Which Direction Will Property Prices Go ?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

mikki23

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/pr...-among-top-percentage-gainers-q1-resale-deals
An EC unit of 1,173 square feet (sq ft) at Sol Acres in Choa Chu Kang Grove was sold for S$1.65 million or S$1,406 per square foot (psf) in March. The sale represented a gain of 86 per cent over the unit’s purchase price of S$888,000 (S$757 psf) in February 2016. This works out to an annualised profit of 9.1 per cent, based on the holding period of around seven years.

In another deal, a 1,496 sq ft EC unit at Bellewaters in Sengkang sold for S$1.98 million (S$1,323 psf) in January, for an 83 per cent gain or annual profit of 8.5 per cent from the S$1.08 million (S$725 psf) the seller had paid in August 2015.

Good money. But you sell now, where you gonna buy.

limck

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/pr...-among-top-percentage-gainers-q1-resale-deals
An EC unit of 1,173 square feet (sq ft) at Sol Acres in Choa Chu Kang Grove was sold for S$1.65 million or S$1,406 per square foot (psf) in March. The sale represented a gain of 86 per cent over the unit’s purchase price of S$888,000 (S$757 psf) in February 2016. This works out to an annualised profit of 9.1 per cent, based on the holding period of around seven years.

In another deal, a 1,496 sq ft EC unit at Bellewaters in Sengkang sold for S$1.98 million (S$1,323 psf) in January, for an 83 per cent gain or annual profit of 8.5 per cent from the S$1.08 million (S$725 psf) the seller had paid in August 2015.

sell high buy high.

1.98M can pay for a landed house in full several years ago. today can pay for maybe 60/70 percent of an inter-terrace which is in ok condition with minimal works before move in.

petetherock

2 million will get half a landed terrace with an old home or a tiny plot and a dilapidated house ..

elvintay07

sell high buy high.

1.98M can pay for a landed house in full several years ago. today can pay for maybe 60/70 percent of an inter-terrace which is in ok condition with minimal works before move in.
Years later you may see $2m cannot even get 3 bedder EC.

De SantaClaus

“Last year, for the first time in 15 years, private home dwellers outnumbered HDB dwellers in the caveats...”

HDB to condo upgrading getting more challenging is here to stay. And will only get harder given current trajectory.

I know many new launch buyers wish to target HDB upgraders as their ‘exit strategy’. While there are certainly merits to this strategy, the reality is that HDB upgraders tend to be more price sensitive and have limited quantum.

Imho, it is better to target first time buyers or private property address buyers as an exit strategy in today’s market.

petetherock

We have yet to reach the age when we have more older people trying to sell and get some funds for retirement vs the number of upgraders...
If the ratio inverts, then things will get interesting..
But as I posted previously if the government keeps inviting new residents / citizens, we will keep pushing this date forward, and then the next date will be the end of lease of all those HDBs, and how things are handled by the government of the day. Whatever the current admin says, things may change in future...

De SantaClaus

We have yet to reach the age when we have more older people trying to sell and get some funds for retirement vs the number of upgraders...
But as I posted previously if the government keeps inviting new residents / citizens, we will keep pushing this date forward, and then the next date will be the end of lease of all those HDBs, and how things are handled by the government of the day. Whatever the current admin says, things may change in future...
If I am a retiree, I would rather keep the property and earn a perpetual stream of rental income that is correlated to inflation. And at the same time have some assets to pass on to the next generation aka Legacy Planning.

mikezuper

“Last year, for the first time in 15 years, private home dwellers outnumbered HDB dwellers in the caveats...”

HDB to condo upgrading getting more challenging is here to stay. And will only get harder given current trajectory.

I know many new launch buyers wish to target HDB upgraders as their ‘exit strategy’. While there are certainly merits to this strategy, the reality is that HDB upgraders tend to be more price sensitive and have limited quantum.

Imho, it is better to target first time buyers or private property address buyers as an exit strategy in today’s market.
But price has to keep going up, else how this year private property buyer exit with astronomical profit in 3 years time? And next year buyer exit plan how?

elvintay07

But price has to keep going up, else how this year private property buyer exit with astronomical profit in 3 years time? And next year buyer exit plan how?
Singapore is an open market. You don’t buy, got other ppl will buy. You think like Malaysia.

elvintay07

By 2039, 1 in 4 Singaporean will be age 65 and above. It depends on whether one believe PAP scholar so kumgong to let this number increase. Or they will bring in more young foreigners?

runforyourlife

Stagnant coming very soon since chart is so steep upwards? The trend chart shows so steep increase may not be sustainable ?
It’s sales talk. Else no one will buy properties creating fear.

then oneself property may even depreciate in price. No one wants that. Everyone wants steady increase over the years.

petetherock

Many governments can cut bring down prices with policies but fail to do so.. giving the people who want to own property what they want can make the very same people unhappy when their assets tank ..
the whole socialism experiment has also been shown to fail..
if everyone was content then we will all be staying in the same four room HDB..

elvintay07

Many governments can cut bring down prices with policies but due to do so.. giving the people who want to own property what they want can make the very same people unhappy when their assets tank ..
the whole socialism experiment has also been shown to fail..
if everyone was content then we will all be staying in the same four room HDB..
I think Singapore is wooing those elites from other country. Not our own 2nd, 3rd class honours from local universities la. But again, for every elite they recruited, they need 3-5 backups mah. Like 1 person makes 5 person great again. Not easy to hire all elites.

momoeagle

My friend has a 14xx sq ft EC unit at Bellewaters, and very happy with the gain.
But the question becomes, as you said, sell already buy where. Upgrade from HDB to condo liao, and used to the lifestyle, don't want to go back stay HDB.

mikezuper

When you get older, those same facilities become a liability and you are funding the lifestyles of your neighbors
So there’s always a place for HDB flats
In a way quite sad as your life didnt improve but instead degrade, but that is life unfortunately as inflation rising faster than cpf life/retirement plan of many.

Mostly due to US printing dollar for decades and imbalance of growth of investment va inflow of external money.

dnsfpl

got 1 lucky fella bot at $1,182 PSF
CvU7mHd.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.