• The HardwareZone forums will be temporarily unavailable on January 21, from 5:00am to 6:00am (+8GMT) while we perform scheduled maintenance.

Singapore drops Ultimax 100 light machine gun for US Colt IAR6940 Infantry Automatic Rifle

WW1 Flying Ace

You'll be surprised how often that term is used in the SAF ... and how little the term CSS is used. Another giveaway. What you can google vs what you can't google to regurgitate and pretend.
Anyway, you really have no understanding of how a section GPMG in a light role is to be used.
There is no degradation of functionality because it doesn't rely on the tripod.
Doesn't mean that we don't avail ourselves of the tripod when we can get our hands on it.
But I guess from the POV of where you are, everything is binary (wrt Tripod) because that's all you know, MG employment at Plt level.

Laughable. Stick to what you know and don't anyhow anyhow lah.
If talking about concepts foreign to you, then try to keep an open mind and don't railroad it to only what you know.
As far as I know you are just gas lighting for the past two pages of posts. You obviously is a self proclaimed expert who have been caught out in the open using language that is not used here. I find your claims of having served NS suspect too. Anyway you can continue living your fantasy that a mere tripod makes a HMG. Whatever that means.

Nuclear Boy

As far as I'm concerned you're using terms that for all I know is you ownself invented one.
Combat Train is an actual term being used currently for the mobile supply line (aka tonners) following troop movements.

Just because you aren't aware of something doesn't mean someone is trying to smoke you.

WW1 Flying Ace

Combat Train is an actual term being used currently for the mobile supply line (aka tonners) following troop movements.

Just because you aren't aware of something doesn't mean someone is trying to smoke you.
It's hard to tell if someone on edmw is trying to throw smoke anymore. And even if it's used currently, it wasn't used in my time.

And most of all, regardless of terms used, it is incredible to rely on tonners to carry equipment that you need in a firefight. You should be carrying your own tripod to go contact the enemy. Tonners won't last long in an age of anti tank rockets (LAWs or Matador or Spike or whatever fancy stuff you have today)

swenson

Have to agree that Ultimax was shyte during training using blanks as the blank adapter cannot fit well and gunpowder in blanks not enough for sufficient recoil of bolt. It is also very unbalanced with the sling, prone to rust and a nightmare to clean

However it is quite a devastating weapon using live rounds. Quite stable (for a 5.56) and very quick firing.
Hopefully the successor is lighter, balanced in weight and easier to clean!

Nuclear Boy

It's hard to tell if someone on edmw is trying to throw smoke anymore. And even if it's used currently, it wasn't used in my time.

And most of all, regardless of terms used, it is incredible to rely on tonners to carry equipment that you need in a firefight. You should be carrying your own tripod to go contact the enemy. Tonners won't last long in an age of anti tank rockets (LAWs or Matador or Spike or whatever fancy stuff you have today)

I'm pretty sure tripod would be borne by the troops on ground, maybe only the spares will be in the train. It's mainly for extra ammo, clothing, food, water etc, things that would be too heavy to all be carried by the individual soldiers. We're talking about a few days of supplies. Tonners are far behind friendly territory, and only come by when objective is secured.

Besides, this is off-topic, so let's drop the train topic here.

106gunner

Drop own SAW and bought Colt Infantry Automatic Rifle :ROFLMAO:

US supplier must be laughing to the bank after they secure our milltary deal for supplying Colt Infantry Automatic Rifle

peng348

Have to agree that Ultimax was shyte during training using blanks as the blank adapter cannot fit well and gunpowder in blanks not enough for sufficient recoil of bolt. It is also very unbalanced with the sling, prone to rust and a nightmare to clean

However it is quite a devastating weapon using live rounds. Quite stable (for a 5.56) and very quick firing.
Hopefully the successor is lighter, balanced in weight and easier to clean!
The ultimax accuracy is terrible compare to m16, only good thing is very light. Colt definitely will have devastating effect to a section firepower. I would say a good choice.

sigeena

Open bolt weapons ( U100, GPMG) will always have lower accuracy( larger group size) compared to close bolt systems (M16, SAR21) . But it's safer for automatic weapons to prevent runaway gun.

SpecialKeyboardService

Drop own SAW and bought Colt Infantry Automatic Rifle :ROFLMAO:

US supplier must be laughing to the bank after they secure our milltary deal for supplying Colt Infantry Automatic Rifle
colt probably gave quite alot of discount since last time sinkie buyed their m16sg1 license

mocax

even SAF oso dun sarpork local products.... how to expect average sinkies to do the same? :frown:

SpecialKeyboardService

I colour code for your easy ref.

Green, what I said. Section level LMG, no tripod
Red = tripod on Combat train (vehicle) ... you can go quibble over what you picture as a HMG but it was never mentioned as hump. Vehicle tpt yes. If you want to turn it into a real mouthful, we can call it a GPMG in a heavy role. :rolleyes:
Orange = MGL (5~6kg) =/= auto grenade launcher (30+ kg)

Please lor ... you the one that went off on a tangent.
Are we done?
When got singapore used 50cal for hmg de….
Isn’t it always gpmg for vehicle?
the mg gunner only needs to carry the gun ah and his load is very light, most of other stuff, just give mg com and assistant to carry, if cannot tahan already throw to mg com or mg assistant to carry.

how someone keep talking about additional tripod needed for mission?

106gunner

Ultimax 100 aka SAW is can opt for drum magazine other than it's usual magazine

Can US Colt IAR6940 do like wise?

106gunner

When got singapore used 50cal for hmg de….
Isn’t it always gpmg for vehicle?
the mg gunner only needs to carry the gun ah and his load is very light, most of other stuff, just give mg com and assistant to carry, if cannot tahan already throw to mg com or mg assistant to carry.

how someone keep talking about additional tripod needed for mission?

Indeed, usually the GPMG 1st gunner is carry GPMG and it's 2nd gunner is carry it's belt of rounds and the assistant will carry the tripod

106gunner

No new mg from st engineering?

When Ultimax 100 aka SAW was launch by ST Engineering

Is a proud moment for SAF as well as it's soldiers

Imagine firing a light machine gun design and invented by Singapore Engineering team

Though is short lived

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.