YTD 2026 Networth tracking thread

Barbiedoll

I think returns are a function of our own behaviour rather than asset class. Property has advantage of cheap leverage and low liquidity and people hold for a long periods and dont see price volatility.
Yeah, I find it difficult to stomach my Meta shares volatility.

Thank God I freelooked and got back my TokioMarine S$50k investment plan. Saw that shares had already risen sharply and might correct. Glad I followed my gut instinct cause market really crashed soon after.

My Court of the table young agent who earns S$300k pa at least kept telling me is investor accredited fund manager Baillie Gifford and returns like 17% pa.

Barbiedoll

Yes, my residence is just a simple 4rm hdb. CPF not a lot since never top up my SA before and use OA to pay for housing. Liquid networth is around 1.6m.
Such a pity, if u can afford private freehold landed should have gone for it earlier. Would have much increased yr networth.

hwmook

We still cannot find a better way to beat the returns of freehold landed property. My terrace increased from S$1.1 mil to S$1.8 mil in 3 years. And now in 5 years increased from S$1.8 to S$3 mil.

For equities, we made some and lost some so overall only a small gain. But we don't buy a lot of equities.

In 2015, I bought some AMD stock at less than USD2. Today the stock is close to USD90. Last year I bought ON stock for USD54, today USD75. There are many opportunities in the stock market. If you don't want to pick your own stock then just go with the market.

Barbiedoll

In 2015, I bought some AMD stock at less than USD2. Today the stock is close to USD90. Last year I bought ON stock for USD54, today USD75. There are many opportunities in the stock market. If you don't want to pick your own stock then just go with the market.
What is AMD? Good to be able to identify growth stocks early on. But we still find property easier and less risky than stocks. But we do buy some stocks too just that don't dare to buy too much. Unlike property, if at good price, we will pay.

I guess there is no right or wrong. If u r well versed in understanding how to assess companies and stock prices unlike us, you will do well in equities.

OngHuatHuat

We still cannot find a better way to beat the returns of freehold landed property. My terrace increased from S$1.1 mil to S$1.8 mil in 3 years. And now in 5 years increased from S$1.8 to S$3 mil.

For equities, we made some and lost some so overall only a small gain. But we don't buy a lot of equities.
To be fair, sg property price increase in recent year was between 2008 - 2013, then stagnant or went down for quite a long while, then 2020 to 2023 increase again.

the 3 million is not the final transacted price, most likely it is some bank valuation which can be vastly different from final transacted price.

Barbiedoll

To be fair, sg property price increase in recent year was between 2008 - 2013, then stagnant or went down for quite a long while, then 2020 to 2023 increase again.

the 3 million is not the final transacted price, most likely it is some bank valuation which can be vastly different from final transacted price.
It is SRX valuation.

But yeah, I think we will try to learn from the stocks pros here from now on and learn to invest more in US equities esp with a recession coming.

OngHuatHuat

It is SRX valuation.

But yeah, I think we will try to learn from the stocks pros here from now on and learn to invest more in US equities esp with a recession coming.
Actually I don’t keep looking at the scoreboard like what you did for property investment.
You are like my aunt, she likes to ask me how much my condo worth this year? Then my answer is always I don’t know. Hahaha

I think you may forget to include transactional cost and interest expenses.
Every single buy and sell, a lot of stamp duty and agent fee need to be paid.

Barbiedoll

Actually I don’t keep looking at the scoreboard like what you did for property investment.
You are like my aunt, she likes to ask me how much my condo worth this year? Then my answer is always I don’t know. Hahaha

I think you may forget to include transactional cost and interest expenses.
Every single buy and sell, a lot of stamp duty and agent fee need to be paid.
Yeah maybe. Then out of the S$1.6 mil we made maybe minus S$100k. Don't think we paid more than that. It is still a substantial gain. Makes up half my networth.

OngHuatHuat

Yeah maybe. Then out of the S$1.6 mil we made maybe minus S$100k. Don't think we paid more than that. It is still a substantial gain. Makes up half my networth.
Does the 1.6 million gain includes your current paper gain? Means the condo that you currently live in?

Barbiedoll

Does the 1.6 million gain includes your current paper gain? Means the condo that you currently live in?
Yes cause I include residence as part of my networth. Which should be the case. Imagine if a GCB owner doesn't count his residence.

OngHuatHuat

I think returns are a function of our own behaviour rather than asset class. Property has advantage of cheap leverage and low liquidity and people hold for a long periods and dont see price volatility.
Leverage for properties doesn’t come cheap anymore starting mid 2022. I hope I can survive this high interest rate era.

OngHuatHuat

Yes cause I include residence as part of my networth. Which should be the case. Imagine if a GCB owner doesn't count his residence.
You mentioned you had only 200 k cash and minimum CPF coz you work as locum most of your career life.
Do you still take loan on your current property?
Mind sharing how much loan?

Barbiedoll

You mentioned you had only 200 k cash and minimum CPF coz you work as locum most of your career life.
Do you still take loan on your current property?
Mind sharing how much loan?
My total cpf about S$440k and our outstanding loan is S$320k which we will pay up once lockin period is up this Oct. So we escape the high interest rates.

Actually with our S$900k combined cash can also if I lose my job enable us to survive till 65 years old. S$4K Drawdown a mth plus my RM3100 passive income from renting out our JB house. That means S$5k a mth. Then CPF life can kick in. At least S$3k a mth from there and plus jb rental will be S$4k a mth for the both of us till we go.

OngHuatHuat

My total cpf about S$440k and our outstanding loan is S$320k which we will pay up once lockin period is up this Oct. So we escape the high interest rates.

Actually with our S$900k combined cash can also if I lose my job enable us to survive till 65 years old. S$4K Drawdown a mth plus my RM3100 passive income from renting out our JB house. That means S$5k a mth. Then CPF life can kick in. At least S$3k a mth from there and plus jb rental will be S$4k a mth for the both of us till we go.
Okay.
cpf : 440000
Cash + stock : 200000
Condo equity: 900000 - 160000 = 740000 (assume can be sold at SRX valuation)
Jb property equity: around 160000 sgd?
Are the figures right?

Barbiedoll

Okay.
cpf : 440000
Cash + stock : 200000
Condo equity: 900000 - 160000 = 740000 (assume can be sold at SRX valuation)
Jb property equity: around 160000 sgd?
Are the figures right?
JB equity about S$200k. Cpf is approx figure like the S$200k is approx. Slightly more.

The beauty of property investment is that there is passive capital appreciation. Like my current condo , UOB valuation rose by S$200k in like 1-2 mths.

Barbiedoll

Jb property din really appreciate. I just assume it can be sold at 1 M ringgit, then divide by 3.33 then divide by 2
Bank valuation is more than that. Highest went up to rm1.5 mil. With RTS up by 2026, rental and valuation should rise. Just like with population white paper of 6.9 mil, Sg property should rise in valuation.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.