How to become a Licensed Electrician (LEW)?

kendrick272

Rough number?
Depend on how hungry you are.

Those do that industrial, yearly renew charge customer $350-$450. His job is just to sign.

If say industrial building got short circuit (i dunno what the correct term), management engage you come and turn the switch back up cos you are qualified, charge 1.2k per trip.

I know cos i ask the electrician before.

So i would say range of 7k-10k monthly? But the downside is self employed.

mryang

Dont need to study a few years meh.
How much do LEWs earn btw?
If go by project for home Reno one month can earn about four figures and above. Plus can certified equipment safe for usage after done some test. But material and tool and test equipment not cheap. Plus you need to have a mini van for transport.

occifer

sic code please .

moi never seen the electrician genre .

The girl kena electrocuted.
To save her life, u must make as much physical contact as possible, in terms of surfacr area, to soak up the residual electricity.

After saving her life, she thanks u :)

zzt231

dont noob leh
LEW dont hand on.
they survey site after electrician finish & sign

what u wan to do is becoming an electrician.

coldfreeze

I think most people just hire handyman to do those basic electrical work, like adding power sockets, replacing light switches/fixtures.

mryang

Depend on how hungry you are.

Those do that industrial, yearly renew charge customer $350-$450. His job is just to sign.

If say industrial building got short circuit (i dunno what the correct term), management engage you come and turn the switch back up cos you are qualified, charge 1.2k per trip.

I know cos i ask the electrician before.

So i would say range of 7k-10k monthly? But the downside is self employed.
Around there if include installation ..per project. One project earn around $500. 10 project...

occifer

If go by project for home Reno one month can earn about four figures and above. Plus can certified equipment safe for usage after done some test. But material and tool and test equipment not cheap. Plus you need to have a mini van for transport.

4 figures is a wide range :s22:

mryang

Remember hor once sign the paper anything happened....in safety...hmmm

pattanispirit

I think most people just hire handyman to do those basic electrical work, like adding power sockets, replacing light switches/fixtures.

handy man is just electrician level

LEW can sign papers, but some jobs may carry risks if need to attend site to turn on system.

even i had many site experience incl overseas, sg govt don't allow me to apply for one, cuz my cert is not relevant.

in sg govt, only recognise papers, don't care if u have any site experience or not, so many indian grad got zero experience can qualify whereas u can work 30 yrs in the industry, u just not qualified to apply.

29d7838565a66f54dfd2677c2e504824.jpg

Geneco

Peepur ask Malaysia and bangla electrician do ish cheaper... :frown:

Why need Lew unless is big commercial or govt projects?
It is not dangerous for household electrical works..

i have done the follwing myself:
changing switches, adding plug points, changing bulbs, install water heaters..

but i wish to do for others with extra incomes... must be done legally

zheng

I want to be a LEW after my retirement. Targeted jobs will be HDB household electrical works.

Any LEW here can advise me how to become one? I already have all the theoretical and practical knowlegdes.

TIA
i want to know too

wisco

I jusrt want to do these kind of simple jobs. Legally u need LEW to do these kind of jobs. Am I right?

106gunner

LEW is issue by EMA and have to take test and upon passing the licence will be issue

Dun listen to ppl who told you ITE have a course on this

ITE basically taught you electrical wiring, electrical installation code of practice but they dun issue the licence nor conduct the test

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.