Singtel 1 Gbps Fibre

xiaofan

worthwhile to switch to m1? singtel pricing is on the high side

Singtel price is not really that much different if you negotiate with Singtel to get around S$40.4 per month as recent reports shows. In general if you do not have an issue with the existing ISP, it is better to stick to the same ISP.

But if you intend to switch to M1, that is okay as well.

Take note if you use Singtel ONR as a wired router in the DB Box (so that all rooms have LAN connection) and another Singtel wireless router in the living room for wireless, you may have to put a router in the DB box as well to achive the same network configuration.

Singtel ONR in the DB box -- LAN ports in the rooms
Living room LAN port --> Singtel wireless router to provide wireless access (automatically run in AP mode) or other wireless router in AP mode

-->

M1 ONT in the DB box -- router 1 as main router in the DB box -- LAN ports in the rooms
Living room LAN port --> wireless router 2 in AP mode to provide wireless function

Ye_Rongtian

Anyone having problem with streaming netflix on singtel network? Fibre and mobile are both having same problem. I can login and see what movies / dramas are available on netflix page. It is loading when attempting to stream/download any video on netflix. If I use M1 fibre, no such problem. Singtel claim there are no known problem with netflix.

limlg73

hi, currently on Singtel 500MB at $30.18 monthly, no contract since 2018.

Yesterday received this mailer from Singtel offering 1GB at $30.37 for 24months contract, thereafter $50.37.
It comes with free WIFI 5 device.

https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/broadband/eform/recon-dm/fibre-recon-1g
Is it worth to accept this offer?
I am on ONT+AC1900 router currently. Past few months, the WIFI is sometime not stable, keep disconnecting. I am not sure whether it is due to 500MB speed or the AC1900 router.

xiaofan

Yesterday received this mailer from Singtel offering 1GB at $30.37 for 24months contract, thereafter $50.37.

https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/broadband/eform/recon-dm/fibre-recon-1g
I am on ONT+AC1900 router currently. Past few months, the WIFI is sometime not stable, keep disconnecting. I am not sure whether it is due to 500MB speed or the AC1900 router.

The offer is very good so you can get it if you like it.

But if I were you I will keep the no-contract 500Mbps plan at S$30.18 and buy a better router like Asus RT-AX82U or RT-AX86U.

m0n0n0ke

But if I were you I will keep the no-contract 500Mbps plan at S$30.18 and buy a better router like Asus RT-AX82U or RT-AX86U.
I support this. And after 2 yrs..whats the price?

loganrunning

the offer is a loss leader. after that, price is "upgraded", then it will be usual question of how to get the best "re-contract" offer :ROFLMAO:

froztheart

I rather you wait till they force you to upgrade to 1GB and router included (if any).
Previous comments mentioned that they do offer such upgrades.

limlg73

thanks everyone for your kind replies.
After reading your replies and some checking on this forum, I think I will keep my 500MB@$30.
Did check that many Singtel Mesh Router listings on Carousell.
So free WIFI5 device bundled with this recontract is not attractive.

darlene

What about this offer?

Is the linksys Wi-Fi 6 device worth it?

<ADV>Singtel. Dear XXX, Enhance your WiFi speeds and enjoy 6 FREE mths of your 1Gbps Plus Broadband plan (Effectively $47.61/mth on U.P. $63.48/mth). Includes a Linksys premium WiFi 6 device for superior performance and enhanced coverage. Hurry, promo ends 27 Mar. Click
https://s.t.singtel.com/O5XzHYQE to recontract now and save over $380. Info: singtel.com/contactus. 24-mth term. T&Cs apply. <Reply UNSUB to opt out>

xiaofan

What about this offer?

Is the linksys Wi-Fi 6 device worth it?

<ADV>Singtel. Dear XXX, Enhance your WiFi speeds and enjoy 6 FREE mths of your 1Gbps Plus Broadband plan (Effectively $47.61/mth on U.P. $63.48/mth). Includes a Linksys premium WiFi 6 device for superior performance and enhanced coverage. Hurry, promo ends 27 Mar. Click
https://s.t.singtel.com/O5XzHYQE to recontract now and save over $380. Info: singtel.com/contactus. 24-mth term. T&Cs apply. <Reply UNSUB to opt out>

This is the same as the website offer for Singtel 1Gbps Plus plan. Compare to the free router from the lower tier 1Gbps Enhanced Plan, Linksys E9450 is of course better even though it is not that good either. So you can go ahead if you like Linksys.

