Standard chart priority banking like nothing much Hor?

DevilPlate

SC fx rate imo not bad liao if compared to our local banks LOL.

I remember it is almost comparable to Tiger brokers.

I never use IBKR.

The main issue I have is SC's trading UI....I goto use tiger broker as reference when buying LOL

crystalnox

So far free both sides. But not sure whether in future will charge. I usually buy London domiciled etf then transfer. Usually US if buy in standard chartered used to have $0 commission. Not sure when the promo will end
What LSE ETFs have you successfully transferred over before? I wonder if they fixed all their custodian issues yet.

CrashWire

SC fx rate imo not bad liao if compared to our local banks LOL.

I remember it is almost comparable to Tiger brokers.
For USD, it's around 0.45% I believe. Around the same as Wise.

Tiger should be around 0.3% when I last checked a few months ago.

limster

For USD, it's around 0.45% I believe. Around the same as Wise.

Tiger should be around 0.3% when I last checked a few months ago.

sadly, unless you are on the higher fx tiers, the fx rate is pretty bad now. can be as bad as 0.9% according to some previous posts. I am on silver and I think its 0.45%, got to recheck as SCB can change without informing.

EDIT: changed some US$ today on silver tier. its 0.4%. So lower tiers will be worse.

elvintay07

Anyone observed that the main and supplementary holders for priority visa infinite shares the same number. It is kind of strange because some banks uses different number. Is that normal?

CrashWire

Anyone observed that the main and supplementary holders for priority visa infinite shares the same number. It is kind of strange because some banks uses different number. Is that normal?
All StanChart cards have this weird bug.

It's not good issuing supp cards on SC if your intent is to separate out spend.

Niaoson

IIRC for SCB, the main and supplementary are the same. Then when you do online transactions, supposed to manually type in the name of the cardholder or something o_O

elvintay07

IIRC for SCB, the main and supplementary are the same. Then when you do online transactions, supposed to manually type in the name of the cardholder or something o_O
Damn funny lei Standard Chartered. 😆!

chekseng80

Guys, i got few questions:
1. The fx rate tier, how was it being determined?

2. Besides cash, does SCB trading platform supports SRS or CPF?

3. Can open joint PB account?

I have a sizable amount (500k) to invest either in SGX, FD or LSE. I do have a an IBKR account but dont want to keep all money in one basket.

There is no other better options (dont tell me Tiger, Webull, MooMoo or Robo advisors) so far. I see the advantages of SCB PB:
1. Access to SGX & LSE (VWRA) with low or no comm. Fx rate acceptable.

2. Not sure any preferred FD rate for PB?

3. I might refinance mh Mortage loan in another 1-2 yrs time, any preferred mortgage rate for PB? Saw on their web site, they have MortgageOne Interest Offset feature or PB Plus but not sure is it something worth considering when re-financing?

4. 24 times PP access is sufficient enuf for my family size for 1-2 annual trips.

Any other benefits?

limster

Guys, i got few questions:
1. The fx rate tier, how was it being determined?

2. Besides cash, does SCB trading platform supports SRS or CPF?

3. Can open joint PB account?

I have a sizable amount (500k) to invest either in SGX, FD or LSE. I do have a an IBKR account but dont want to keep all money in one basket.

There is no other better options (dont tell me Tiger, Webull, MooMoo or Robo advisors) so far. I see the advantages of SCB PB:
1. Access to SGX & LSE (VWRA) with low or no comm. Fx rate acceptable.

2. Not sure any preferred FD rate for PB?

3. I might refinance mh Mortage loan in another 1-2 yrs time, any preferred mortgage rate for PB? Saw on their web site, they have MortgageOne Interest Offset feature or PB Plus but not sure is it something worth considering when re-financing?

4. 24 times PP access is sufficient enuf for my family size for 1-2 annual trips.

Any other benefits?

https://www.sc.com/sg/save/current-accounts/usd-high-account/
USD High Account waives cash deposit fees .

So if you think you can go moneychanger to change USD at a better rate, you can always deposit cash into your account. But make sure you let your RM know so he/she can help you. normal bank staff may be stunned if you bring NTUC plastic bag with US$500k cash. 😅

boliao123

if not for the 18bp brokerage fee for priority banking customers i wouldn't have bothered!

my assigned RM is just a huckster - always asknig me to buy/sell 1 lot of unit trust just for his credit & asking to vote him up whenever they are surveys.

elvintay07

if not for the 18bp brokerage fee for priority banking customers i wouldn't have bothered!

my assigned RM is just a huckster - always asknig me to buy/sell 1 lot of unit trust just for his credit & asking to vote him up whenever they are surveys.
Most of the time I give them the lowest score

crystalnox

Not bad leh, ask him how much he offer as kickback. :D

elvintay07

As long as they don't lie, cheat, or steal, I am happy to give my RM an above average score in surveys.

My default is to always be kind and grateful to others. 😅
All these surveys are big wayang one la. I trade daily. Who cares whether you get 0 for survey as long as you can bring in the money. SC wont kill a golden goose because of all these. Those who worry typically has lousy performance.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.