAS who decides the interest. If you keep thinking that MAS is the one that controls the interest for SSB and T-Bill, then it just shows that you don't really know what you are talking about.

CyberTan

it is not MAS who decides the interest. If you keep thinking that MAS is the one that controls the interest for SSB and T-Bill, then it just shows that you don't really know what you are talking about.
Then say govt lah. Gum buey?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.