[Aftershock] Looking to buy a new rig, shortlisted to this 2 systems after much research

kaputzzz

EFCMjB5.png

Im leaning more towards the Intel and 4080 option because i've been using intel + nvidia since i been involved in PC building and im kind of a intel nvidia fanboy. But from what i understand, AMD Ryzen 9 7900 is more powerful and more power efficient and 7900xtx is also very powerful GPU. In fact, both GPUs are pretty much overkill as im using a 1440p widescreen monitor but i would like to have a powerful GPU so i can skip upgrading for a few generations. And $3.3k is reasonable for me to spend on a new rig... in fact i could top up abit to $4075 and go for the 4090 but i think that is really too excessive

From what i seen online, 4080 is slightly better in most cases vs 7900xtx especially in RT but from what i learned, RT is pretty much a novel technology that isnt widely adopted by current games yet so there's not much benefits from having RT capable GPU yet, especially when this generation's console specifications are not yet capable of RT, i dun think game studios will focus on developing games with huge focus on RT. If and when RT becomes mainstream in games development then it would make more sense to buy a GPU with superior RT capabilities... otherwise both 4080 and 7900xtx performs similarly in situations outside of RT... and the 24GB of vram in the 7900xtx would be more useful than the 4080's 16GB

My main use for the system is to run a game at 1440p while streaming and have multiple browser tabs open watching different streams and videos and do some video editing + AI stuff which i heard runs better on nvidia GPUs so that's an advantage for the 4080?

So i would like to hear some opinions on which 1 is better choice or better value before i make the final decision

Phen8210

Im leaning more towards the Intel and 4080 option because i've been using intel + nvidia since i been involved in PC building and im kind of a intel nvidia fanboy. But from what i understand, AMD Ryzen 9 7900 is more powerful and more power efficient and 7900xtx is also very powerful GPU. In fact, both GPUs are pretty much overkill as im using a 1440p widescreen monitor but i would like to have a powerful GPU so i can skip upgrading for a few generations. And $3.3k is reasonable for me to spend on a new rig... in fact i could top up abit to $4075 and go for the 4090 but i think that is really too excessive

From what i seen online, 4080 is slightly better in most cases vs 7900xtx especially in RT but from what i learned, RT is pretty much a novel technology that isnt widely adopted by current games yet so there's not much benefits from having RT capable GPU yet, especially when this generation's console specifications are not yet capable of RT, i dun think game studios will focus on developing games with huge focus on RT. If and when RT becomes mainstream in games development then it would make more sense to buy a GPU with superior RT capabilities... otherwise both 4080 and 7900xtx performs similarly in situations outside of RT... and the 24GB of vram in the 7900xtx would be more useful than the 4080's 16GB

My main use for the system is to run a game at 1440p while streaming and have multiple browser tabs open watching different streams and videos and do some video editing + AI stuff which i heard runs better on nvidia GPUs so that's an advantage for the 4080?

So i would like to hear some opinions on which 1 is better choice or better value before i make the final decision

Perhaps you could take a look at Invader PC as an option? They are a subsidiary of Dynacore, which is a part-selling store in SLS so they have access to better quality components and are not limited to using inferior parts, this is quite evident just based on the build alone.

On the other hand, AS appears to use lower-tier parts that DIYers usually don't use or avoid, so this means those parts are plenty n it's easy for AS to bulk purchase cheaply and use them for their builds.

If you look at AS's Google review.. there is a **** ton of pre-sales reviews and also a lot of sketchy review, their review dont match the product quality. Like i dont even know wtf is this "title p title insert coordinates", it's like someone using a template to leave all these reviews?

1682438709446.png

A lot of customers think they spend 3k on prebuilt, so the cut cost part is little, but that is not true.. many companies still do it. The experience not going to be better than choosing good parts.

dexboi

June IT show coming up, wait to buy on TikTok - AfterShock or DynaCore.

March PC Show, Tiktok sponsored up to $100/$150 off vouchers for 4 days.

Get ready your TikTok account first.

kaputzzz

Perhaps you could take a look at Invader PC as an option? They are a subsidiary of Dynacore, which is a part-selling store in SLS so they have access to better quality components and are not limited to using inferior parts, this is quite evident just based on the build alone.

On the other hand, AS appears to use lower-tier parts that DIYers usually don't use or avoid, so this means those parts are plenty n it's easy for AS to bulk purchase cheaply and use them for their builds.

If you look at AS's Google review.. there is a **** ton of pre-sales reviews and also a lot of sketchy review, their review dont match the product quality. Like i dont even know wtf is this "title p title insert coordinates", it's like someone using a template to leave all these reviews?

View attachment 39713

A lot of customers think they spend 3k on prebuilt, so the cut cost part is little, but that is not true.. many companies still do it. The experience not going to be better than choosing good parts.
Yes I'll take a look at ur recommendation but why u say they using inferior parts? Looks normal to me.. sorry I may not be quite good at differentiating between good or inferior parts as there are so many brands in this industry. The only brand I not very familiar with is ADATA and lexar but I think they been in PC industry for quite some time already should have decent reputation at least?

The reason I'm looking at AS is because their price are pretty competitive. If I were to pick the exact same parts and build myself in SLS it could be $3.6k to $4k+ and not to mention I need to do all the heavy lifting to bring parts back home then play Lego and build it etc... Like very leceh. Get from AS just order and get the next day fully built.. honestly their business model is very good maybe that's why ppl buy from them as it saves the customer alot of time and trouble. I was skeptical at first too but I can see the value they are providing so I'm willing to give them a shot. Hope I'm not making a mistake doing business with them that's why I'm seeking opinions here first before committing. Appreciate ur recommendations and heads up

kaputzzz

June IT show coming up, wait to buy on TikTok - AfterShock or DynaCore.

