FIRE (Financial Independence, Retire Early) Movement

rrr2015

Only heard of cannibals in Papau New Guinea.
not cannibals but cut off enemies head as trophy & capture their soul (i read). visited the cultural centre, they do display skulls hanging above their house

but i think no need to worry, even if exist today probably can only find in deepest Borneo jungle
My uncle lived in Sabah for years. Nothing bad happened
read alot about house breaking in Sarawak

but if your kids are not that social, don't u think it's a bad idea to move to such places?

Barbiedoll

not cannibals but cut off enemies head as trophy & capture their soul (i read). visited the cultural centre, they do display skulls hanging above their house

but i think no need to worry, even if exist today probably can only find in deepest Borneo jungle

read alot about house breaking in Sarawak

but if your kids are not that social, don't u think it's a bad idea to move to such places?
Aiyoh, just saying only lah. I still got good job working as a doctor in Sg. Will prob retire in Sg lah.

celtosaxon

Not a big deal for me even if have to live in Sarawak.

But we can also retire in Sg lah. At most downgrade to hdb lor.

Just renting out one HDB is enough to retire in most parts of SEA.

If you are used to the big city conveniences and amenities of Singapore, retiring in Bangkok (or surrounds) on O-A visa after turning 50 would be more appealing to most.

Sarawak is nice break from the city life, but living there will get boring fast, unless you have family or friends there.

Barbiedoll

Just renting out one HDB is enough to retire in most parts of SEA.

If you are used to the big city conveniences and amenities of Singapore, retiring in Bangkok (or surrounds) on O-A visa after turning 50 would be more appealing to most.

Sarawak is nice break from the city life, but living there will get boring fast, unless you have family or friends there.
So everyone can FIRE like that.

glarerder

Rent out hdb at least S$2k a mth right? Provided fully paid.

Celtosaxon says everyone with hdb can retire in SEA.
safety could be an issue. rent out hdb then all your fixtures and belongings bring overseas? unsustainable la

Barbiedoll

Actually maybe rent out hdb also cannot FIRE overseas. S$2K-3k per mth is too little cause must pay rental also.

celtosaxon

Actually maybe rent out hdb also cannot FIRE overseas. S$2K-3k per mth is too little cause must pay rental also.

I follow several vloggers who are RE in SEA, some in Thailand, and they share their monthly spend. In Bangkok itself, most spend around S$2k per month, including health insurance. Those budgeting S$1.5k, Chon Buri is popular — in between Pattaya and Bangkok.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.