https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/broadband/fibre-broadband-plans#plan2
  • 6 FREE months
  • U.P. of $63.48/mth will apply thereafter
  • FREE months will be reflected in your Service Agreement
INCLUDES
  • Singtel GPON Optical Network Router for new sign-ups
  • Linksys E9450 AX5400 Wi-Fi 6 Router
  • Mobile Broadband (500MB)
  • Home Line
  • 12 FREE months of Amazon Prime

Scp173

Finally singtel got back to me with a resonable offer and i recontract another 24mth, been paying $50.xx for 2mth after contract expire

My average bill now from apr onward will be $33.xx/mth for 24mth but given in another way...

Offer was free 8mth, followed by $50.37 gst included from 9-24mth...
if dun count the 8mth as free, it avg to $33.xx for 24mth...

But no free router coz i told them i dun need and i asked for better bills rates instead

Never ever tak up the offer they send u thru mail...those deal sux

If u dun need to change router just tell them to exchange for better bills rate

Those router are technically not free if u paying higher bill/mth

U just paying for hidden installatment mthly for the router jus tat it not stated in contract

limlg73

hi, i decided not to recontract as now paying $30 only without any contract.
Bought a Singtel Mesh Router from Carousell at $10 to replace my AC Elite. Search this forum and saw your post about using AC Elite as AP by connecting LAN Cable to WAN Port of AC Elite.
Previously using a simple Mi Router in MBR as AP, now with AC Elite as AP in MBR, the performance seems better than Mi Router.
Thank you very much.

Finally singtel got back to me with a resonable offer and i recontract another 24mth, been paying $50.xx for 2mth after contract expire

My average bill now from apr onward will be $33.xx/mth for 24mth but given in another way...

Offer was free 8mth, followed by $50.37 gst included from 9-24mth...
if dun count the 8mth as free, it avg to $33.xx for 24mth...

But no free router coz i told them i dun need and i asked for better bills rates instead

Never ever tak up the offer they send u thru mail...those deal sux

If u dun need to change router just tell them to exchange for better bills rate

Those router are technically not free if u paying higher bill/mth

U just paying for hidden installatment mthly for the router jus tat it not stated in contract

wow how u change the router for better bill rate? I tried and it rejected me sia

berger

is the airties 4960r for onr or ont?

talking to the staff as i am looking to recontract, but they say they will give me the 4960r and i have been using this for many years .. is it compaitible?

ZTE%20ONT-156x117@3x.png

Scp173

Screenshot-20230323-171819-1.png

20230323172928.png

Just a question
Was just goin through the contract they send me and saw this....

Does this mean they still gave me a router despite i say dun want?

It mean i can go show them this and collect izzit?

I think they wanna clear stock lol
See this mesh router at carousell damn cheap, should be gonna phase out soon

xiaofan

20230323172928.png

Just a question
Was just goin through the contract they send me and saw this....
Does this mean they still gave me a router despite i say dun want?
It mean i can go show them this and collect izzit?
I think they wanna clear stock lol
See this mesh router at carousell damn cheap, should be gonna phase out soon

Yes you will still get the free router. Haha.

It is only worth S$10 to S$20 in Carousell. I will just keep it as spare.

But in reality it is not too bad as an AP.

And indeed SingTel is pushing for WiFi 6 plans so SingTel may just clear the stock of SingTel Mesh Router.

BTW, you have a very good deal!

xiaofan

is the airties 4960r for onr or ont?
talking to the staff as i am looking to recontract, but they say they will give me the 4960r and i have been using this for many years .. is it compaitible?
ZTE%20ONT-156x117@3x.png

Yours is an ONT and Airties 4960R is the right one for ONT. Actually 4960R is compatible with both SingTel ONT (as the main router) and ONR (as an AP).

The other one, Singtel Wifi 6 Mesh Extender (Askey) is just a mesh node (AP) and cannot be directly connected to the ONT. It is usually issued to Singtel ONR users.

Scp173

Yes you will still get the free router. Haha.

It is only worth S$10 to S$20 in Carousell. I will just keep it as spare.

But in reality it is not too bad as an AP.

I never used singtel router since 2018 when it spoiled haha...

i brought the d-link ac1750(dir-868l) the old router tat starhub use to giv their customer so far it been serving me well tat y i dun see need to change

U expert in router?
Is this mesh router any better den my d-link? Or same same?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.