March PC Show, Tiktok sponsored up to $100/$150 off vouchers for 4 days.

Get ready your TikTok account first.
Wah June abit far away. I planning to buy new pc before June so I can play D4. But i do need a new secondary monitor though for my side screen so maybe can get good lobang there.

kaputzzz

killachicken

Doesn’t look that bad if you are lazy to shop part by part online to save money, or top up for better parts at sim lim?

but if you ask here then this brand name seem to be not very popular 😂

evildoer

if you are going for aftershock. it just for 1yr onsite warranty .

i just bought a D41 chasis with the following specs around +200 more i think

Processor I7-13700KF
CPU Cooler Deepcool LS720 360mm AIO
Mainboard MSI PRO Z790-P WIFI
Graphics Card GeForce RTX 4070 Ti GAMING X TRIO 12G
Memory 2 x 16GB ADATA Lancer RGB RAM 6000MHZ CL40
Storage Drive 1TB WB Black SN850X
Power Supply Unit FSP Hydro G Pro 1000w Full Modular 80+ Gold (ATX 3.0)
Casing Jonsbo D41 Mesh SC Black
+ 4 120mm ARGB Fans

I have it over a week now.
Watching Youtube and surfing - CPU and GPC 40°
Playing Cyberpunk Default setting Raytracing Ultra on 4k - 60-115 FPS. GPU around 70 - 76°

Funny i can't get the FPS to be stable keep fluctuating when playing cyberpunk. could it be i don't have to a gsync monitor. but the monitor said it support VRR. i see youtube and do the setting. Don't know what's wrong lol.

Daty41

The Avatar one, 240 AIO??? the 280 is $10 more only. The D31 case can fit a 360 aio (according the the case website) but dont know why Aftershock never offer option for it.

evildoer

The Avatar one, 240 AIO??? the 280 is $10 more only. The D31 case can fit a 360 aio (according the the case website) but dont know why Aftershock never offer option for it.
i did contract the AF service for it.. it think for D31, they can only do 280mm Max.

kaputzzz

Doesn’t look that bad if you are lazy to shop part by part online to save money, or top up for better parts at sim lim?

but if you ask here then this brand name seem to be not very popular 😂
Ya that's the whole idea behind why I think buy from AS is better vs building myself... Tbh I'm not a very good pc builder and there are so many parts and brands to choose from it can get very daunting... The assembly part also can be difficult if u dun have much experience building pc... My last built system was in 2016 wah even though it was a fun experience but I can't do proper cable management or install a water cooler so I just use stock cooler lol... Back then dun have AS so bo pian need to get hands dirty... Now got this kind of business I think quite nice leh... Dun need think so much just order and get it next day... Prices are also reasonable.

Duno why AS seem to have bad reputation here... Can anyone share their bad experiences here?

Daty41

Maybe check out other system integrator price, Like Dreamcore, see who got better promotion...both have bad stories and good stories...even buy from SL and built urself also have bad stories (try RMA some parts urself!!!)... so go for the cheapest that u are most comfortable with.

just check Dreamcore website..looks like more ex

kaputzzz

if you are going for aftershock. it just for 1yr onsite warranty .

i just bought a D41 chasis with the following specs around +200 more i think

Processor I7-13700KF
CPU Cooler Deepcool LS720 360mm AIO
Mainboard MSI PRO Z790-P WIFI
Graphics Card GeForce RTX 4070 Ti GAMING X TRIO 12G
Memory 2 x 16GB ADATA Lancer RGB RAM 6000MHZ CL40
Storage Drive 1TB WB Black SN850X
Power Supply Unit FSP Hydro G Pro 1000w Full Modular 80+ Gold (ATX 3.0)
Casing Jonsbo D41 Mesh SC Black
+ 4 120mm ARGB Fans

I have it over a week now.
Watching Youtube and surfing - CPU and GPC 40°
Playing Cyberpunk Default setting Raytracing Ultra on 4k - 60-115 FPS. GPU around 70 - 76°

Funny i can't get the FPS to be stable keep fluctuating when playing cyberpunk. could it be i don't have to a gsync monitor. but the monitor said it support VRR. i see youtube and do the setting. Don't know what's wrong lol.

Very nice system. I guess price higher because u chose a more powerful processor and higher end mobo. 4070ti is quite honestly more than sufficient for current gaming standards but I'm targeting 4080 because I want to future proof by having at least 16gb and good GPU performance to last for another 6 years hopefully. Also 4080 still within my budget... But 4090 is too much liao lo I think.. seems like u are a happy customer so glad u are enjoying ur new rig!

evildoer

Ya that's the whole idea behind why I think buy from AS is better vs building myself... Tbh I'm not a very good pc builder and there are so many parts and brands to choose from it can get very daunting... The assembly part also can be difficult if u dun have much experience building pc... My last built system was in 2016 wah even though it was a fun experience but I can't do proper cable management or install a water cooler so I just use stock cooler lol... Back then dun have AS so bo pian need to get hands dirty... Now got this kind of business I think quite nice leh... Dun need think so much just order and get it next day... Prices are also reasonable.

Duno why AS seem to have bad reputation here... Can anyone share their bad experiences here?

I don't think they deserves so bad reputation.. Generally people just upset . Cause you will always get more choice and better price if you DIY. So even if it's 1 cent more then what you can get in DIY.. people generally will treat them like robber. But have to understand they have staffs and rental to pay for.

Buy from these builder like AF, Kingdom, Dreamcore, generally prepare to pay more . But you will have a piece of mind. cause if something break down, u can just call for service.. at least 1st year is onsite.

But what i got my pc from builder too. maybe u can go carrousel look for those with good review and consider too.. i am sure these builder are more experience than the AF customer service. Look around more before deciding

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.